We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Stratford Upon Avon, Wellesbourne
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellant Food”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Having read some of the review was a little concerned about the level of service and quality of food. Needn't have worried. We were staying close by and needed somewhere for Saturday evening to eat. The food was really good and the service was excellent, the staff were so helpful and friendly. We were so impressed we went back again on Sunday

Room Tip: Didn't stay in the hotel just went for a meal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Stratford Upon Avon, Wellesbourne, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Your kind recommendation means a lot to us here at The Kings Head, Wellesbourne, and we are so glad to hear that your visit was a positive one. We have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    23
    21
    7
    6
See reviews for
18
38
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Have just returned home from the Innkeepers' Lodge having spent two nights there along with my husband, son and daughter-in-law, so had the benefit of seeing two rooms. Both were completely different in size and layout, but that is the charm of such an old building.
We really couldn't fault anything; the staff were friendly, polite and helpful, the bar prices were reasonable, the meal on Thursday evening was lovely (could recommend the fish pie and the steak pie), the rooms were clean and comfortable with plenty of towels which were changed daily and the offer of complementary toothbrushes or other items if you had forgotten yours was a nice touch.
Naomi appeared to have everything well organised and was extremely hard working, also she went out of her way to help us with directions.
The continental breakfast was a real spread ; cereals, cold milk and fruit juices, different rolls and bread, fresh fruit and yogurts etc., excellent.
We would most certainly recommend a stay at the Innkeeper's Lodge, especially if you are visiting friends or family at the near-by Army base as it is only 15 minutes away.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian1952_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Stratford Upon Avon, Wellesbourne, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you found The Kings Head, Innkeeper's Lodge, Stratford Upon Avon a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I have stayed here several times in the last couple of years with work colleagues and have always had the same good experience from the quality of food to the friendly service Its an old building so the rooms are all quite different in size, which means it is pot luck as to whether you get a large or small room but they are all tidy with comfortable beds and as a bonus free wifi - because i am staying overnight for work this is really important.
The breakfast is continental and there is always plenty of it - it includes fresh fruit, yoghurts, danish pastries and or croissants and the normal cereal and toast, juices, tea and coffee, etc.

Room Tip: If you like a quiet room then ask for one of the rear ones overlooking the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue0513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Stratford Upon Avon, Wellesbourne, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Stratford upon Avon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We arrived and went to our room, to be fair it was a large room for a family with lots more space than I expected. It looked clean until you went into the bathroom. A shower with mouldy ceiling and mould in the grout, some tlc would sort this out! We stayed as a family of 4 for one night but we were only given 1 bath towel and 1 hand towel between us!

With a young family we wanted to eat early, so went downstairs to eat, as not much close by. I was told to choose and then come to the bar as he was on his own! This was the same Man who checked us in and knew we had children did not mention a children's menu. We struggled to find them something on the adult menu to share with them and ordered. When it arrived the waitress said oh only 2 meals! Still did not mention a children's menu! It wasn't until another family came in and were given one that we got rather annoyed! A simple thing which would have made our lives better and cheaper!

The rooms upstairs are very noisy all leading off a corridor, the doors slam shut and kept waking the children up!

Breakfast in the morning is ok a range of continental options.

We had stayed before here but won't be returning again!

Room Tip: Family is large for what you pay but all noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Stratford Upon Avon, Wellesbourne, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
We are sorry that you had a disappointing stay at Innkeepers Lodge and we do appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback.
Thank you.
Innkeeper’s Lodge, Stratford Upon Avon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wellesbourne Hastings hotels

Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We booked in for 2 nights on Friday and Saturday night. Basic room with TV, Shower, en-suite etc. Nice room for the money but only trouble was that the doors could only be slammed to shut them and this woke us up both nights when people came in later.

Food in hotel/pub first night was ok quite expensive for what you got really. Breakfast is continental only and was ok as were were not that hungry anyway as it was a hot night weather wise.
Hotel is good value for money really and is close enough to Stratford and Warwick Castle yet you don't pay the silly prices you do in Stratford

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Stratford Upon Avon, Wellesbourne, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments following your visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Brief stay so we could get to the NEC without a two hour drive in the morning. Agree with the majority that it is decidedly average with only continental breakfast available - cooked breakfast not offered. At £62 for a small room with shower only we thought a tad overpriced especially as the first choice Innkeepers Lodge at Coleshill was £62 incl. cooked breakfast for two on the same night (both via Booking.com) but sadly had to change geography late on as colleague had to return to London early.
The most intriguing thing was after arriving back at the hotel / pub at 11.20pm we were looking to purchase a nightcap but were pounced on by the manager (I assume) stating that they did not have a licence for residents drinks! A quick glance to my right showed a couple of guys in conversation at the bar, one with very nearly a full pint and the other with one full and one part full pint in front of them. Either these were recently poured or they were purchased pre 11pm but if my memory is correct they should have been drunk by the 20 min allowed for this - law broken! So either way it just seems a little petty the law can be broken for some but not others. it just seemed they didn't want to do more than absolutely necessary.
The nearby curry "house" (it seems like they have taken over a house!) was very good with good service and who went out of there way to help.....perhaps a salutary lesson for chains versus independents?

Room Tip: Probably isn't a good room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9scrumhalf7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

The pub is quite nice and the staff were friendly, especially the man who checked us in. The room, room 9, was very small, we aren't large people and we didn't have much room to move around. The bathroom was like a cupboard, you had to shut the door to get into the shower cubicle, it had a shower curtain which had mildew on the bottom, I reaaly don't like that. I was also disappointed that they had obviously just changed the towels on day 2 and had not cleaned as the sink and taps were still soap marked. The breakfast was good but I felt embarassed as on 2 mornings I had to go and find somebody to get refills of different items, they didn't seem to monitor things, and 1 morning they'd run out of croissants and I don't think there were that many guests staying there.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyMCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellesbourne Hastings
2.1 mi away
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall...
#1 of 1 in Wellesbourne Hastings
2,678 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
4.9 mi away
Mallory Court Hotel
Mallory Court Hotel
#2 of 16 in Leamington Spa
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#19 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,744 reviews
3.4 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
845 reviews
4.4 mi away
Days Inn Warwick North M40
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Stratford Upon Avon, Wellesbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Stratford Upon Avon, Wellesbourne

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Stratford Upon Avon, Wellesbourne
Address: Warwick Road | The Kings Head, Wellesbourne Hastings CV35 9LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Wellesbourne Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wellesbourne Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Stratford Upon Avon, Wellesbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll find this historic lodge in the charming village of Wellesbourne, surrounded by miles of green Warwickshire fields. It's handy if you're looking for accommodation in Stratford-upon-Avon or near Warwick, and is a good starting point for exploring the Cotswolds.The lodge is at a classic country inn that's been a crucial part of Wellesbourne life since the 1600s. It always offers a hearty menu of seasonally inspired pub-food, complemented by a well-chosen range of wines and cask ales.If you're relaxing in the village, why not grab a bargain at the famous Wellesbourne Market, one of the largest outdoor markets in the UK? Or head into Stratford, the historic hometown of Shakespeare, to watch a play at the recently revamped Royal Shakespeare Theatre. Warwick Castle, one of the most popular attractions in the country, is also nearby and makes for a great family day out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Stratford Upon Avon, Wellesbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper's Lodge Stratford Upon Avon, Wellesbourne Warwickshire/Wellesbourne Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing