We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a second home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burpham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Burpham Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Burpham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 November 2013

What a wonderful relaxing hideaway Steve and Jackie have created. We truly loved everything from Lucy, by the fire; to our foodie chats with Steve. Unfortunately my other half fell ill during our stay (nothing to do with the house) and we had to cancel dinner plans elsewhere last minute - not a problem for the house, especially on a busy Sat night - everyone was so accommodating making our stay more comfortable.

We stayed in room 7 which was very spacious with a large bed and

The only negative points that I picked up on during my stay:


1. I hate to agree with other reviews, however paper napkins are a little less exclusive and uncomplimintary to the chef.

2. Dimmer lights in the social rooms would assist in creating a relaxed atomsphere, specifically during dinner.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Kayefe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

This is not a "luxury" inn but it has many touches of such an inn. Lovely bed linens, nice towels, great Italian toiletries, a fantastic breakfast--pancakes available!--and excellent food in the brasserie. Ok so the rooms may need a bit of a facelift but I found room 7 to be extremely comfortable. The prices are more uthan fair. Jackie was extremely helpful and down to earth. I really like her approach to inn-keeping. The grounds are lovely, the location is superb, and I would return in a heartbeat if in the Arundel area.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Judgefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

An old parsonage serves now as a characterful inn in a hidden village below the South Downs. The better rooms are spacious with comfortable beds & modern bathrooms. I would recommend they invest in shower curtains; those silly half glass arrangements never keep all the water in the tub. The bistro dining room is irregularly open and small but the food is very well-done. The breakfasts are excellent with options beyond the "full English." Walks from the village lead to the river Arun or UP to the Downs and excellent views. The Penticosts have lots of local knowledge which they freely and frankly share. Fun place. "Shooting parties welcome." Dead end off the A27 just east of Arundel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaddisGadabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed on Saturday night for a family party. Bedroom warm and comfortable but trailing electric wires from a plug in multi-socket I feel sure wouldn't be passed today by safety standards. Agree with other comments about being hurried from the dining room by the unsmiling waitress who gave the impression that she would rather not be there. We felt we were a nuisance coming towards the end of breakfast service. Also agree about the uninspiring atmosphere. Really felt hospitality is not the greatest feature in this hotel although the food is quite good.

Room Tip: Only saw one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VandCHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I chose this accommodation for the night before my wedding due to its idyllic setting and charming appeal. This family-owned and run accommodation has a great attention to detail, the food was excellent, and service was warm and cordial. It was the ideal location for a relaxing night prior to the full-packed day that was to follow !

Thank you to all the staff that made it a beautiful start to an amazing day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAUL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

It is always difficult to know what you are comparing such places with. Against most 4* hotels it comes of worse.

It is however a very pleasant upmarket bed & breakfast. The good points include, good location, innovative dinner with a menu that keeps changing, friendly hosts who are always willing to help and provide advice.

The downside are the small rooms (at least No. 8 is) with a low ceiling. The shower is noisey are not very powerful.

Breakfast is fine, except that you do have to ask for most things and there is no choice of fruit juice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leedsdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snappergirl, Owner at Burpham Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thanks for your response, and I'm sorry for your confusion about the rating system for Guest Houses and hotels, it is worthwhile making the distinction for others.

We are rated as 4-star Gold Guest Accommodation- we make no claims to be a hotel, certainly not a 4-star one. We do, however, offer hotel level facilities- lounges, bar, restaurant, gardens, free WiFi, TVs in ensuite rooms, all at the price of a good B&B, rather than a 4* hotel. A standard room averages £80-£95 B&B, so it is difficult to see how a room at that rate, which you booked, can be confused with a 4* hotel at several times the price.

We have a Visit Britain Breakfast award for our lengthy breakfast selection, all of which is freshly cooked or prepared, be it home made bread, greek yoghurt and berries, pancakes, Eggs benedict, or the full English Grill, to name only a few. But, as has been noted previously, we don't do a buffet.

But now that you know what we are, please do come again!

Jackie and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We have stayed at BCH at least once a year for the last 4 years to attend the Goodwood Revival and Festival of Speed, but to also enjoy birthdays and just to get away from London.

BCH is a fantastic place offering first class dining in an area of outstanding natural beauty that instantly ensures we can relax and unwind. Jackie, Steve and the gang are brilliant hosts with whom we enjoy plenty of banter and stories, they treat us as friends and always make us feel welcome. We don't do personal recommendations on places to stay normally, but we've enjoyed BCH so much that we've introduced friends and family with total confidence that they'll enjoy their stay.

The walks from Burpham to Arundel are great for building up an appetite and Arundel itself is a wonderful place with the Castle and it's gardens a must see. BCH offers proximity to all this whilst providing a personal and warm atmosphere rather than a stuffy or hotel chain-style ambience.

The cats add to the relaxed feeling of being in a home away from home and it's wonderful being able to grab a drink from the honesty bar and sit outside in the evening sun in the beautiful garden (with chickens roaming freely).

The rooms are spacious and full of period features including love seats in the windows and generously appointed four poster beds.

My husband and I are gutted we won't be attending the Goodwood Revival again this year as the experience of staying at the BCH is a major factor in making the weekend so special. We normally take two classic cars with us which Jackie and Steve very kindly encourage us to do and they make every accommodation to enable us to enjoy our time there (including allowing us to make running repairs on their driveway).

I thoroughly recommend BCH as a quiet, romantic and relaxing place to stay - we always return home feeling totally refreshed and looking forward to our next visit. Keep up the good work Jackie, Steve and the team!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Burpham Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burpham Country House

Address: The Street, Burpham BN18 9RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Burpham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Burpham
Price Range: £40 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Burpham Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burpham Country House offers tranquil country house accommodation and group dining, set in the heart of the South Downs near Arundel, West Sussex. We specialize in exclusive use letting of the whole house, with or without dining, for celebrations and groups. We can cater for up to 20 resident guests, and up to 36 dining. We also sell individual rooms for Goodwood Events, and for weekends throughout July. We have nine en-suite rooms, most with downland views, five doubles, 4 double/twins, ranging from standard rooms to four-poster and luxury super-kings. We have a lovely guest lounge and gardens and we are fully licensed. We offer free parking and Wi-fi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Burpham Country House Hotel Burpham
Burpham Country House West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing