We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aghadowey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

What a great place for a getaway from it all break the staff are excellent dedicated to all they provide friendly and understanding. The food was outstanding and the room clean well maintained and pleasant we were able to take our two dogs with us for a small fee.
We have already booked for both Halloween and Christmas and judging by the amount of people who are booked year to year we can understand why

Room Tip: Just ask the staff they are most helpful rooms and cottages available All on the ground floor and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BQ1259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just back from a 2 night break at this lovely place and feel so much better for it. The accommodation is very good, comfy, roomy & spotlessly clean. The staff were all so very pleasant and helpful and the food was absolutely excellent. It's the 2nd time we've stayed here and it definitely won't be the last.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Great value for money. The food in the restaurant is Delicious and great quality. There is also plenty of choice on the menu. The staff were very helpful and polite. We all stayed in the cottage and the rooms had plenty if storage space and they were very clean. The rooms don't have a decor your may get in a brand hotel. This did not cause any issues and it fitted perfectly with the settings and style of the cottage . It felt homely and the beds were very comfortable. I had a relaxing stay and will defiantly be back ! I have even recommended the place to family and friends !!!!
Finally sitting in the pub in the evening with a turf fire burning was great, it added a great atmosphere and made it feel 100% a northern irish/ irish experience

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Tará C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Had dinner here recently while staying in the region and was recommenced by a friend. Its located in a lovely peaceful rural setting and has lovely cottages and a golf course on site.The old inn dates back years and has a fascinating history.The food on the menu is locally sourced and there is a great choice of freshly caught fish .Service was fast and friendly and hope to make a return visit soon.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ballycane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a restful 2 night stay here, in one of their cottages, about 100 m from the collection of buildings which makes up the hotel. We dined in the restaurant on one of the nights and found the food and service of the highest standard. Same applied to the breakfasts on both mornings. Staff very friendly and helpful at all times. Entertainment in the bar area on Saturday night wasn't really our taste, but at least it was a sort of joyful noise which we could discuss with folk at the next table. Bar prices were reasonable for a hotel. My only criticism is that they haven't yet subscribed to the growing demand for real ales, either draught or (more commonly in hotels) bottled. Our cottage room was large enough to comfortably accommodate two double beds, along with a kettle and tea and coffee making facilities. Plenty of storage space in drawers and wardrobe. Good sized TV with Freesat. Bathroom/ toilet unusually large with both a walk-in shower and also a bath. Signposting to each cottage would be useful. We had to ask a passing staff member which one was ours, as not only was the door out of sight in the gable, but the number on the door had been painted over. Would definitely return sometime. Also, have recommended it to friends who have pets, as it is animal- friendly. The addition of an indoor swimming pool would enhance its attraction, and help it compete with another similar hotel less than 10miles away, though it has no golf course attached!

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage. Bedrooms overlook the golf course, and are really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I returned to the Brown Trout with my whole family a fortnight ago. Well we all had a great time. Food was as good as ever and some of us travelled into Donegal for part of a day. It seems that people just keep on going back which is a massive recommendation in itself. My wife and I plan to return for a Sunday night break in November. The only negative was I put on half a stone which is starting to come off again. I must say to Jane I was forced fed on this occasion.........not! Thanks to all the staff, you are all special!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank 191PB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

A lovely place to relax in. Jane and her staff were very efficient and friendly all of the time but what really made this place special for me was the wonderful standard of food whether it be breakfast, lunch or dinner.

The menus held plenty of variety but the special thing for me was that the food was so tasty, very well presented and cooked to perfection. To get all three correct seems to be difficult for restaurants in Northern Ireland but the Brown Trout gets top marks in my books.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank peterbahamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aghadowey
6.5 mi away
Lodge Hotel
Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Coleraine
756 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Bushtown Hotel
The Bushtown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Coleraine
364 reviews
11.4 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#3 of 8 in Portrush
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Premier Inn Coleraine Hotel
12.1 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,950 reviews
12.5 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn

Address: 209 Agivey Road, Aghadowey, Coleraine BT51 4AD, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Coleraine > Aghadowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aghadowey
Price Range: £67 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country inn set on own golf course. Friendly relaxed atmosphere-great fresh food served all day. Breakfast served until Lunch time. 7 Miles south of Coleraine, 20 minutes away from Causeway coast and Royal Portrush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Trout Golf And Country Inn
Brown Trout Golf & Country Hotel Aghadowey
Country Inn Coleraine
Coleraine Country Inn
Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn Aghadowey, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing