We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burpham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Burpham Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Burpham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed in this guesthouse for one night and what a lovely stay. The guesthouse itself is beautiful inside and out. The owners were friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We went for a lovely walk for a few hours over the south downs and visited a few local pubs. Unfortunatly we could not get a table to eat in the guest house resturant as we had heard how nice it was, but we did eat the the George inn, a few minutes away. The manager of the local pub was very friendly and chatted to us at the bar and the food was very nice. The hotel had a honesty bar where we chatted to other guests and the owner. The breakfast was first class in the beautiful conservatory. Overall, beautiful surroundings, lovely guesthouse, great food and drink. Would defiantly return!!!! Sorry to the owner for forgetting our key and getting you up late sat night!

Room Tip: Have room 7, unless I want it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snappergirl, Owner at Burpham Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thanks for your kind review, glad you enjoyed your break, we hope to see you back again sometime, especially now you have learned about the key!!

regards

Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

This isn't the sort of hotel you will discover by driving past. It's at the end of a winding road in the very pretty village of Burpham. As soon as you drive into the car park you know it is going to be something special. Welcomed by Jackie we enjoyed a drink in the garden before going up to room 7. With spectacular views over the South Downs and the biggest bed in Sussex we were able to relax before an excellent evening meal. A very quiet and peaceful place to stay with lovely hosts. Ignore the negative reviews, they were written by the sour-faced who wouldn't recognise quality service if it slapped them in the face with a wet kipper.

Room Tip: Room 7 with it's enormous window seat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fisicx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snappergirl, Owner at Burpham Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thanks so much for your lovely review, customer feedback is always welcome, and the appreciative ones mean the world to us. I haven't thought of kippers, but may take up the suggestion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Genuinely peaceful setting for a truly relaxing stay, yes, but what really sets this experience so far ahead of others is the combination of such a warm welcome from Jackie and Steve Penticost and the superlative food. Would we go again? Definitely!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snappergirl, Owner at Burpham Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, we hope to welcome you back sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We had a great 2 days at this hotel , visiting Mervyn Peake's grave in the churchyard and doing lots of walking. The local pub does excellent food albeit a little pricey. There are plenty of walks nearby and Arundel is a pretty town - although many of the shops were shut on the Monday that we visited.

Room Tip: Room 7 is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moodists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snappergirl, Owner at Burpham Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thanks for your review, so glad you got the opportunity to enjoy our lovely valley and surroundings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed with Jackie and Steve in their beautiful country house hotel with our six month old daughter. We had such a lovely weekend and could not have asked for more during our stay. Jackie went over and above as host and really made us feel as if we were family. Not a stone unturned on customer delivery. We would definitely go back again and consider it as a hidden gem in Burpham. Thank you for making us feel so comfortable! Tom, Mandy and Arya.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snappergirl, Owner at Burpham Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thanks for your lovely review, we're so glad you had a bit of rest and relaxation.

regards

Steve and Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights on a short Easter break in this very comfortable house in a beautifull , typical village in West-Sussex . You will feel at home immediately in the well equipped room and the nice lounge (with a bar) . The lady of the house will help you plan your visits of the day , after having enjoyed a wonderfull breakfast cooked to order . We'll be back with friends .

Room Tip: Room #3 has a very comfortable and romantic four-poster bed .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirk D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snappergirl, Owner at Burpham Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Many thanks for your kind review, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

If you want to get away from it all, this is the place.
A beautifully traditional well appointed room, quiet and comfortable.
In the restaurant the food is superb, dinner was very good indeed and breakfast superb.

Room Tip: Just talk to Jackie to discuss your requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snappergirl, Owner at Burpham Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thanks, DanielP, your review is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Burpham Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burpham Country House

Address: The Street, Burpham BN18 9RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Burpham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Burpham
Price Range: £40 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Burpham Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burpham Country House offers tranquil country house accommodation and group dining, set in the heart of the South Downs near Arundel, West Sussex. We specialize in exclusive use letting of the whole house, with or without dining, for celebrations and groups. We can cater for up to 20 resident guests, and up to 36 dining. We also sell individual rooms for Goodwood Events, and for weekends throughout July. We have nine en-suite rooms, most with downland views, five doubles, 4 double/twins, ranging from standard rooms to four-poster and luxury super-kings. We have a lovely guest lounge and gardens and we are fully licensed. We offer free parking and Wi-fi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Burpham Country House Hotel Burpham
Burpham Country House West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing