We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - a real treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Milton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic - a real treat”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We went to Le Manoir for lunch - we go there early and had a drink in the garden which was great as the grounds are truly amazing. We had the 5 course tasting menu which was superb - a great menu with some great flavours.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayjunkie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear holidayjunkie2011

Thank you for your comments about lunch.

We do hope you will visit us again.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,842
    138
    57
    22
    10
See reviews for
273
1,407
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2014

An amazing, friendly, relaxing, varied break, with top marks for the accommodation, amenities, gardens and of course, the superb dining experience! The staff made this a truly unforgettable experience for us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mike & Carole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Mike & Carole R

Thank you for such a lovely review.

We do hope you will visit us again soon.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My husband treated me to a surprise overnight stay and a cookery course experience. The room was perfect and I had the best nights sleep for a long time. From the moment we walked through the entrance door until the moment we left we had a top class experience. All the staff we encountered gave 100% in their duties. I would like to say the young lady that attended to us in the dining room was exceptional my husband asked her name she said it was difficult but people called her B. Thank you B. The food was on another level 7 amazing courses. I went on the cookery course and my husband had the benefit of a late checkout until I finished.
The course was an experience I really enjoyed. Mark and his team Rebecca and mikey were brilliant ok we had water pouring in the ceiling at one point and the wheel fell off the butchers block when I moved it but hey no dramas we survived. I love my chefs jacket and am already saving up for the next visit I so want my apron and stick thingy as well . I had the best time ever and would recommend a stay or visit to anyone. Go for it

Room Tip: We stayed in the Passion flower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cjandjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Cjandjm

Thank you for leaving this lovely review.

We were delighted to welcome you to Le Manoir and were so pleased to read your comments. We will be sure to share this review with Berengere, Mark, Rebecca and Mikey. (The butchers block has already been repaired).

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loa angeles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This hotel has exceptional warmth, charm & ambience.
All which is only to be exceeded by their service.
Never before have I stayed in a hotel where the service was so impeccable.
This is one of the great hotels in the world.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Kim M

Thank you for this lovely succinct review.

Please visit again soon.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Have just spent our third week-end at Le Manoir. Once again we had an excellent stay. If anything the food has improved and our two dinners were excellent and memorable. The service cannot be better and was faultless from start to finish. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Down-stairs courtyard rooms are very spacious and have their own little garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Mike F

Thank you for such a lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back for your fourth visit in the not too distant future,


On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world and eaten in a range of restaurants including Michelin 2 and 3 star establishments. Le Manoir is a bit like the "Emperor's new clothes" - everyone fawning over its brilliance without having the courage to be critical. The setting, gardens and rooms were beautiful; the restaurant, which should be at the heart of the place, has no atmosphere. The waiters/waitresses are polite and attentive but there is no warmth. The decor is stark and the huge display of foliage in the centre of the dining area is ugly and not even worthy of a shopping centre.

I have eaten twice before at Le Manoir and enjoyed both meals but have not stayed in the hotel. This time we were staying for a special weekend and also to celebrate my birthday. The 7 course tasting menu was a disgrace. My partner and I had a laugh about it the following day but frankly it was of very poor quality, with bland flavours and portions that were far too small. The only two components that were of quality were the potato and garlic "soup" and the crayfish tail with the sea bass (the sea bass was greasy and flavourless). The lamb portions were less than a mouthful and one piece of "lamb leg" was no bigger than two matchsticks. The gravy jug was tiny and contained enough only for a drizzle. My partner, who usually leaves some of her food (for me!) as she is very slim with a small appetite was still hungry at the end of the meal. One of the desserts had an icing sugar "Happy Birthday" card and a candle for me. I was so hungry I started to eat my birthday card and then realised it wasn't supposed to be eaten - the waiter rushed over and extracted it from my plate along with the candle, which he removed with some tongs as if I was going to eat that too!!

We ate A la carte the second night and the food this time was superb with the "amuse bouche" being larger than any of the courses the previous night. The quality was significantly better and the food was beautifully cooked and had great flavours: So what was the point of the tasting menu if it was both bland and of such small portions? We had two guests join us for dinner, one of whom chose the asparagus starter as a main course. This was hardly bigger than the starter portion that one of us enjoyed and the charge of £54 - the same as the beef - was unjustified! £880 for a meal for 4 with 2 bottles of reasonable but not the best quality wine leaves a bad taste in the mouth.

The drinks are also far too over-priced. We understand that a top end establishment has high overheads but quite frankly the mark up on the drinks and wine is outrageous, with wines that would cost £40-50 elsewhere ranging from £110-180/bottle.

The grounds of the hotel are spectacular and will only get better as the summer progresses and the bedroom was lovely - as one should expect for a two night weekend that cost over £2.5k. And whilst I'm sure some would argue that money should not enter into it when going to such an establishment, it has to be a consideration even for those of us fortunate enough to be able to afford such weekends away. In comparison we had spent four nights, two weeks earlier over Easter weekend, in the Lake District in a 5 star hotel in a beautiful setting which served hearty and excellent quality food and better wine at half the price - and the cost for 4 nights was half that of 2 at Le Manoir - and we left there feeling well looked after and very happy, rather than feeling rather deflated as we left Le Manoir with our departing "gift" from reception of two bottles of water and 4 tiny little biscuits for our return journey (which ended up in the bin).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank adambLeeds_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear adamb_uk_Leeds

Thank you for leaving your review and for expressing your honest opinion of your visit. We would also like to thank you for the feedback you gave via our guest feedback system.

We would always much prefer to be able to hear of any disappointment whilst a guest is with us to enable us the opportunity to rectify shortcomings immediately and it is a pity that on this occasion we were not able to do this.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

You must go. It is like spending a few days in paradise. Everything was just perfect: the Manor house, the grounds, the rooms, the staff and the amazing food and wine. Expensive but worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank WarrenR1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear WarrenR 1000

Thank you for leaving this feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Milton
7.7 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
7.7 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
6.0 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
7.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Property: Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Address: Church Road, Great Milton OX44 7PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Great Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Milton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created by celebrated chef Raymond Blanc OBE, Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons is renowned for offering one of Britain's finest gastronomic experiences. Situated in the picturesque Oxfordshire village of Great Milton, it is also one of the country's most intimate and original hotels, with 32 individually designed guest rooms and suites. The hotel received two Michelin stars in 1984, the first year of its opening, and, remarkably, has held them ever since. Surrounded by lawns, flower borders and orchards, the luxury hotel enjoys an idyllic, typically English setting. But beyond the eye-catching displays are vegetable and herb gardens that provide the kitchen-and the acclaimed Raymond Blanc Cookery School-with ultra-fresh, organic produce, ensuring the Michelin-star restaurant remains at the cutting edge of culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Belmond, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Aux Quat`Saisons By Orient-Express Hotel Great Milton
Manoir Aux Quatre Saisons
Le Manoir Aux Quatre Saisons
Manoir Quatre Saisons
Le Manoir Quatre Saisons
Manor Quatre Saisons
Belmond Le Manoir Aux Quat'Saisons Oxfordshire/Great Milton, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing