We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Husband's 50th”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Milton
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Husband's 50th”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We booked a one night stay at Le Manoir to celebrate my husband's 50th. The visit was very pleasant but we left slightly underwhelmed by the experience. It must be difficult to live up to people's expectations but at around £1500 for one night we have had better value for money. The staff were very numerous and attentive so no complaints there at all. Yes we would go again perhaps just for dinner next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Bob S

Thank you for leaving this feedback, we would be really interested to hear about the disappointment you felt with regard to certain aspects of your stay and if you would like to email jane.moore@blanc.co.uk we would be delighted to hear from you.

Your lovely comment about the members of the team are much appreciated.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,842
    138
    57
    22
    10
See reviews for
273
1,407
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stopped at Le Manoir with friends on Friday into Saturday and had a Junior suite with the 7 course taster menu. The room was first class as was the quality of the food, the presentation, and the shear professionalism of all the staff. Cannot wait to go again.
Thanks again Le Manior you did us proud.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Derek & Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Derek and Ann H

Thank you for such a succinct review for which we are grateful. Please do visit us again soon.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

It has been over 15 years since I last visited le Manoir and we went there full of expectation.As we left we all agreed that it had been a very good day.We had visited the now mature gardens,drank champagne on the lawn,been treated with the utmost but friendly courtesy and been cossetted BUT not one of us could remember a truly memorable dish that we had been served.
This restaurant was founded on the intensity of the flavours of its dishes but now the food is but a shadow of what it used to be-it lacks flavour and the magic ingredient of being memorable!

The wine flights were excellent including the vegetarian wine flight carefully put together for one of my guests.Sadly the house "pink"champagne tasted of cherryade and was almost that colour!

It is still a wonderful experience to go to le Manoir but I suggest that Raymond should taste more of the food that leaves his once hallowed kitchen.

ps.The specially ordered Birthday cake was the best cake we have ever eaten-thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gareth47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear gareth47

Thank you for leaving this feedback.

All of the dishes that Raymond and the chefs cook are classical Manoir dishes. They are constantly tasted and reviewed and it is such a shame that they did not match your previous experience

Your comments with regard to service and ambiance are appreciated.

We are certain you will have noticed many differences in the garden over the 15 years since your previous visit (as it continually evolves year in year out).

We do hope that this experience will not deter you from returning in the future.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We realised you have to go to Le Manoir to really understand the quality it provides as recommendations and marketing material do not do it justice.
A 25th wedding anniversary gave us the excuse and from the first minute it exceeded all expectations from:

Being met at the carpark - friendly and very helpful
An upgrade to a suite!
The initial intro to the hotel, grounds and room
Afternoon tea (are there really that many tea's in the world - very relaxing
Gardner stopping his lawnmower as we passed - nice touch
The fantastic Jade suite
The gardens
The risotto
and lots lots more

If you can just do it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Deb A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Deb A

Such a lovely detailed review following your 25th Wedding Anniversary Celebrations. We do hope you will find an excuse to visit us for another celebration in the future.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

It was our first visit to Le Manoir. We stayed in the Snow Queen room which was exquiste and had everything you could possibly require. We ordered a bottle of house Champagne which was promptly delivered by room service.
The meal was superb as was the breakfast. It certainly lived upto expectations and we will return again possibly in Summer time so to appreciate the gardens in full bloom.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Michele143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Michele143

We all agree that Snow Queen is a magical room (which Raymond designed around the fairy tale written by Hans Christian Andersen). Thank you for leaving this review following your stay here.

The gardens certainly change dramatically with the seasons so hope you will return in the Summer time to see them in full bloom.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We came for my wife's 50 birthday and I ordered the coffee cup dessert as a special treat the entire staff were brilliant and made a special non coffee version for my son. They even presented it with a single candle (my wife was flattered) and a special plaque wishing happy birthday. Very stylish and very well done.
The entire staff were so friendly and nice they made us totally welcome. My son who is in a wheelchair was made especially welcome.
When we came into diner with friends they had placed us in the main restaurant and not the conservatory where we usually sit. As we had guests we wanted to sit in the conservatory and without any fuss or bother they just moved us.

It may seem costly but the entire experience from driving in walking around the gardens the amazing rooms and the fantastic food all underpinned by a service that must be unique a casual professionalism that leaves nothing to chance but everything to ensure a peaceful relaxed stay. All just wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Norrinr4dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Norrinr4dd

Thank you for leaving this review.

It is always our pleasure to be able to make special occasions memorable and were delighted to read that you had enjoyed the coffee cup dessert in celebration of your wife's special birthday.

We have 3 restaurant rooms and we were so pleased to note that we had been able to relocate your table to your favourite room.

We do hope that you and your family will visit us again soon when you have something special to celebrate or just feel in need of some peace and relaxation.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The stay was a birthday treat and could not have worked out better. From arrival to meeting Raymond Blanc at breakfast and being given the opportunity to view the kitchens. All of the staff were fabulous.Those we can mention by name are Chris and Renata on reception, Remy, Louise the massage therapist, head chef whose name we missed (could be Nick?) who broke off his radish preparation to talk to us and also the lady on the service team whose name we didn't get but who originates from Nantes (hopefully that will be sufficient to identify her). The perfect weather topped it off. The stay was a complete extravagance for us but worth every penny. Thank you to everyone on the team.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Adrien & Gill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Adrien & Gill G

Thank you for leaving this feedback. Your kind comments about the particular staff members will be printed out and passed to them individually to read and thank you for taking your time to mention these people in particular.

We were delighted that you had enjoyed your time with us and that you will visit us again soon.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Milton
7.7 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
7.7 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
6.0 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
7.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Property: Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Address: Church Road, Great Milton OX44 7PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Great Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Milton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created by celebrated chef Raymond Blanc OBE, Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons is renowned for offering one of Britain's finest gastronomic experiences. Situated in the picturesque Oxfordshire village of Great Milton, it is also one of the country's most intimate and original hotels, with 32 individually designed guest rooms and suites. The hotel received two Michelin stars in 1984, the first year of its opening, and, remarkably, has held them ever since. Surrounded by lawns, flower borders and orchards, the luxury hotel enjoys an idyllic, typically English setting. But beyond the eye-catching displays are vegetable and herb gardens that provide the kitchen-and the acclaimed Raymond Blanc Cookery School-with ultra-fresh, organic produce, ensuring the Michelin-star restaurant remains at the cutting edge of culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Belmond, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Aux Quat`Saisons By Orient-Express Hotel Great Milton
Manoir Aux Quatre Saisons
Le Manoir Aux Quatre Saisons
Manoir Quatre Saisons
Le Manoir Quatre Saisons
Manor Quatre Saisons
Belmond Le Manoir Aux Quat'Saisons Oxfordshire/Great Milton, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing