We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Milton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed at Le Manoir for my husband's special birthday and every thing was just perfect. It goes without saying that the food, accommodation, and the gardens were spectacular. However, there was no 'stuffiness' and everyone at Le Manoir made us feel welcome and special. I would thouroughly reccommend it if you feel like splashing out for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jugray2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear TripAdvisor Member

We are grateful for you taking time time to write your review and were so pleased to read you had enjoyed your husband's special birthday.

We do hope you will find an excuse to visit us again soon.

Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,415 - 1,421 of 2,239 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

It's difficult to add anything to the other reviews, and hard to speak knowledgeably about the food if you're not a restaurant critic. This was our second visit for lunch and, despite a fixed 5-course menu (vs the carte last time), if anything the food was even better. We went on the Royal Horticultural Society's offer for lunch and a tour of the grounds and gardens, led by a friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable senior member of the garden staff. That was well worth the hour and a half, even though I think we'd picked the one day this week that was cold.
Lunch, with hors d'ouevres and their lovely house champagne before and petits fours/coffee after, took about 3 hours, but didn't seem like it as everything was so good. Course weren't huge but overall we were fairly full. How can people do that and, if staying, then eat dinner and then their, no doubt fabulous, breakfast?
The food is beautifully presented - I'd happily live with something a bit less perfect, but the tastes are divine (to steal from another reviewer) and the flavours so intense. Stand-outs for us were one of the canapés with goats cheese and manuka honey, a perfect balance, and the small glass of potato and garlic soup - which seemed too small but had such a depth of flavour that it was (just) enough.
Service, as others have said, is attentive without being intrusive and, above all, friendly - this is obviously a high-end place but definitely not snobby. One minor issue was our dessert being very slow to arrive, but we were then given a book of Raymond's recipes to say sorry (which, of course, they'd already done). I also agree with another reviewer that the wine is somewhat overpriced, but it is very good and you have to be expecting a good sized bill - in our case £300 including tip (including the tour of course, and 4 glasses of wine). We were happy to pay it for a special day (our 40th wedding anniversary) and will look forward to coming back.
Many thanks to Raymond and, especially, the lovely staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Geoffy

Thank you for writing your review.

Your comments about both the food and service are very much appreciated and we are so pleased that you also had the opportunity to enjoy our lovely gardens.

We do hope you will visit us again.

Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Staying at Le Manoir is about so much more than simply eating - its a very special place that works so very hard at providing an exceptional experience which begins the moment you arrive in the car park and are greeted by a warm, genuine and witty attendant. From then on you wait no more than 20 seconds for anything - everything is thought through, all the staff are wonderfully attentive, they genuinely seem to care that you are enjoying your stay. The gardens are beautiful even in March, the grounds are fabulously maintained - this is simply a piece of paradise created in Oxfordshire - there are better restaurants and probably better hotels but I'm not sure that the combination of excellence in all areas can be done anywhere better than Le Manoir. Well done to all who strive so hard to make such a wonderfully memorable experience. You made my 50th Birthday very special indeed. Of course its expensive - you couldn't possibly create this experience with anything less than the best.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikelawtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear mikelawtons

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review which we will have much pleasure in sharing with the team.

We do hope that you will visit again in the future.

Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Obviously we expected a fantastic meal at Le Manoir but what really impressed us was the level of service throughout the hotel. From the moment we parked in front of the hotel the staff sprang into action, greeting us before we were even out of the car. The service is perfect, combining an uncanny skill at anticipating your every need with a friendly manner which ensured we were totally relaxed throughout our visit.

Our room (Hollyhock) was comfortable and well equipped with small touches that made a big difference - like a plate of fresh fruit and a bowl of sugared almonds.

The seven course tasting menu was predictably delicious, and the full English breakfast the next morning kept us going all day.

The bathroom was luxurious with an excellent, powerful shower and good quality bath products. Unlike many hotels they had thoughtfully provided a little box of things you might forget, like toothpaste and a razor. There was even a little bag to take the used bars of soap home.

Overall I can't think of a single thing I would change about this lovely hotel. Yes its expensive but it really is worth every penny.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for such lovely comments.

We always do our very best to anticipate whatever a guest may need and it is great to hear that this does not go un-noticed.

We do hope that you will visit Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons in the future.

With kind regards

Raymond Blanc and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My husband treated me to the 'celebration package' for my 50th birthday last weekend. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel special, the staff were the perfect balance - attentive but not intrusive. We were given complimentary tea and cake in the lounge with a welcoming fire crackling away. Our room (Bluebell) was beautiful and every detail was perfect, down to the little linen bag to take away the exquisite soaps! The 7 course menu was delicious and I even received a small candle in my desert with an icing sugar plaque wishing me a happy birthday. The next morning we had breakfast in the restaurant, and what a breakfast - it was really special.

Thank you Le Manoir for a truly unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Nicola035

We were so pleased to read that you had enjoyed your special birthday celebration here at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons.

Bluebell is one of our more popular rooms and we too think it is beautiful.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

With kind regards

Raymond Blanc and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Couldn't fault a thing. Best service we have ever experienced, food divine, wine overpriced but served so well it didn't matter. Raymond was there when we were there and was friendly and welcoming. Great experience for a reasonable price at lunchtime.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Sroylance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Sroylance

Thank you for your wonderful comments about food and service.

Raymond always loves to pop out from the kitchen to say hello and we hope that you may return to Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons again.

With kind regards

Raymond Blanc and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Lucky enough to go to Le Manoir for lunch recently, and took our parents for their Christmas present. It was our fourth visit and we loved it yet again. Faultless, cannot praise them highly enough. The food amazingly tasty, the service, well so attentive and excellent. A real treat worth saving for, the whole experience must be tried. We chose the 5 course lunch at £79 pp, and each mouthful was exceptional. Worth every penny and look forward to our return visit.Would love to stay over and try dinner......maybe one day! Thank you Raymond!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oanne044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear oanne044

Thank you so much for leaving this feedback.

We hopefully look forward to welcoming you back for your 5th visit to Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons in the future.

With kind regards

Raymond Blanc and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Milton
6 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
7.7 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#1 of 2 in Milton Common
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
731 reviews
3 mi away
The Crazy Bear Hotel - Stadhampton
7.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Address: Church Road, Great Milton OX44 7PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Great Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Milton
Price Range: £564 - £1,392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created by celebrated chef Raymond Blanc OBE, Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons is renowned for offering one of Britain's finest gastronomic experiences. Situated in the picturesque Oxfordshire village of Great Milton, it is also one of the country's most intimate and original hotels, with 32 individually designed guest rooms and suites. The hotel received two Michelin stars in 1984, the first year of its opening, and, remarkably, has held them ever since. Surrounded by lawns, flower borders and orchards, the luxury hotel enjoys an idyllic, typically English setting. But beyond the eye-catching displays are vegetable and herb gardens that provide the kitchen-and the acclaimed Raymond Blanc Cookery School-with ultra-fresh, organic produce, ensuring the Michelin-star restaurant remains at the cutting edge of culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Aux Quat`Saisons By Orient-Express Hotel Great Milton
Manoir Aux Quatre Saisons
Le Manoir Aux Quatre Saisons
Manoir Quatre Saisons
Le Manoir Quatre Saisons
Manor Quatre Saisons
Belmond Le Manoir Aux Quat'Saisons Oxfordshire/Great Milton, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing