We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm, welcoming and totally unique”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burpham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Burpham Country House
Ranked #1 of 2 Burpham B&B and Inns
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Warm, welcoming and totally unique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed for two nights over the Valentine's weekend and couldn't recommend highly enough. Burpham Country House is warm, welcoming and totally unique, with hosts who manage to balance a friendly, laid back attitude with being completely focused and on the ball. They seem to have thought of everything, spare toothpaste and toiletries you might have forgotten, boxes of speciality teas on each landing and maps to take with you on walks over the gorgeous downs nearby.

We dined on the first night and were delighted with the meal, beautifully prepared by Steve who is truly a superb chef. Breakfast was also a real treat with a fantastic range from full English, American pancakes, Eggs Benedict or special creamy mushrooms. The house itself is bright and airy, with chic but comfortable furnishings, a cosy living room complete with stove and honesty bar and the cats - Lucy and Smudge - are delightful presences. We were very happy with our room and found the whole weekend wonderfully relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamana15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snappergirl, Owner at Burpham Country House, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thanks so much for your kind review. We read them all, and comments such as these really make our job worthwhile. Thanks, Jackie and Steve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    40
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
118
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

We only could manage 1 night in mid December as had to get back to look after an aged parent (A P, as Dickens would say). It was an ideal and peaceful location. Good food, nice people (and elderly cat Lucy who deigned to sit on us in the lounge after dinner). Chef/co-owner chatted with us after he had finished.

Comfortable and friendly - wish we could have stayed longer. Had fun with another cat seeking attention who either ran up stairs in front of us and laid down on the steps ahead to be stroked or if ignored, seemed intent on demolishing decorations on the Christmas tree.

Only minus was the shower, but considering the location I expect that water pressure and electricity supply made a low power electric shower the only viable option.

May be back in 2015.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful relaxing hideaway Steve and Jackie have created. We truly loved everything from Lucy, by the fire; to our foodie chats with Steve. Unfortunately my other half fell ill during our stay (nothing to do with the house) and we had to cancel dinner plans elsewhere last minute - not a problem for the house, especially on a busy Sat night - everyone was so accommodating making our stay more comfortable.

We stayed in room 7 which was very spacious with a large bed and

The only negative points that I picked up on during my stay:


1. I hate to agree with other reviews, however paper napkins are a little less exclusive and uncomplimintary to the chef.

2. Dimmer lights in the social rooms would assist in creating a relaxed atomsphere, specifically during dinner.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaykay1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

This is not a "luxury" inn but it has many touches of such an inn. Lovely bed linens, nice towels, great Italian toiletries, a fantastic breakfast--pancakes available!--and excellent food in the brasserie. Ok so the rooms may need a bit of a facelift but I found room 7 to be extremely comfortable. The prices are more uthan fair. Jackie was extremely helpful and down to earth. I really like her approach to inn-keeping. The grounds are lovely, the location is superb, and I would return in a heartbeat if in the Arundel area.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Judgefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
268 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

An old parsonage serves now as a characterful inn in a hidden village below the South Downs. The better rooms are spacious with comfortable beds & modern bathrooms. I would recommend they invest in shower curtains; those silly half glass arrangements never keep all the water in the tub. The bistro dining room is irregularly open and small but the food is very well-done. The breakfasts are excellent with options beyond the "full English." Walks from the village lead to the river Arun or UP to the Downs and excellent views. The Penticosts have lots of local knowledge which they freely and frankly share. Fun place. "Shooting parties welcome." Dead end off the A27 just east of Arundel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaddisGadabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed on Saturday night for a family party. Bedroom warm and comfortable but trailing electric wires from a plug in multi-socket I feel sure wouldn't be passed today by safety standards. Agree with other comments about being hurried from the dining room by the unsmiling waitress who gave the impression that she would rather not be there. We felt we were a nuisance coming towards the end of breakfast service. Also agree about the uninspiring atmosphere. Really felt hospitality is not the greatest feature in this hotel although the food is quite good.

Room Tip: Only saw one
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VandCHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

I chose this accommodation for the night before my wedding due to its idyllic setting and charming appeal. This family-owned and run accommodation has a great attention to detail, the food was excellent, and service was warm and cordial. It was the ideal location for a relaxing night prior to the full-packed day that was to follow !

Thank you to all the staff that made it a beautiful start to an amazing day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAUL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burpham
1.9 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
5.6 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Arundel Hotel
4.4 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burpham Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burpham Country House

Property: Burpham Country House
Address: The Street, Burpham BN18 9RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Burpham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Burpham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Burpham Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burpham Country House offers tranquil country house accommodation and group dining, set in the heart of the South Downs near Arundel, West Sussex. We specialize in exclusive use letting of the whole house, with or without dining, for celebrations and groups. We can cater for up to 20 resident guests, and up to 36 dining. We also sell individual rooms for Goodwood Events, and for weekends throughout July. We have nine en-suite rooms, most with downland views, five doubles, 4 double/twins, ranging from standard rooms to four-poster and luxury super-kings. We have a lovely guest lounge and gardens and we are fully licensed. We offer free parking and Wi-fi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Burpham Country House Hotel Burpham
Burpham Country House West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing