We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb food and excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Milton
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Superb food and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We have just returned from an overnight stay, dinner plus breakfast, booked for our 40th Wedding Anniversay. What can I say - it was marvellous from start to finish. From the moment we arrived and were personally escorted from our car, to the attention to detail as we booked out, this has been the most wonderful experience.

Our first lovely suprise was a very generous room upgrade to a superior suite as we were celebrating our anniversary that very day. We loved the room - Lavande - so much that we stayed in it all afternoon!!!

For dinner we chose the 7 course tasting menu and I can honestly say my husband and I have never tasted food so magnificent. Each course was a delight and the accompanying service was impeccable.

Breakfast was also on a par with dinner, and once again the service and attention to detail was wonderful.

Le Manoir is the most wonderful place to celebrate a special event in your life. The levels of service and attention to detail are what set this establishment apart from the rest. We hope to be back for our Golden Wedding Anniversary.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Cathendo

What a lovely way to spend your 40th wedding anniversary. We too love Lavande, but then we are spoiled with just so many lovely rooms to choose from.

Thank you for your comments with regard to your restaurant experience.

We do hope you will visit us again.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,823
    136
    57
    22
    10
See reviews for
269
1,393
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford,
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

For more than 30 years we have enjoyed M.Raymond Blanc's hospitality in his various restaurants, and chose Le Manoir to celebrate our Golden Wedding with a family dinner, and an overnight stay. Our room (Hyacinth) was exquisite, and our table in the Conservatory restaurant just what we wanted.

The 7-course menu was top class, and the recommended wines a good match. Beautifully-trained staff serve dinner with a delightful rhythm born of much experience, so that one's needs are anticipated with little cause to ask. Cocktails first and coffee after were served in the small bar, reserved for our party. Our adult children and their spouses all agreed the evening was a memorable experience.

On the following morning we visited the gardens, big and well-worth the walk, while six of our party were given a fascinating tour of the kitchens, with 42 staff preparing lunch.

Le Manoir is not cheap, with a large suite of buildings and their grounds needing a heavy staff, but the food, service, and facilities are world-class and justify its high reputation. We were treated as honoured guests, and suspect all guests are given the same welcome. A truly splendid evening of celebration. Greydiver, Oxford.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GreydiverOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear GreydriverOxford

How lovely to read that you have been visiting us for many years and still so much enjoy visiting with your family.

We do hope you will come back soon.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

If you love food and want to treat yourself, go!
It might appear a bit pretentious, but it definitely is not. On my most recent visit, my dented 10yr old Mini Cooper s was just as well accepted in the car park as the guy behind me in the Bentley, and there was absolutely no pomp and ceremony. I find the whole place incredibly relaxed, the service is faultless, and the atmosphere is jovial and not at all stuffy, which I know quite a few friends assumed it would be.
Food is in a class of its own, the actual building itself and the grounds are beautiful. the chairs in the sitting room are SO deep and comfortable, and the fire so warm, I found it very hard to get up and go home!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Max H

We could not ask for a better review, thank you.

You have expressed exactly the experience that we aim for for our guests. Please do visit us again soon.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

What a wonderful place to stay - we have celebrated our Wedding Annniversary at this Hotel for some years and it always exceeds expectations The Staff are helpful nice and so welcoming nothing is toomuch troouble Set in delightful gardens luxury rooms and food well just divine

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Polly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear PollyH

Thank you for visiting us again and for leaving this feedback.

We do hope that you will return soon.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
puerto pollensa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We did have a birthday celebration with our three children, 2 of whom were traveling from pretty far ( USA and Japan) for the occasion. They were delighted. Down to the last detail, the Manoir is faithful to its reputation. A fabulous place, which indeed comes at a price but well worth it.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Daniel F

It was lovely to read that your family, who had travelled worldwide to join you, enjoyed staying with us and thank you for writing your review.

We do hope that you will all have an excuse to converge on us again.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I have always wanted to visit this hotel and Wow it has been well worth the wait. Having spent a wonderful day in the cookery school (another fantastic experience) I was submerged in complete luxury. The service from all the team is quite frankly the best I have ever encountered in this country. The passion for what was being delivered was from the heart. Nothing was too much trouble. Every little luxury was available in the beautifully appointed comfy bedroom. The dinner was amazing. Every miouthful a taste sensation.

This does all come at a price but I have never been so happy to pay the high price tag for the product we receieved.

If it isn't already it should be the UK's number hotel - FABULOUS.

Room Tip: Gorgeous rooms. We stayed in the main house which was lovely and convenient for the lounges and rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Susie R

Thank you for writing this review and for the lovely comments about your recent visit.

Your comments about the team are much appreciated. The rooms in the main house are lovely but then we think the rooms in the Courtyard are too!

Please visit us again.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northiam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome and special. All in a very relaxed way. Lovely hotel and grounds and superb food, as we expected. Our room was beautiful with lots of little luxuries. A great experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Thewindebanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Thewindebanks

We were delighted to read you had enjoyed your time with us.

Thank you for writing this review.

We hope that you will visit again.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Milton
7.7 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
7.7 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
6.0 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
7.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Property: Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Address: Church Road, Great Milton OX44 7PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Great Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Milton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created by celebrated chef Raymond Blanc OBE, Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons is renowned for offering one of Britain's finest gastronomic experiences. Situated in the picturesque Oxfordshire village of Great Milton, it is also one of the country's most intimate and original hotels, with 32 individually designed guest rooms and suites. The hotel received two Michelin stars in 1984, the first year of its opening, and, remarkably, has held them ever since. Surrounded by lawns, flower borders and orchards, the luxury hotel enjoys an idyllic, typically English setting. But beyond the eye-catching displays are vegetable and herb gardens that provide the kitchen-and the acclaimed Raymond Blanc Cookery School-with ultra-fresh, organic produce, ensuring the Michelin-star restaurant remains at the cutting edge of culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Aux Quat`Saisons By Orient-Express Hotel Great Milton
Manoir Aux Quatre Saisons
Le Manoir Aux Quatre Saisons
Manoir Quatre Saisons
Le Manoir Quatre Saisons
Manor Quatre Saisons
Belmond Le Manoir Aux Quat'Saisons Oxfordshire/Great Milton, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing