We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation in a different world ”

Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons Restaurant
Price range: US$0 - US$428
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Nestled amidst beautiful gardens in the rural Cotswolds countryside, Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons is a gourmet hotel in Oxfordshire. Located in the picturesque village of Great Milton, this luxury hotel combines breathtaking surroundings with gastronomic excellence. The quaint streets of Oxford city centre are a 20-minute drive, whilst London Heathrow Airport is 60km away. Home to Raymond Blanc's Cookery School, one of Britain's finest culinary academies, this enchanting hotel offers French-inspired cuisine at the 2 Michelin-starred restaurant. Using only the best seasonal produce, freshly picked from the hotel's extensive vegetable and herb gardens, guests are invited to embark on an unforgettable gastronomic adventure.
Reviewed 22 October 2019 via mobile

This rural retreat exudes a different air from the moment you arrive. Absolutely everything has been thought about and prepared for. Your experience starts at the point you leave your vehicle. The atmosphere is relaxed, you are encouraged to wander the grounds and look at all the lovely produce you will be served. Rooms are luxurious. Service is exceptional from everyone. But that isn’t describing the feeling of Le Manoir it’s like the whole world around you has taken the deepest of breaths and let out the biggest sigh and relaxed to a whole new level

Date of visit: October 2019
2  Thank SallyBallyWally
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 157 of 2,594 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2019

We've eaten at about a dozen Michelin star restaurants now. We had the six course lunch time taster menu earlier today. The food was perfectly nice (the last desert on the course was superb one of the best desserts I've ever eaton) but comparing the price and quality of the rest of the courses to other two star restaurants we have been to a couple of times (sat bains, simpsons, mid summer house) we just didn't feel the food was at the same level and with a lunch price tag of 145 (more expensive for lunch than all the other two star restaurants we've been to) we were just left underwhelmed.

You always expect to pay for experiences at restaurants of this ilk (the ground and setting is so beautiful) but for the outlay you do expect something outstanding. It's very classical, perhaps we were hoping for some more surprises. The cocktails as a side note were expertly made.

Stew

Date of visit: October 2019
6  Thank The_King_Jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 October 2019

My wife took me for a two day break to celebrate a significant birthday, included in this was a day at the cookery school. What surprised me was how relaxed and welcoming it felt, not stuffy at all. It is a beautiful hotel and the rooms are lovely and offer everything you could want. On our first day we went for a walk round the lovely vegetable gardens and had both tea and a drink in the garden, very relaxing. The first evening we had the 7 course dinner that turned into 8 courses with cheese, don’t be frightened they are small plates but believe me you are full at the end. The cookery school was informative and great fun the staff are great and you don’t have to be an experienced cook to go. Our second Evening was more relaxed with a 3 course meal that turned into 4 as we struggled to decide on a starter so they gave us both (thank you); the food is just fantastic. The staff are wonderful they know your name even when just walking about and are always there when you need them; they definitely helped to make our visit special. Overall a first class location that made my Birthday special.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 October 2019

See my review on the hotel. If I lived locally I would certainly be a regular! Certainly not cheap but then high quality never is!

Date of visit: October 2019
1  Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 October 2019

We had quite an experience getting from Buckingham to Great Milton on a rainy night, but the restaurant proved worth the trouble. Very elegant. Nice to sit in a lounge for a drink first and then go in to dinner. Food was superb, as were the wines. The waiters were courteous, professional, and obliging. The total cost for two people was about $800, on top of which, our cab rides added up to $120. But it was worth it, as a one-time experience.

Date of visit: October 2019
1  Thank John E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons Restaurant also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Murcott, Fencott and Murcott
Abingdon, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.