We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Milton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed last week for one night as I attended the cookery school the next day. The whole experience was just amazing!! The staff are so friendly and helpful and nobody can do enough for you. We had a lovely room which was so spacious ant the bed was so comfortable. The shower was so powerful I loved it!! The room was called amethyst and I would certainly want that one again if we stayed. Although it was upstairs we didn't have an outside garden our friends were downstairs and had a garden. That suited us perfectly.
We had dinner In the restaurant and the food was fantastic. Everything is seasonal and all feels like it is cooked especially for you. All the added touches make you feel so special. I know it's very expensive so is a real treat but that's what makes it for us. I really hope we will return again for a night next year as I really want to do another course!!
Also tea in the lounge us amazing I've never known such a choice of teas all beautifully served with slices of lemon cake!! A truly wonderful stay!! We will be back!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amandad43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Amandad43

Thank you for this review and also for the one you left on The Raymond Blanc Cookery School Tripadvisor page.

Amethyst is one of our more popular rooms and certainly very spacious.

Please visit us again soon.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,345 - 1,351 of 2,227 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

If the best days recall over too quickly then my day here on a spring dinner party cookery course was one of the most enjoyable days ever. Fantastic surroundings , the most attentive professional staff and learning how to cook made this a really social experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rutilus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Rutilus 1

Thank you for your review with regard to The Raymond Blanc Cookery School. We do hope you may be tempted to try another of our courses in the future

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My birthday treat. My daughters surprise.
The ambiance was fabulous, the staff were attentive without being over the top. The food was so full of wonderful flavours and superb presentation.
I will definitely visit again as soon as I possibly can
Sara Gosling

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Sara G

What a lovely surprise to have for your birthday. We look forward to welcoming you back.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Not sure I can add anything to what's been said. Everything was just perfect. Amazing room, fantastic food, lovely grounds, delicious breakfast. One teeny weeny negative is that I did find one or two of the staff a bit over the top obsequious!

Room Tip: No such thing as a bad room here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kootenaylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear JuliaSmith

Thank you for leaving your feedback. We are sorry that you found some of the team to be slightly fawning, we try very hard not to come across in this way but this is such a fine balance.

We were pleased to note that this point part you enjoyed your visit an do hope you will return soon.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We booked a one night stay at Le Manoir to celebrate my husband's 50th. The visit was very pleasant but we left slightly underwhelmed by the experience. It must be difficult to live up to people's expectations but at around £1500 for one night we have had better value for money. The staff were very numerous and attentive so no complaints there at all. Yes we would go again perhaps just for dinner next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Bob S

Thank you for leaving this feedback, we would be really interested to hear about the disappointment you felt with regard to certain aspects of your stay and if you would like to email jane.moore@blanc.co.uk we would be delighted to hear from you.

Your lovely comment about the members of the team are much appreciated.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stopped at Le Manoir with friends on Friday into Saturday and had a Junior suite with the 7 course taster menu. The room was first class as was the quality of the food, the presentation, and the shear professionalism of all the staff. Cannot wait to go again.
Thanks again Le Manior you did us proud.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Derek & Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Derek and Ann H

Thank you for such a succinct review for which we are grateful. Please do visit us again soon.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

It has been over 15 years since I last visited le Manoir and we went there full of expectation.As we left we all agreed that it had been a very good day.We had visited the now mature gardens,drank champagne on the lawn,been treated with the utmost but friendly courtesy and been cossetted BUT not one of us could remember a truly memorable dish that we had been served.
This restaurant was founded on the intensity of the flavours of its dishes but now the food is but a shadow of what it used to be-it lacks flavour and the magic ingredient of being memorable!

The wine flights were excellent including the vegetarian wine flight carefully put together for one of my guests.Sadly the house "pink"champagne tasted of cherryade and was almost that colour!

It is still a wonderful experience to go to le Manoir but I suggest that Raymond should taste more of the food that leaves his once hallowed kitchen.

ps.The specially ordered Birthday cake was the best cake we have ever eaten-thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gareth47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear gareth47

Thank you for leaving this feedback.

All of the dishes that Raymond and the chefs cook are classical Manoir dishes. They are constantly tasted and reviewed and it is such a shame that they did not match your previous experience

Your comments with regard to service and ambiance are appreciated.

We are certain you will have noticed many differences in the garden over the 15 years since your previous visit (as it continually evolves year in year out).

We do hope that this experience will not deter you from returning in the future.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Milton
6.0 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
7.7 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Crazy Bear Hotel - Stadhampton
7.8 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
727 reviews
7.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Address: Church Road, Great Milton OX44 7PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Great Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Milton
Price Range: £567 - £1,244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created by celebrated chef Raymond Blanc OBE, Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons is renowned for offering one of Britain's finest gastronomic experiences. Situated in the picturesque Oxfordshire village of Great Milton, it is also one of the country's most intimate and original hotels, with 32 individually designed guest rooms and suites. The hotel received two Michelin stars in 1984, the first year of its opening, and, remarkably, has held them ever since. Surrounded by lawns, flower borders and orchards, the luxury hotel enjoys an idyllic, typically English setting. But beyond the eye-catching displays are vegetable and herb gardens that provide the kitchen-and the acclaimed Raymond Blanc Cookery School-with ultra-fresh, organic produce, ensuring the Michelin-star restaurant remains at the cutting edge of culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Aux Quat`Saisons By Orient-Express Hotel Great Milton
Manoir Aux Quatre Saisons
Le Manoir Aux Quatre Saisons
Manoir Quatre Saisons
Le Manoir Quatre Saisons
Manor Quatre Saisons
Belmond Le Manoir Aux Quat'Saisons Oxfordshire/Great Milton, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing