We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price”
Review of Angmering Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Angmering Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angmering
Certificate of Excellence
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just stayed at the hotel for a nearby wedding.
Room extremely hot, the small fan did little to cool you.
Each day only 4 milks left for drinks - tea or coffee - nothing else -clearly you are only allowed one drink a day each.
Breakfast has one of the most limited menus I have ever come across - Full English, that's it!
Once the waitress serves you, she never comes back to you to check everything is ok? Would you like anything else?
Our shower head did nothing but gently drip water over you - I would have expected a proper power shower, for accommodation that charged £164 for one night B&B.
On checking out I wasn't asked "If everything was ok" - for a hotel charging the prices this one does that must surely come as standard customer care/feedback

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank October14th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    105
    31
    15
    11
See reviews for
45
138
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Angmering
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We arrived with no staff around. When we asked for tea in the bar we were told there is some in room. Rooms very hot with very small windows. The hotel needs updating everywhere. 1 waitress at breakfast and not a good selection. Eggs hard when we asked for runny. Very overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morrison888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

A great little hotel if you want somewhere quiet and off-beat. The room was located towards the back of the building, which would recommend, overlooking the pretty hotel grounds. The room was spacious with a comfortable bed plus a sofa to enjoy a relaxing stay - there was a complimentary fan which was much needed at times as the room was a little humid. The staff where friendly and amenable. There is a little village within 2-3 mins walking distance which has a lovely pub serving great-tasting food and a co-op for smaller items. Breakfast was simple and served with a smile. Due to the older nature of the building and decor it was quite hot - some aircon would be good! They don't serve food very late so thats one thing to keep in mind. But a great stay all the same if you want to relax at your own pace.

Room Tip: One that overlooks the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzzie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We have stayed here on a few occasions .nothing is ever to much trouble dinner in restraunt fantastic .garden is beautiful will definitely be back .Hotel in a great location in beautiful village .The staff are always helpful and make us feel welcome we stayed in room 212 with a lovely ornate bed and fantastic roll top bath and had a great nights slleep and a lovely good quality breakfast in morning what more could you ask for

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnydays43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This was our second visit to the Angmering Manor Hotel. Like our first we found the hotel charming and quaint. Quiet and friendly and just to our liking or we would not have made it the second time. We travelled down from Bromley. Not a long drive but far enough to want to relax on arrival. The hotel garden is very pleasant and the seating area shaded and quiet. Just the place for my wife and me to sit with a cool drink and perhaps enjoy a snack. My wife made her way to the garden. While ordering drinks at the small but welcoming bar, I asked. Could I order a sandwich or a snack to have with our drinks? ‘No’, was the reply. Crisps I suggested. ‘No’. I was a little disgruntled but politely said ‘Nuts’.
No offence meant. ‘No’, but this time the no was followed by ‘nothing’.
'No nothing' was the response. We don’t sell Crisps and we don’t sell Nuts cos no one buys em and the staffs eat em! I felt down hearted and even hungrier, because of the realisation that the cupboard was bare. I informed my wife who was anticipating a nice snack with her Pinot Grigio. We sat in the garden, drank our drinks and decided to wander off to the village. There is another small hotel cum restaurant near by so we tried our luck there. Sorry no, we are not serving, too late.
The local Co-Op is opposite where we purchased sandwiches and returned to the hotel garden to consume with another drink from the small but welcoming bar.
No more to be said about the sandwiches and we spent that evening out with family.
We decided to stay on the Sunday and chill. That seems to be the word to use.
Do we need to book a table for this evening I asked? ‘No, the restaurant is shut’.
We were advised that the Spotted Cow was a short walk away and a table was kindly booked there for us, although when we arrived at the Spotted Cow we found that it wasn’t booked but need not, the food was great. We will revue that establishment later. Perhaps the Saturday staffs at the Angmering Manor are not aware of the Spotted Cow or that the Spotted Cow serves food all day, or perhaps they just do not want their guests to eat. Any how back to Sunday. Again we sat in the very pleasant garden. Restaurant shut; we thought.
Em, the aroma of a Sunday roasts cooking came wafting across the garden.
We agreed the appetising smell was coming from the kitchen of the Hotel. We appeared to be the only guests although there were a group of children with adults in the garden. The children were intent on causing havoc to the fish in the pond by throwing large stones and poking and damaging the pond lilies with a long wooden stick. ‘Dinner is ready’ we heard called and a sudden quietness and calm as the children left the garden and headed for the restaurant. We went to our room to change for the evening. As we were leaving for our short walk to the Spotted Cow the group were also leaving the Hotel. It just seemed odd that we could not use the restaurant because we were told it was shut. It felt as if we were being either teased or humiliated!
The Hotel breakfast was good although having the nearby tables cleared and cleaned while eating seems a little rude to us and gave us the impression the member of staff wanted us to leave. It is a nice Hotel but somehow spoilt by a lack of something like hospitality and service. Perhaps it should be known purely as a B&B for paying guests, others get a Sunday roast. Doubt we will stay again.

Room Tip: Nice Rooms but take a snack with you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank royneileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Me (30) and my partner (35) stayed here this weekend gone, and all I can say it was the worst hotel we have ever stayed in.
Our room was a twin, we wanted a double, we were above the kitchen and the hotel had no air con, we had one tiny fan and only one window would open, we asked for another fan, which they didn't have, it was like we were in a sweat room!
They had holes in the wall and skirting boards,, it was mucky just a very dated place, I'll upload photos of our bathroom, which had mould all over,
The first breakfast we had was burnt, my bacon and sausage were black! The next morning they had no mushrooms.
We had travelled 6 hour from north east for a christening the whole trip was spoilt because of the hotel, our friends were staying in the travel lodge around the corner, and even tho we had paid 270 for the dirty old hotel we would of paid it again to get out, but the travel lodge was full,
Would never stay there again and if ur 40 and under you will feel very young.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank lyndseyboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We usually stay in Arundel at the Hilton but all places were booked for the festival , Came across this hotel whilst looking for some where to stay , So pleased we found it ,can not wait to go back there such a lovley Hotel , Very friendly staff so helpful Very hot water in the bath and shower we found the bed very comphy
We had dinner in the hotel which was excellent and service was very good food was divine Also had breakfast next day Good to have the cooked breakfast served on hot plates , Very good choice of Cereals , fruit and full English breakfast We will certainly stay again its a littlel Gem

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the car park and was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maureen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DellaandMark, General Manager at Angmering Manor, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, we were glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angmering
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Littlehampton Rustington
6.1 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
1,973 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
375 reviews
16.0 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,586 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angmering Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angmering Manor

Property: Angmering Manor
Address: Angmering Manor High Street, Angmering, Littlehampton BN16 4AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Littlehampton > Angmering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angmering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Angmering Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angmering Manor is a stunning country house hotel, located in the South Coast village of Angmering. Thought to have been built by missionaries in the 16th century, it now offers 17 exquisitely decorated en-suite bedrooms, each with personal bathrobes, slippers, Wi-Fi, a plasma television and tea & coffee facilities. We also offer an a la carte restaurant and on-site leisure facilities, including a heated indoor swimming pool, mini-gym, sauna and beauty treatments from our on-site beauty therapist. Free car parking is also available at the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Angmering Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angmering Manor Hotel West Sussex
Angmering Manor West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing