We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As wonderful as always”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burpham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Burpham Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Burpham B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“As wonderful as always”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Burpham Country House Hotel has a special place in our hearts as it's where we got married. We returned this weekend to celebrate our anniversary and had an amazing time as always. Jackie and Steve are wonderful hosts, the food was delicious as always (we particularly love Steve's smoked mackerel mousse and treacle tart!) and we had the best night's sleep we've had in a long time. If you want somewhere to completely unwind and forget about the stresses of 21st century life, then Burpham is the ideal place to do it!

Room Tip: We stayed in room no 6 which has lovely views over the Downs - highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r_m_hurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    40
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
118
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
west sussex, england
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Lovely atmosphere and a talented self-taught chef/proprietor. Generally a pleasant stay although hotel a little dog-eared in places and parking is a problem.
There is an honesty bar which is fine although I thought £8 for a double Three Barrells Brandy was rather steep particularly as it wasn't 'served'. You can buy a litre of Three Barrells for £22 which makes for £138 profit on a litre, perhaps a little steep when no service is involved.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mutley8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

A beautiful house with lovely rooms that are well looked after with everything we needed. Stayed for one night, but would definitely return when warmer to take advantage of the gardens and restaurant.The breakfast was great with plenty of choice. Gorgeous friendly cats and local pub (5 minutes walking distance) that served food. Great location with Arundel, Sussex coast and South Downs nearby. A very relaxed atmosphere. Hosts were perfect.

Room Tip: Standard doubles - room 4 was my favourite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinygreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We really enjoyed our visit. We were made so welcome by our hosts we felt that we were staying with friends! Relaxing decor, the right ambiance in the dining room and delicious food. We will certainly return. Two nights is not long enough!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suedave7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Very pleasant single night stay ( wish it was longer), in this charming country house hotel. Comfortable room & excellent food made this the perfect retreat and we will definately return next year to explore the Sussex countryside.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

A very pleasant stay in a charming country house in a quiet village whilst still being very close to Arundel. The country house has a cosy and intimate feel rather than feeling like a large impersonal corporate chain. Food was excellent - the only problem being trying to choose what to eat! Hosts are accommodating and friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexleyheath
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We have just returned from a really enjoyable short break at Burpham Country House Hotel and have enjoyed every moment of the experience. We were made so welcome by our delightful hosts and the hotel is everything one would envisage from a country house. The lounge, bar and dining room had just the right ambience and breakfast was taken in the very pretty conservatory overlooking the garden - lovely! The food was excellent at every meal and beautifully cooked and presented. We chose the hotel after being given a recommendation and would certainly pass on recommendations of our own.
Martin&Brenda B/Heath.

Room Tip: The room we occupied was No. 5 which was at the top of the house and extremely comfortable, with be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinbrendamiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burpham
1.9 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
5.6 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Arundel Hotel
4.4 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burpham Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burpham Country House

Property: Burpham Country House
Address: The Street, Burpham BN18 9RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Burpham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Burpham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Burpham Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burpham Country House offers tranquil country house accommodation and group dining, set in the heart of the South Downs near Arundel, West Sussex. We specialize in exclusive use letting of the whole house, with or without dining, for celebrations and groups. We can cater for up to 20 resident guests, and up to 36 dining. We also sell individual rooms for Goodwood Events, and for weekends throughout July. We have nine en-suite rooms, most with downland views, five doubles, 4 double/twins, ranging from standard rooms to four-poster and luxury super-kings. We have a lovely guest lounge and gardens and we are fully licensed. We offer free parking and Wi-fi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Burpham Country House Hotel Burpham
Burpham Country House West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing