We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So nice we stayed an extra night”
Review of Hotel Sallerhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sallerhof
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grodig
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Great place, really nice people and location,quiet and relaxing with great views. Rooms nice and great service. The location gives you easy access to Salzburg and surrounding areas, by bus if you want. We decided to stay an extra night as we liked it a lot.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have just spent a wonderful week in the beautiful city of Saltzburg and what made it even more special was staying with the family Schnoll-Reichl at Hotel Sallerhoff. It is a pretty Pension in the lovely village of Grodig about 20 minutes from Saltzburg.Our room had a balcony with view of the famous Untersburg mountain. The breakfast was superb and all the pastries and breads were freshly home baked. Everyone there were really helpful advising us of best places to see and best trips to go on. We hired bikes from them for 9 euros for the whole day, which we thought was fantastic value and we were given a map of all bike routes in the area. We cycled all the way into the city and along the Salzach River without having to touch a main road. The rooms were spotless and large we loved being able to have our breakfast in the gardens,which were also beautiful. We very rarely re-visit a place twice, but would like to revisit in the winter as we would like to see the mountains with snow on them. The owner has offered to get my husband tickets to see Grodig FC. So how can we not come back. This is also a perfect destination for a short break as the flight is under 2 hrs and the Saltzburg airport is only 20 mins from the city. Thank you for such a memorable holiday, Hotel Sallerhof

Room Tip: Request a luxury Mozart room with balcony view of Untersburg Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Our group of 8 adults (4 rooms) stayed for 2 nights, it was a great experience! Very clean, well-appointed modern facility, great breakfast and staff that was very accommodating. Very convenient to Salzburg, and many other sights and tours in the surrounding area. Extremely friendly front desk and a good value. Some covered parking spaces. Nearby restaurants were fabulous! Highly recommend this hotel. Would stay again & recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This family run hotel has class written all over it! The rooms were beautifully furnished , with pale yellow damask linens over down comforters. The breakfast room was elegantly furnished as well. Breakfast was excellent with a large selection of food, including homemade jams. Grodig is very close to Salzburg; number 25 bus takes you from Salzburg. If you take a tour, you will be picked up at the hotel. The staff was very accommodating, providing information of nearby attracitions and restaurants. Our daughter stayed here 4 years ago, and recommended it to us. We were not disappointed!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Would highly recommend Hotel Sallerhof ~ 6 adults (3 couples) stayed for 4 nights ~ best hotel of our trip ~ amazingly clean, great breakfast & wonderful staff ~ very convenient to Salzburg & surrounding areas ~ perfect choice!!! Lovely town ~ will help you organize tours too!!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Clatiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were considering this hotel 5-6 years ago when planned to drive through Austria, but it didn't come to be then. This time, we specifically wanted to explore Salzburg and Vienna, and looked up Hotel Sallerhof again. Luckily the prices didn't change, and they had rooms available for the exact dates we needed.
We rented a 2-bedroom suite directly via the hotel Sallerhof website. When you do so, they don't charge full cost ahead (like a lot of hotels do), and charged only a small deposit, which went towards our stay.
The hotel is located in a quaint, pretty small town adjacent to Salzburg, and it's easy to get into centre of Salzburg by taking a bus.
Everything they tell you and show on the pictures is absolutely true - in a great way! The hotel is cozy, beautiful, welcoming and spotless. It has this fresh pine Christmas-y smell, which I personally found very pleasant and homey.
I'm not easily impressed, and I was very impressed by the tastefully decorated, spacious rooms, crisp bedsheets, huge bathroom (toilet is a separate room), and the balcony big enough to hold a party. The view from the balcony was amazing. Everything made sense, and while there's a certain rustic feel to both exterior and interior of the hotel, everything's equipped to be in step with modern times and is well-taken care of, creating a perfect atmosphere!
Breakfast was excellent (included in the price), great variety of fruit, cheese, meat, and served efficiently and with a smile. They didn't offer fried eggs/omelettes, but there was enough yummy food to be satisfied.
The kids loved the bunk bed in the second bedroom, and were happy with the fast wifi.
It doesn't feel like a hotel - more like being home. I especially fell in love with the corner sofa where I cozied up with my laptop at the end of the day and planned my next day.
I can't say enough about this hotel and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveling_Crumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Clean, great location, great staff could not ask for a better lodging option in the area.
Close to Salzburg, the Alps and the Eagles Nest.
Breakfast is excellent too.
A real gem.
The Staff is helpful, accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TERRY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grodig
1.1 mi away
Momentum Hotel
Momentum Hotel
#3 of 5 in Anif
99 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof
4.1 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#11 of 132 in Salzburg
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Friesacher
Hotel Friesacher
#1 of 5 in Anif
167 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hubertushof
Hotel Hubertushof
#2 of 5 in Anif
114 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron
Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron
#5 of 132 in Salzburg
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sallerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sallerhof

Address: Hauptstrasse 9, Grodig 5082, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Grodig
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grodig
Price Range: £98 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sallerhof 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the southern outskirts of the festival city Salzburg in Grödig the Hotel Sallerhof awaits you. Our family hotel is located in the nature at the foot of mount Untersberg, between Berchtesgaden, the lake Königsee and Salzburg. Ideal for enthusiast of culture and nature. Our hotel is especially popular with our regular guest for our individual atmosphere and our personal assistance. Visit original Sound of Music Scenery in Salzburg ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sallerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sallerhof Austria/Grodig, Salzburg Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing