We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must try harder”
Review of Angmering Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Angmering Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angmering
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Must try harder”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

This hotel may be quaint to some, but it is now in need of serious cleaning, fixing and certainly updating. My mother who is 5ft 2 inches could not turn out the lights they were out of reach for her (3 bulbs not working) in room 101, or look at herself in the mirror during her stay. Cobwebs and dust galore, the smell of drains/mould all over the bathroom, at £100.00 per night - I don't think so. There is no provision made for senior people, no hand rails in bathrooms etc - Health and safety springs to mind. The staff tried their best to be polite and help. Microwaved food, same sauce different meat. I won't go on. We visited the "Chain" responsible for the hotel immediately after and spoke to them in person about these problems, they didn't seem bothered. This experience was a retirement gift for my mother. I'm seeking a complete refund. I'm so sorry for my mother who is 84 and had to go through this. Her moral and my sister's are very low. So disappointed, this used to be a great place. Unfortunately, for my mum, her company payed the bill up front, may the battle commence. So sad

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DellaandMark, Manager at Angmering Manor, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
I was sorry to read of your Mother’s disappointment with her stay here with us on Sunday 31st August 2014. We always welcome peoples constructive comments, as we feel this may help us to improve where needed.

Firstly the overnight stay that, as you say, was paid for by your Mother’s colleagues, was for a one stay for two in a twin room to include breakfast – not dinner.
We will certainly look at the cleanliness of the rooms and endeavour to ensure that this is not an issue in the future.

Your Mother arrived with us early and was shown to her room to wait for your Sister’s arrival, I am sorry if she was not happy with the room but would have liked to be given to opportunity to rectify any problems at the time. Hand rails are not legally required in the Hotel rooms, however, we do have them available on request.

Dinner – we have never received a complaint about the portion of Roast Sirloin of Beef that is served, NEVER microwaved vegetables, and on the evening the complaint about the cheese was that it was Cold not Old. Cheese, of course, is kept in the fridge and most people requiring it at room temperature order when mains are served.
I have checked the kitchen door and the kick board at the bottom does require painting and we will endeavour to do this as soon as possible.

Lunch – Chips are hand-cut and three times cooked, certainly not microwaved and we really do not know how it is possible to microwave a chip – as our fryers are on for the Battered Cod that you ordered there would be no need to microwave a chip!
I have checked with our Restaurant Manager who assures me that upon checking your table he was told you were very happy with your meal

Hotel – has built up over the past 8 years and, although we thank you for your concern, continues to grow each year.

Breakfast – Looking at our Buffet Breakfast Card that is on all breakfast tables it clearly states for guests to Please Help Themselves from our Buffet – Fresh Cut Fruit, Cereals, Jams/Honey/Marmalade and Fresh Juice (of which Apple and Orange were available) together with a variety of yoghurts.

The Final Bill – please check the final Room Invoice given to your Mother clearly showing the room being pre paid – this does not include the Dinner which has not been charged, therefore cannot be refunded. It includes drinks for that afternoon/evening. There would also have been a charge for lunch and any drinks/coffee consumed on that day.

If you would like me to call to discuss this Invoice please let me know and I will gladly do so
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    104
    31
    15
    11
See reviews for
45
137
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

The overall impression was that the place was in a time warp. Lovely panelled walls, twisting stairways, little corridors, providing the ambience of a step back in time.
The room was pleasant with perhaps the need of some refreshing paint especially as there was the stain of a leak through one of the sloping ceilings.
All staff were most friendly & helpful.
Downside that there were only 2 small windows that opened so the room was very warm in spite of the fan.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familytraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just stayed at the hotel for a nearby wedding.
Room extremely hot, the small fan did little to cool you.
Each day only 4 milks left for drinks - tea or coffee - nothing else -clearly you are only allowed one drink a day each.
Breakfast has one of the most limited menus I have ever come across - Full English, that's it!
Once the waitress serves you, she never comes back to you to check everything is ok? Would you like anything else?
Our shower head did nothing but gently drip water over you - I would have expected a proper power shower, for accommodation that charged £164 for one night B&B.
On checking out I wasn't asked "If everything was ok" - for a hotel charging the prices this one does that must surely come as standard customer care/feedback

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank October14th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angmering
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We arrived with no staff around. When we asked for tea in the bar we were told there is some in room. Rooms very hot with very small windows. The hotel needs updating everywhere. 1 waitress at breakfast and not a good selection. Eggs hard when we asked for runny. Very overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morrison888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

A great little hotel if you want somewhere quiet and off-beat. The room was located towards the back of the building, which would recommend, overlooking the pretty hotel grounds. The room was spacious with a comfortable bed plus a sofa to enjoy a relaxing stay - there was a complimentary fan which was much needed at times as the room was a little humid. The staff where friendly and amenable. There is a little village within 2-3 mins walking distance which has a lovely pub serving great-tasting food and a co-op for smaller items. Breakfast was simple and served with a smile. Due to the older nature of the building and decor it was quite hot - some aircon would be good! They don't serve food very late so thats one thing to keep in mind. But a great stay all the same if you want to relax at your own pace.

Room Tip: One that overlooks the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzzie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We have stayed here on a few occasions .nothing is ever to much trouble dinner in restraunt fantastic .garden is beautiful will definitely be back .Hotel in a great location in beautiful village .The staff are always helpful and make us feel welcome we stayed in room 212 with a lovely ornate bed and fantastic roll top bath and had a great nights slleep and a lovely good quality breakfast in morning what more could you ask for

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnydays43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This was our second visit to the Angmering Manor Hotel. Like our first we found the hotel charming and quaint. Quiet and friendly and just to our liking or we would not have made it the second time. We travelled down from Bromley. Not a long drive but far enough to want to relax on arrival. The hotel garden is very pleasant and the seating area shaded and quiet. Just the place for my wife and me to sit with a cool drink and perhaps enjoy a snack. My wife made her way to the garden. While ordering drinks at the small but welcoming bar, I asked. Could I order a sandwich or a snack to have with our drinks? ‘No’, was the reply. Crisps I suggested. ‘No’. I was a little disgruntled but politely said ‘Nuts’.
No offence meant. ‘No’, but this time the no was followed by ‘nothing’.
'No nothing' was the response. We don’t sell Crisps and we don’t sell Nuts cos no one buys em and the staffs eat em! I felt down hearted and even hungrier, because of the realisation that the cupboard was bare. I informed my wife who was anticipating a nice snack with her Pinot Grigio. We sat in the garden, drank our drinks and decided to wander off to the village. There is another small hotel cum restaurant near by so we tried our luck there. Sorry no, we are not serving, too late.
The local Co-Op is opposite where we purchased sandwiches and returned to the hotel garden to consume with another drink from the small but welcoming bar.
No more to be said about the sandwiches and we spent that evening out with family.
We decided to stay on the Sunday and chill. That seems to be the word to use.
Do we need to book a table for this evening I asked? ‘No, the restaurant is shut’.
We were advised that the Spotted Cow was a short walk away and a table was kindly booked there for us, although when we arrived at the Spotted Cow we found that it wasn’t booked but need not, the food was great. We will revue that establishment later. Perhaps the Saturday staffs at the Angmering Manor are not aware of the Spotted Cow or that the Spotted Cow serves food all day, or perhaps they just do not want their guests to eat. Any how back to Sunday. Again we sat in the very pleasant garden. Restaurant shut; we thought.
Em, the aroma of a Sunday roasts cooking came wafting across the garden.
We agreed the appetising smell was coming from the kitchen of the Hotel. We appeared to be the only guests although there were a group of children with adults in the garden. The children were intent on causing havoc to the fish in the pond by throwing large stones and poking and damaging the pond lilies with a long wooden stick. ‘Dinner is ready’ we heard called and a sudden quietness and calm as the children left the garden and headed for the restaurant. We went to our room to change for the evening. As we were leaving for our short walk to the Spotted Cow the group were also leaving the Hotel. It just seemed odd that we could not use the restaurant because we were told it was shut. It felt as if we were being either teased or humiliated!
The Hotel breakfast was good although having the nearby tables cleared and cleaned while eating seems a little rude to us and gave us the impression the member of staff wanted us to leave. It is a nice Hotel but somehow spoilt by a lack of something like hospitality and service. Perhaps it should be known purely as a B&B for paying guests, others get a Sunday roast. Doubt we will stay again.

Room Tip: Nice Rooms but take a snack with you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank royneileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angmering
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Littlehampton Rustington
6.1 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
1,962 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
371 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
621 reviews
16.0 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angmering Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angmering Manor

Property: Angmering Manor
Address: Angmering Manor High Street, Angmering, Littlehampton BN16 4AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Littlehampton > Angmering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angmering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Angmering Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angmering Manor is a stunning country house hotel, located in the South Coast village of Angmering. Thought to have been built by missionaries in the 16th century, it now offers 17 exquisitely decorated en-suite bedrooms, each with personal bathrobes, slippers, Wi-Fi, a plasma television and tea & coffee facilities. We also offer an a la carte restaurant and on-site leisure facilities, including a heated indoor swimming pool, mini-gym, sauna and beauty treatments from our on-site beauty therapist. Free car parking is also available at the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Angmering Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angmering Manor Hotel West Sussex
Angmering Manor West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing