We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lamb at Angmering
Ranked #1 of 2 Angmering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Lovely break over the weekend served up by the Lamb at Angmering. A nice little bar, excellent food, good room, great staff...good price what more do you need. A well run establishment with a nice feel to it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for The Lamb at Angmering
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

We chose to stay at the Lamb for 4 nights whilst visiting my husband's parents and I can honestly say that, as an expat I have had the privilege of staying in many grand hotels all over the world, but none can compare to the Lamb.
Family owned and run by Martin, ably assisted by Liam and Sue, it's the kind of place that made me feel instantly at home. The bar is relaxed, the staff and the locals welcoming and when we brought the family for Sunday lunch, the food was excellent and the restaurant staff were efficient and charming.
When we decided to stay an extra night, although the hotel was full, Martin pulled out all stops to make sure their newly converted downstairs room was ready in time for us. A beautiful room with stunning bathroom, I still think it should be renamed The Wallace after it's very first occupants !
Next time we are in Angmering, the Lamb will be our first stop.

Room Tip: Try the new downstairs room
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PodWallace67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We have just arrived back from a most enjoyable stay at The Lamb. We were celebrating my wifes "Rainbow" birthday. (colours replace numbers these days!)
Firstly, many thanks to Martin who sorted us out on arrival and helped me with my many requests, which had to be kept secret until Saturday night. He's the kind of person you want -Front Of House- nothing was to much trouble.
A MASSIVE thanks to Sue and her team who made the meal in The Lamb restaurant one of the most memorable we've had. Her constant attention to ensure we had the best time was faultless, and her team were all so charming and polite. They really are a credit to the place.
Now the to room. We stayed in "Old Wilkie" which was one of the biggest rooms I've stayed in for a long time. The room was lovely, decorated in Farrell & Ball colours in keeping with the age of the building, which I believe is an old coaching inn. The bed is sooooooo comfy, the towels are fluffy, plenty of hot water, I cannot fault the place.
We booked breakfast and it was a good move. What a way to start the day. Full English (Me) Eggs Benedict (Wifey), Toast, OJ, Tea, Preserves, the food is locally sourced and very tasty.
We will definitely be returning. If you are looking for a base from which to explore Sussex and take some lovely walks, this is the place to be.
And after all that exercise chill out in the bar with a draught beer and food from their excellent menu.

Room Tip: Old Wilkie (our room) is on the end of the building, it's a BIG room, lovely and peaceful with a...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Explorer800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We booked a last minute room yesterday at the Lamb, I think we were the only guests, so it was nice and quiet. We booked a premier room which was lovely, really clean, gorgeous furniture & decor. We had a quick drink in the bar & a delicious breakfast (yummy sausages!!) Staff were all very friendly and helpful too.

Thoroughly enjoyed the experience and would definitely recommend - hope to visit again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuttyslack_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights to attend a family funeral. Despite the sad occasion the staff were wonderfully accommodating and looked after us faultlessly. Our bedroom was clean and nicely decorated with a lovely large comfy bed. The restaurant food is well presented and tasty, good wine list and there's a good choice for breakfast (healthy or hearty!). Lovely quiet village location.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank 100miles2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed in Angmering whilst on a visit to view a house that we are hoping to buy. The Lamb is a very welcoming place, popular with locals, but also very welcoming to visitors. Our room was spacious and well appointed. The restaurant provided an excellent evening meal and breakfast.
The best bit was the staff, all very helpful and cheerful. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: As with everything - paying a little more gets the best rooms!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarissa27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I will confess that I booked the Lamb off the back of the trip adviser reviews and note that two less than perfect reviews have been made since I looked.

To be honest, I think that we stayed in the room heavily criticized and don't recognise the issues raised.

There were a couple of very minor issues but readers should remember that this is not a purpose built hotel and the rooms have had to be converted so there is a compromise between a spacious room and a spacious en suite.

To be brutal, the en suite (or rather the shower) was a little cramped but it was clean, modern and well equipped. The needle sharp shower jets were corrected by turning the pressure down a little (not obvious unless you played around with it) although after the initial shock it was actually quite invigorating.

The bed was firm but extremely comfortable. The room itself was beautiful with a mix of reclaimed old furniture for the aesthetics and modern for the comfort and functionality. A minor gripe was that the wardrobe had a vaguely unpleasant smell which we put down to its age. Not an issue as we had nothing that needed hanging.

I need to stress that these issues were very very minor and I wouldn't feel that they were worthy of a reduction in the excellent rating I have given.

The overall experience was fantastic, the manager who greeted us was outstanding having found the perfect balance of professionalism and friendliness (same for the lady who managed breakfast in the morning.) The whole place felt like it had just been refurbished and was immaculately clean.

Breakfast was first class, cooked to order instead of the buffet style setups that seem to be favoured in larger hotels and with really high quality ingredients.

Overall, I felt that the Lamb exceeded expectation and offered a better package than some, more expensive hotels. I would certainly stay there again and recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbo37_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeeN593, Owner at The Lamb at Angmering, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

We would like to thank the reviewer very much for his honest assessment of our establishment. We did feel the previous review was very savage with a one star review for the issues that were raised. This review has given us a real lift and we were delighted to read it.
We have taken note of the minor points in the review and have attended to the wardrobe. Thank you once again and we hope to be of service to you at The Lamb at Angmering when you are next in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angmering
0.2 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
328 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Littlehampton Rustington
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,081 reviews
4.7 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
1,030 reviews
4.3 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamb at Angmering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamb at Angmering

Address: The Square | Angmering, Angmering, Littlehampton BN16 4EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Littlehampton > Angmering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Angmering
Price Range: £96 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lamb at Angmering 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lamb at Angmering is an 18th century Hotel just 2 miles from the sea. The Lamb was recently purchased by the Newbon family and had a complete refit. 5 beautifully equipped bedrooms were completed in April 2012 and another in our courtyard in late 2013 making a total of 6 rooms. Bathrooms and beds are top quality with power showers, TVs. tea, nespresso coffee machine,biscuits and bottled water. Wifi is free at The Lamb. The bar and restaurant have an excellent reputation for good ales and locally sourced quality food. The Lamb is very conveniently placed to visit Arundel 4 miles, Chichester and Goodwood, 11 miles and Brighton 18 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Lamb at Angmering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lamb At Angmering West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing