We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful location and much nicer than a B&B or...”
other travellers have booked this property
June in the garden when the sun hits your terrace at around noon
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
June in the garden when the sun hits your terrace at around noon
Calm and comfortable, a high ceiling adds to the spaciousness of the main room. Sweet dreams await in a solid oak sleigh bed.  The bedroom has lightstop and translucent blinds.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
June in the garden when the sun hits your terrace at around noon
Calm and comfortable, a high ceiling adds to the spaciousness of the main room.
Sweet dreams await in a solid oak sleigh bed.  The bedroom has lightstop and translucent blinds.
Your dining table looks out over the garden to the South Downs.
Soak up the sun on your private terrace.
May, and the white wisteria  and tulips are in full bloom.
The walk-in shower offers plenty of elbow room.
A pot of home made marmalade and shortbread biscuits welcome new arrivals.
The  box hedges are traditionally cut on Derby Day - but not always the day itself.
An armchair has been added since the earlier photo was taken.
Help yourself to herbs from the garden.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Storrington, Horsham District, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
weederKip...
Kippford
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful location and much nicer than a B&B or Hotel.”
Reviewed 31 March 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Visiting a friend who lives in the downs, we needed accommodation and this was perfect. A refreshing change from the usual fussy decor, The Bay Tree Cottage has a simple, tasteful interior and a lovely wee sun-trap garden. We had everything we needed and could easily do our own meals but you must try some of Shona's terrific cooking.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2017
Many thanks for giving The Bay Tree Cottage a glowing review and for being such delightful guests. I look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A
1 review
“Marvellous week of very comfortable accommodation”
Reviewed 28 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed for a week here in February and enjoyed accommodation of a very high standard indeed. The property is detached and a reasonable distance from the owner's home: it was delightfully private. The cottage is very well furnished and comfortable - all of our needs were met. It provided an excellent base for our tour of East and West Sussex. Shona, the owner, was informative and helpful about restaurants and places to visit, and offered to cook for us on some evenings if required -in another life she was the Food editor for The Times!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2017
Thank you for giving Bay Tree Cottage such a lovely review John. I am glad that you and Sheila enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again.
Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyoBus
Pinedale, Wyoming, Usa
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“So Relaxing!”
Reviewed 14 February 2017 for a stay in October 2016

After much travelling round the USA and England we had a quiet and relaxing couple of nights at the Bay Tree Cottage. Easy access to the South Downs National Park and many rejuvenating walks, with some good pubs in the neighborhood! The Host (and owner) Shona is the most marvelous cook and we were treated to one of her culinary masterpieces for dinner one night.
For two people looking for that "get-away" this is the place. We shall be returning!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2017
Thank you for giving The Bay Tree Cottage (and me) such a lovely first review on TripAdvisor.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing