We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PERFECTION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Milton
Certificate of Excellence
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“PERFECTION”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

The title says it all. We have just returned from a two night stay for our wedding anniversary. Le Manoir has been on our 'to do' list for a number of years and the 4 hour journey was worth every minute. From the greeting upon arrival to the gift bag on departure with water and cake for the journey home every bit of our stay was memorable. The hotel and it's grounds are stunning, our Suite - Citronelle exceeded our expectations. Every single member of staff we met provided the best service we have ever experienced and the food was the best we have ever eaten. We have stayed in some amazing places but this has become our favourite place in the UK and we cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexisP273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear AlexisP273

We were delighted to read your review, thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to leave this.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back for more celebrations in the future, or just when you both feel in need of a bit of tlc.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,821
    136
    57
    22
    10
See reviews for
269
1,392
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandton,South Africa
Level Contributor
202 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were delighted to sleep over at Le Manoir, have dinner and breakfast and meet the venerable Raymond Blanc. What an experience. The organic vegetable garden was the initial attraction. From the moment we arrived the staff were impecable, the accommodation luxurious with beautiful bathroom, the dinner was the best food I've eaten and the breakfast superb. A wonderful garden tour completed our visit. Raymond Blanc is the most modest and charming man. Nothing could be faulted. An expensive but exceptional visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilda18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Gilda 18

We were delighted to read that you had enjoyed your time with us.

You certainly visited at a great time to be able to enjoy the gardens to their full.

We do hope you will visit us again in the future.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

I must be honest, my Brother stayed here but we were invited for wine in the afternoon then dinner and breakfast.
The service and attention to detail was beyond compare.
I love to do fine my brother opts for finest.
We had the five course menu, which started miniscule and I admit I was worried , especially at £139.00 per plate. However nothing was rushed and the wine and conversation flowed in our group of 6.
One platter following another, each a little bit of perfect artistry and delight to eat.
I soon realized that I was getting quite full.
This is the way to eat. Time not an issue and my brain understanding that there was enough food.

Staff were exceptional. Food incredible.
My brother's room was beautiful.
Breakfast was the same. A mystical moment when I realised that poached eggs could be art. ( how do you do that?)

This was a once in a lifetime experience, but it left me with wonderful memories.
Oh and in case I forget the manor and grounds matched with perfection.
Everything worked.
So I step out of this dreamworld wondering how I can get invited back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneYT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Anne YT

Thank you for your lovely comments with regard to the visit you made to us with your family.

We do hope that you will find a way to be able to visit us again in the future.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

What a wonderful experience - no detail overlooked, no task impossible. We took the 7 course tasting menu with recommended accompanying wines; and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of what was an amazing dining experience. The service couldn't have been better; and staff were prepared to make bold and informed recommendations! We can't wait to be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Alimarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear AliMarf

Thank you so much for leaving such lovely feedback.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Le Manoir in the future.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
381 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

An evening with Kate Adie was superb. Lovely food and wine with an excellent and inspiring speaker. We were in the main house this time, not a room I would want to return to (Botticelli) as the spiral staircase was intimidating if there is a need to use the bathroom at night! It is a lovely room, but (unfortunately) not for us. We have booked another one next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear welltravelledkandd

We were delighted to be able to welcome you back again. It is true to say that Botticelli is a very individual room and we are grateful for your comments.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Lucky enough to have been twice. It's expensive for most folks. Very classy. Staff are absolutely excellent. Service is world class - they are genuinely attentive but discreet and never patronising. We did feel a bit out of league felt privileged to be there! We felt sorry to leave - we felt like we were in special bubble while we were there.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crosster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Crosster

Your short but sweet review is very much appreciated. We do hope you will visit us again in the future.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We celebrated our mutual 75 years on earth at the manoir two days ago. First visit in ten years and first staying overnight. Everything was perfect - though since going corporate there's a little too much hassle in advance - in corporate-speak - about adding to the experience with spa, flight lessons etc. Much like many visitors I imagine, not stinking rich, this was a rare visit for us and such extras needed, let alone wanted....Raymond Blanc's reputation the only thing that mattered for us: forget Belmond. We were upgraded to a room at the top, Cameo, huge bed, lovely bathroom with good shower and free-standing bath, delicious etceteras. Staff very friendly, talked like real people not automatons doing their duty and are obviously treated well - no zero hours here - they are even allowed a night of 'whole guest experience' after one year's work. Given the bad pay of many hotel staff elsewhere we felt this justified some of the - high -expense - as does the employment of so many. Gardeners equally eager and friendly when we explored the fabulous gardens in bright sun next day and asked a lot of questions. Ethos here again so good and so welcome. (Possibly too many rather kitsch sculptures but that's a matter of taste.)

As for the food; oh boy. I rated my previous meal here ten years ago as the best I ever had and this lived up to it. Lovely balance in our decouverte menu - this normal gobbler ate very slowly, savouring every bite and every subtle mix of tastes. Breakfast which I hardly thought I'd manage was another gastronomic experience. Pomegranate juice sharp and welcome. Veggie breakfast like no other veggie breakfast ever encountered, beautifully presented.

Only one quibble; make music possible to turn off in room while on in bathroom, so music-loving wife can enjoy bath without annoying sleeping and non-music loving husband...

Don't think we'll afford to come again soon - 85 maybe if we're still up to it. In this case I could wish it was sooner. Bring it on...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penelope F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeManoirAdmin, General Manager at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Penelope F

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave such a comprehensive review.

We do hope you will be able to visit us again before another decade is out.

On behalf of Raymond Blanc
and the team at Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Milton
7.7 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
7.7 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
6.0 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
7.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Property: Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Address: Church Road, Great Milton OX44 7PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Great Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Milton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created by celebrated chef Raymond Blanc OBE, Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons is renowned for offering one of Britain's finest gastronomic experiences. Situated in the picturesque Oxfordshire village of Great Milton, it is also one of the country's most intimate and original hotels, with 32 individually designed guest rooms and suites. The hotel received two Michelin stars in 1984, the first year of its opening, and, remarkably, has held them ever since. Surrounded by lawns, flower borders and orchards, the luxury hotel enjoys an idyllic, typically English setting. But beyond the eye-catching displays are vegetable and herb gardens that provide the kitchen-and the acclaimed Raymond Blanc Cookery School-with ultra-fresh, organic produce, ensuring the Michelin-star restaurant remains at the cutting edge of culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Aux Quat`Saisons By Orient-Express Hotel Great Milton
Manoir Aux Quatre Saisons
Le Manoir Aux Quatre Saisons
Manoir Quatre Saisons
Le Manoir Quatre Saisons
Manor Quatre Saisons
Belmond Le Manoir Aux Quat'Saisons Oxfordshire/Great Milton, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing