We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Thatched Barn is Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Thatched Barn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burpham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Thatched Barn
Ranked #2 of 2 Burpham B&B and Inns
Sandy, Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Thatched Barn is Superb!”
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Excellent Bed & Breakfasts are known for their hosts, primarily, and The Thatched Barn is no exception! Chris and Sandra are outstanding hosts. They are both gifted artists and multi-talented people. Chris prepared a full English breakfast that was made from local ingredients and the best we've had in the UK! We felt immediately welcomed at The Thatched Barn, and we were sad to leave. The accommodations are immaculately clean, and the views through the windows and from the terraces are spectacular of Arundel Castle and the green fields. We have been traveling in Europe and the UK for over the past twenty years, and The Thatched Barn is, by far, one of the BEST places we've come across. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Every room is a gem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, Englang
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

As a family we have an ethos that if we can afford a trip away, we try somewhere new each time: the world is a big place so lets explore it.....however, the Thatched Barn is our exception to this. We have been twice now and are planning our third trip, with more family members and for longer. We've only ever stayed in room 1 but it's fabulous - incredible views, fixtures & fittings to the highest standard, cleanliness second to none and (more importantly) hosts who make you feel welcome. As a family of strict vegetarians we didn't even phase Chris & Sandra at breakfast and every whim was catered for. If you like peace & quiet, beautiful views and friendly people then go - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hellsknipe356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I made a very last minute booking on Sunday & after a little hesitation, Sandra agreed to have us as guests, for which we were most grateful. The accommodation was immaculate with a lovely little patio and a beautiful view - the very best this part of the world has to offer.

Our hosts, Chris & Sandra, were both very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful.
Breakfast is served in the main barn, with Chris producing a fantatstic full English made with locally sourced produce. If you feel like something lighter, do try the fast becoming famous Wepham Wonder.

So, thank you both to Chris & Sandra - both Elisabeth & I look forward to seeing you again!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1 which had a staggering view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We have just spent two wonderful nights at the excellent Thatched Barn. I would recommend to those who love our beautiful countryside and appreciate a hearty breakfast. Friendly hosts and quality accommodation made it a great break. The location is ideal for walking or cycling. Give it a try, you won't regret it.
Paul

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Stayed recently for one night and wished it was longer. Chris & Sandra were excellent local hosts, and cottage four is a dream. Nothing to be said but perfect. Make sure you try the George & Dragon up the road for lunch or dinner, and get some country walks in as well. Perfectly calming location and thankfully limited blackberry reception! We will be back without hesitation!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandersDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We stayed at the Thatched Barn (in room one) for our anniversary and both the accomodation and location made it a truly memorable event for us. The hosts
Chris & Sandy are congenial, interesting and very welcoming. The room itself was spotlessly clean, comfortable, with an incredible shower and had a view we could never
tire of looking at. The breakfast was ample and nothing too much trouble - we are a family of strict vegetarians and were catered for incredibly well.
As a family we have a rule that we never go back anywhere - if we have the money to travel we never repeat an experience: always somewhere new: something new. The Thatched Barn has put paid to this as we are already planning a return trip. In 25 yrs we have never returned anywhere but this B&B is going to be a regular stop for us from now on.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HK356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2010

The barn and rooms have been tastefully converted with great attention to detail. The views across to Arundel castle are breathtaking. The location is beautiful, very peaceful and good for walking straight from the door. In 15 mins you can be on the top of the south downs with excellent views to the coast and wildlife including lapwings and skylarks. The breakfasts are excellent taken in the barn and the Wepham wonder is to be recommended. Chris and Sandy are very welcoming and go out of their way to make you feel at home. With a great pub in the George and Dragon only 10 mins walk up the road for good food and beer you really have got everything.
We are already booked in to the Thatched Barn for another stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeF_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burpham
1.8 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
586 reviews
3.1 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
292 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
81 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Arundel Hotel
1.8 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thatched Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thatched Barn

Property: The Thatched Barn
Address: 105 Wepham | Nr Arundel, Burpham BN18 9RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Burpham
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Burpham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful bed and breakfast nestling in the South Downs near Arundel overlooking meadows toward Arundel Castle. Local gastro pub in walking distance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Thatched Barn Burpham, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing