We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B we have yet experienced”
Review of Agivey Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Agivey Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Aghadowey B&B and Inns
Richmond upon Thames, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best B&B we have yet experienced”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Great when you stay somewhere that exceeds your expectations. Our luxurious double was large and bright -- with well-chosen white gloss furniture and contemporary furnishings, a biggish LCD TV on the wall and a sleek bathroom. There can't be that many hotel rooms in all of N.I. which are nicer. Plus there was also the use of a smart lounge with a balcony. Like the bedroom, it looks out over a meandering salmon river. There's a fridge, you can make a drink, bring in a snack or watch one of the many DVDs available for guests on an even bigger TV. The whole house is almost new, spotless, spacious, uncluttered and airy with an architect-designed feel. Great Irish/Ulster breakfast -- good coffee in a cafetiere. The hostess is friendly and very knowledgeable, but there is also a quiet professionalism about this place which sets it apart. The cosy Brown Trout inn just down the road has lovely staff and serves excellent food, and very cheesy entertainment (Jim Reeves, Elvis anybody?) But Agivey Lodge could definitely give them a few tips sprucing up the dated decor. Very good location for touring the Antrim and Causeway coasts and glens.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 42Nige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
17
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We (2 adults, 2 children) stayed at the Agivey Lodge in late July 2014, and it was excellent. The accommodation was spotless and very comfortable, and we made good use of the separate lounge facilities. Carol (the owner) was very patient and helpful in giving directions and tips, as well as eating out advice. The breakfast was huge, and set us on our way in good spirits. Would definitely recommend this place.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoooboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celje, Slovenia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We ''two couples'' had an awesome stay at Agivey Lodge early august 2014. Carol was a great hostess and helped us with various info and tips. The rooms were spacious and comfortable with a very fresh look in general. The breakfast was delicious and HUGE! I would highly recommend Agivey Lodge to any traveler visit Northern Ireland.

Room Tip: Rooms on both sides are top notch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deyan_Frost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had a brilliant stay at Agivey Lodge in mid-July 2014. Carol was the ultimate hostess: the rooms were lovely, spotless and spacious, the breakfast was massive & delicious and her tips were spot on. We would highly recommend Agivey Lodge and wish Carol all the best!

Room Tip: The twin room has a great walk-in wardrobe/dressing area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AveshMairead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is our sixth, and without question - our best, B&B during our rally vacation through Ireland. On par with the most expensive hotels we've stayed in - this B&B is spotless and spacious. The bathroom made my husband mad, cause now I want one. In addition to the room, there is a seperate living room/lounge area with couches, a tv, fridge that the guests can use with preloaded with filtered water and milk. I cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdrrfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed 2 nights at end of June 2014. An absolutely excellent B&B. Large, bright, spotless and well presented bedroom, ensuite and dressing room. Very comfortable separate lounge for guests with balcony, tea and coffee making facilities, fridge and large screen TV. Wonderful breakfast cooked fresh to your requirements. Ideally situated for the north and east coasts. Highly recommend to everybody and, if in the area, will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This B&B is a gem.Our room was spacious,bright,spotless,with an outlook to a gently flowing stream at the rear of the property. We also had use of an adjoining lounge,complete with big TV ,a small balcony(overlooking that stream) .Perfect for wine o'clock.Our hostess Carol could not have done more to make us feel at home and cooked up a great breakfast.Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aghadowey
0.7 mi away
Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn
7.2 mi away
Lodge Hotel
Lodge Hotel
#1 of 5 in Coleraine
699 reviews
12.8 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
659 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Bushtown Hotel
The Bushtown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Coleraine
342 reviews
10.0 mi away
Ardtara Country House
Ardtara Country House
#1 of 1 in Upperlands
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agivey Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agivey Lodge

Property: Agivey Lodge
Address: 174 Agivey Road, Aghadowey, Coleraine BT51 4AB, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Coleraine > Aghadowey
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aghadowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Agivey Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agivey Lodge is a newly built modern home set in an idyllic countryside location with stunning river views. Central location to the North Antrim coast, airports, Giant's Causeway, Bushmills Distillery and all major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Agivey Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agivey Lodge Aghadowey, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing