We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You may need take out a second mortgage to drink here!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Spotted Cow

The Spotted Cow
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Angmering
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You may need take out a second mortgage to drink here!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

After visiting relatives in the area my husband and I decided to have dinner at the picturesque pub.after bumping his head in the way in he ordered 2 ciders and was shocked at the 8 pounds 80 price .we decided just to order a few bowls of chips and eat later.the barman then angrily slammed our chips on the table and suggested that we were not in wetherspoons.i then visited the toilet which was revolting ,, the dated urinals were riddled with cracks ,spider webs blanketed the ceiling and the floor was vanishing under a pool of urine.would not recommend, save your money

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank arsensl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    107
    35
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Ok, but could do better!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

My family & I recently had a meal here.
It was mediocre in terms of menu choice & food quality.
Childrens menu poor ( why do some restaurants not understand that we don't want to feed our children grease & chips!!!)
Atmosphere ok. Staff friendly & generally helpful.
Sorry, would not return.
Far better restaurants in Angmering.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank WestSussexBramley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spot on!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I recently visited the Spotted Cow whilst visiting relatives in Angmering. A great find and thoroughly enjoyable all round experience. An extensive and varied menu catered for all our tastes and the selection of beers spot on! A friendly and unhurried atmosphere plus the added bonus of the glorious gardens. Fabulous!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex,
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“CONSISTENTLY TOP NOTCH FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

me and my wife have been eating here for over 10 years but bizarrely enough have never posted a review for the spotted cow until this weekend when someone said to me had we done a review of the cow and then I stopped and thought actually no we never have!
Naomi,mike and all the staff are some of the nicest genuine people you can meet very helpful and they genuinely care for there business and not just another gastropub cash cow that seem to pop up.
they have a cask marque in ales,have a good selection of wines etc.a bread basket appears on the table with butter complimentary once seated.they have a good selection of pub classics on the menu or if you would like something a little more special they have a comprehensive ala carte menu with veg and dauphonoise served in individual bowls(delicious).they always have a good selection of starters,mains and desserts on the specials menu,which I like to look at to decide if I will have a starter or dessert or all 3 if I feel like a gutbuster.
we normally if the weathers good walk home which takes 40 minutes then we can burn off all the food weve eaten because it all tastes so good you have trouble resisting one of there delicious homemade puds.
to finalise all we can say that in all the time we have been eating here it has always been consistently great,so if you want great food,great staff and a beautiful country pub but not off the beaten track you could do a lot worse than THE SPOTTED COW ANGMERING.
andy and kelly

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 1972andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
119 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Dinner for four on a Saturday evening. Moussaka, 2 fillet steaks and Hake and chips. Everything cooked to order and thoroughly delicious. The Battered Hake was especially nice and far superior to anything that you get from a local take-a-away.

Helpful?
Thank tonyfrasercross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Spotted Cow also viewed

Angmering, Littlehampton
Angmering, Littlehampton
 
Littlehampton, Arun District
 

Been to The Spotted Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing