We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourite places on earth.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Milton
Certificate of Excellence
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of my favourite places on earth.”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I have been extremely fortunate to have stayed here on several occasions and I have never been disappointed. From the moment you arrive to the often too soon departure you are well looked after.
The rooms have all been very carefully planned and designed with input from Raymond Blanc. One of my favourites was the Dovecote which is, as its name suggests, a converted dovecote arranged on two levels. With luxurious toiletries in the bathrooms and complimentary fruit and Madeira in the rooms, it is very easy to unwind and forget the worries of the world.
All the staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Every guest is important to them regardless of bank balance or celebrity status, obviously as long as you can pay the bill on departure!
Dinner is a wondrous event with delicious, fresh home-made rolls freely on offer and the most amazing intense flavours in every mouthful. The ten course discovery menu is a must for a special occasion and allows the diner a chance to sample a range of the dishes on offer from the main menu. The sommelier's expertise in pairing wines with each dish adds to the whole experience.
The grounds are a peaceful place to wander in at leisure. The vegetable garden is interesting to browse through to find out the different varieties growing and to ponder on what might be served for dinner.
Le Manoir is not the cheapest of retreats, but for that special experience for a birthday or anniversary I can't think of anywhere I would rather be whisked away to.

Room Tip: Look at the website which has images of each room and room sizes. The main house has more traditiona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oozogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,923
    143
    60
    23
    10
See reviews for
290
1,466
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Pros

(1) Excellent rooms. Every room is different for variety
(2) Great service.
(3) Good restaurant
(4) Kid friendly: receptionist greeted kid and printed hello kitty drawings for her to colour during dinner
(5) Romantic
(6) Free port in room
(7) Nice toiletries
(8) Excellent garden with many vegetables
(9) nice buffet breakfast

Cons
(1) Really expensive. Price comparable to staying in grand hotel in London
(2) Kid's bed was put next to air con such that cold wind was blowing on her: kid got sick after that.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kallang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

we didn't stay in the hotel but went for Sunday lunch. The place itself was gorgeous. The service was great. However, if you spend £275 (without service) for 2 courses, a glass of wine with each and a glass of sparkles to start, you would expect for it to be one of the best meals of your life but it wasn't. It was lovely but disappointing. Had better meals for half the price.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexiamaycock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Hi there we have tried to email you to find out what was so disappointing about your meal.

You say it was lovely but disappointing.......could you tell us a bit more where your disappointment lay?

We appreciate the feedback as this ensures we can constantly strive to deliver perfection.

Philip Newman-Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

I was fortunate enough to hold my retirement dinner for 24 guests at Le Manoir last weekend. I cannot praise the staff (in all 'departments' of the hotel and restaurant) enough for their attentive, warm and helpful service. I struggle to think of another UK establishment that is anywhere close to this wonderful hotel and restaurant.
The menu, food, wine and dishes prepared for those of my guests with dietary requirements was of the highest quality. Le Manoir significantly exceeded my expectations in every respect.
We stayed in a suite (Citronelle) which was dreamy and luxurious.
Yes, it is VERY expensive but worth every penny! Go to Le Manoir to spoil yourself and leave knowing that you will not forget the expereince and want to return as soon as your bank balance has recovered!

Room Tip: Ask the staff to describe the rooms. Each room is decorated according to its name.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shapcabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

A foodie heaven.... a walk through the garden with a glass of champagne, and Raymond Blanc himself rushing out to the garden to pick some herbs... looking like an excited school child rushing out to trick or treat for a pillow case full of candie. A pleasant hello.. followed by "enjoy" in his french accent made this the start to the best lunch I have ever had. I won't spoil the story... you need to experience and finish it for yourself. Beware of the most magnificent cheese trolley the most incredible foodie has ever seen....

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCanuckFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I have been pondering over this review for the past month!!

There is so much attention to detail in everything that happens at Le Manoir and so much of it is so perfect for the guest that it seems a pity to hold back with only a 4 star "Very Good" rating but, after a month's reflection, I think this is fair.

And, without doubt, the room, the service, the grounds and, of course, the food were all five star perfection. One very small example: we were looking at the Apple Compote on the breakfast table which was delicious and a young waiter overheard us discussing it. Without any prompting, he came over and carefully explained how M,Blanc made his compote with equal portions of three different types of apple to get the best flavour, colour and texture. This says so much about the staff training and their genuine enthusiasm to make your experience special and it is quite typical of every moment that you are there.

It would have been absolutely perfect but the whole experience was really spoilt by the wine prices: Two glasses of non-vintage pink champagne before dinner - over £50. Two half bottles of wine with our meal - one white and one red, neither particularly special - over £160.

I am always happy to pay higher prices for outstanding food, special accommodation and outstanding service but there is really no justification for such hefty mark ups on pretty average wines.

But having said that, we really did enjoy the experience and would recommend it to anyone with this one caveat.

Room Tip: I suggest that they might take their own champagne to the bedroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martinherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkby Lonsdale, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

A christmas gift from my girlfriend for a day's cookery course at Le Manoir resulted in dinner bed and breakfast the night/day before.From the moment of reservation to the bill paying....perfection at a price was the result.

"RB" as all his loyal staff call him..has Le Manoir to his perfect standards...( he was even dining in the restaurant the same night with friends...other restauranteurs/Hoteliers please take note)

His non-intimidating staff were amazingly friendly, highly trained and expertly confident...the room was an exceptional 6* standard...we were upgraded without asking...and the food/presentation was to die for....even though the overnight bill came to 4 figures +...gulp!

But what the hell...I do not mind paying for such perfection and neither should you...Just grin and bear it...you will still be smiling and talking about it for months and years afterwards.

For this Christmas I have asked my girlfriend for some socks.

Room Tip: Check which room/location you prefer...we booked one room but were automatically upgraded to a super...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Milton
6.0 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
7.7 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
7.7 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
700 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
1,713 reviews
7.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Property: Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Address: Church Road, Great Milton OX44 7PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Great Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Milton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created by celebrated chef Raymond Blanc OBE, Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons is renowned for offering one of Britain's finest gastronomic experiences. Situated in the picturesque Oxfordshire village of Great Milton, it is also one of the country's most intimate and original hotels, with 32 individually designed guest rooms and suites. The hotel received two Michelin stars in 1984, the first year of its opening, and, remarkably, has held them ever since. Surrounded by lawns, flower borders and orchards, the luxury hotel enjoys an idyllic, typically English setting. But beyond the eye-catching displays are vegetable and herb gardens that provide the kitchen-and the acclaimed Raymond Blanc Cookery School-with ultra-fresh, organic produce, ensuring the Michelin-star restaurant remains at the cutting edge of culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Belmond, TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Aux Quat`Saisons By Orient-Express Hotel Great Milton
Manoir Aux Quatre Saisons
Le Manoir Aux Quatre Saisons
Manoir Quatre Saisons
Le Manoir Quatre Saisons
Manor Quatre Saisons
Belmond Le Manoir Aux Quat'Saisons Oxfordshire/Great Milton, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing