We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Stratford Upon Avon, Wellesbourne
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice and Slick”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Lovely location and well presented I was not disappointed by this place. Check in was prompt, room spacious, clean and free WiFi which is a must. Staff polite, attentive although very busy they appeared over worked and struggled to keep up with the numbers at times. Food was of good standard although cannot comment in breakfast as I left before it started. That is the only thing that Innkeepers lodges needs to introduce, breakfast from 06:30am. Overall, good stay.

Room Tip: Stayed in room one
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nonnie2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Stratford Upon Avon, Wellesbourne, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for posting your kind review about your visit toThe Kings Head, Innkeeper's Lodge, Stratford Upon Avon on Trip Advisor. It is our aim to give every customer the very best service and experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    23
    21
    6
    6
See reviews for
18
37
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

on arrival at the hotel, was met by Lee a manager here and nothing was to much trouble, even came in on his day off to follow things up with head office after a poor experience at a sister hotel at coleshill,

Lee you were fantastic and put all our troubles behind us.

A big thankyou to you and your team.

Lovely fresh flowers in public areas nice staff and great clean hotel

WELL DONE

Room Tip: As long as Lee is here you will be assured of a great stay. A bench mark for all inkeepers lodges...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CelticPeople1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Stratford Upon Avon, Wellesbourne, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your positive review following your recent visit. We are passionate about getting it right and your feedback will help us to achieve this aim. We really hope you will visit us again and we have sent you a personal reply. Innkeeper's Lodge Stratford upon Avon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
160 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

My Girlfriend and I, and my Mother stayed at the King's Head on Saturday March 22nd, and had a lovely stay there. Check in was smooth and we were given clear instructions on how to find our rooms, and Bar/Restaurant opening times from the friendly guy from Dudley.
My Mothers room was small, but clean and comfortable, and she loved the view overlooking the Church, at the rear of the Hotel.
Our room was at the front of the Hotel, and was more spacious. The rooms had ample tea & coffee facilities, flat screen tele, hairdryer and shower/hand gel.
We had a couple of drinks in the bar before getting ready for the evening meal, which we had pre-booked.
A pint of Carling and a double Sailor Jerry's Rum & diet coke came to just over £7, reasonably priced for a Hotel.
The same guy who checked us in served us, and even remembered what we had had previously when we ordered our 2nd drink.
The pub and restaurant area is lovely with different types of seating and cosy armchairs, and some tables were candlelit. It's a nice relaxing place.
We also liked the idea of the key fob system to gain access to the rooms, this made us feel safe there.
We had a table booked for 7.30pm and we were given a nice table, as requested.
Again, the guy from Dudley served us, and what was unique is that he memorized our order, without noting it down, and he got it spot on.
Service was quick and the staff were attentive, but not intrusive.
The food was quite nice.
The gammon I had was spot on, with hardly any rind, and I was even allowed an extra egg, as I don't like Pineapple. There was a really good choice of unique desserts, I had the Peanut Butter Cheesecake, and it was very well presented, although just a tad too rich.
We had a bottle of champagne, which was nice and not as pricey as some at £43 a bottle.
The bar shuts at 11pm, which we did find strange, as most pubs serve till 12, and some have a residents licence, but we were informed of the opening times at check in, and appreciated the extra hours sleep.
The bed was comfortable and we slept well, and we didn't hear any noise throughout the evening.
Breakfast was nicely laid out, continental self service buffet style, with a good choice of breads, croissants, muffins, cereals, fruit, tea, coffee, juices and water.
We also paid extra for the full English option which was nice.
The Hotel offers free Wifi through O2, but even though I registered for it, and it logged me on, the service wouldn't work for me, either in the public areas or bedroom.
The staff were friendly at the Kings Head, especially the guy from Dudley, who we believe may have been called Lee. You can tell he enjoys his job, and he made us feel at ease during our stay.
We would definitely stay at the Kings Head again, should we be in the area.
Thanks for a nice relaxing stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjm24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Stratford Upon Avon, Wellesbourne, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The King's Head, Innkeeper's Lodge Stratford On Avon and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My wife & I stayed there for 2 nights, 2 nights too many! We booked the place on their "winter saver offer". Upon meeting the manageress at reception when we arrived I looked at her & just knew she was no good, we did the papers then she gave me the instructions to the room, up the stairs, across the landing, down some stairs, across the landing & up some stairs. As she was telling me this I looked at her & her look enforced my original thought of her-no good! Immediately I said to myself, we have the worst room in their house as we booked on "their" special offer! The room was freezing, no one bothered to put the radiator on low to take the chill out of the air, the room itself was ok ish but noisy. During the early evening the room was noisier & it seemed we were near/above the "engine" room. By 9pm I believe there was a washing machine on followed by what we assumed to be a tumble drier, sadly it was not. The noise was a deep humming noise that went on all night!!! We slept about 4 hours & only because we were drained. I saw a housekeeper in the morning & requested a room change, she said she will inform the manager/ess. Sometime later she came back & said a room change is on for later, I expected to hear from the manager/ess! The thing was that the place was not full & they know that room to be a nuisance, so really they put us there intentionally. We went out that day absolutely tired & the day was a drag, we stayed out just 4 hours that was mostly arguing with each other due to tiredness!
The room we moved into was just another disaster, this time no hot water, none in bathroom taps or shower, another trip downstairs, all told about the 7th! The morning we checked out, as we were putting the bags in the car the manager walked past us & did not even say bye!
The sad truth is that not once did the manager/ess even bother to apologise, we never even saw them, one would have thought they would offer a drink, or maybe even a meal as I believe that was warranted. In effect we paid to have people amuse themselves at our expense!
What made it worse for us was that we had been on the road for 25 nights & this was our 9th accommodation & the trip was ending on our 2nd anniversary! It was a sad ending to what was a good road trip.

Room Tip: choose somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MUTUWALA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Stratford Upon Avon, Wellesbourne, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
May we take this opportunity to thank you for raising these issues with us. We always aim to learn through the feedback we receive, and we have replied to you personally about this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wellesbourne Hastings hotels

Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stopped three nights. Warm & comfortable room, comp shower gel plus daily towel change.
Good food in the large restaurant (used disc voucher to keep price reasonable). Buffet breakfasts OK but small variety of fruit.
Would stop again if in area.

Room Tip: Room at back good. No idea about front rooms but main road quite close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breezyZommerzet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Stratford Upon Avon, Wellesbourne, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thank you for your kind review. All the staff here find it very encouraging to see feedback, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the experience when you visited us recently. We would love you to visit again, and have replied to you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Having read some of the review was a little concerned about the level of service and quality of food. Needn't have worried. We were staying close by and needed somewhere for Saturday evening to eat. The food was really good and the service was excellent, the staff were so helpful and friendly. We were so impressed we went back again on Sunday

Room Tip: Didn't stay in the hotel just went for a meal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Stratford Upon Avon, Wellesbourne, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Your kind recommendation means a lot to us here at The Kings Head, Wellesbourne, and we are so glad to hear that your visit was a positive one. We have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Have just returned home from the Innkeepers' Lodge having spent two nights there along with my husband, son and daughter-in-law, so had the benefit of seeing two rooms. Both were completely different in size and layout, but that is the charm of such an old building.
We really couldn't fault anything; the staff were friendly, polite and helpful, the bar prices were reasonable, the meal on Thursday evening was lovely (could recommend the fish pie and the steak pie), the rooms were clean and comfortable with plenty of towels which were changed daily and the offer of complementary toothbrushes or other items if you had forgotten yours was a nice touch.
Naomi appeared to have everything well organised and was extremely hard working, also she went out of her way to help us with directions.
The continental breakfast was a real spread ; cereals, cold milk and fruit juices, different rolls and bread, fresh fruit and yogurts etc., excellent.
We would most certainly recommend a stay at the Innkeeper's Lodge, especially if you are visiting friends or family at the near-by Army base as it is only 15 minutes away.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian1952_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Stratford Upon Avon, Wellesbourne, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you found The Kings Head, Innkeeper's Lodge, Stratford Upon Avon a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellesbourne Hastings
2.1 mi away
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall...
#1 of 1 in Wellesbourne Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,657 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
4.7 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
4.6 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#18 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Stratford Upon Avon, Wellesbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Stratford Upon Avon, Wellesbourne

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Stratford Upon Avon, Wellesbourne
Address: Warwick Road | The Kings Head, Wellesbourne Hastings CV35 9LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Wellesbourne Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wellesbourne Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Stratford Upon Avon, Wellesbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll find this historic lodge in the charming village of Wellesbourne, surrounded by miles of green Warwickshire fields. It's handy if you're looking for accommodation in Stratford-upon-Avon or near Warwick, and is a good starting point for exploring the Cotswolds.The lodge is at a classic country inn that's been a crucial part of Wellesbourne life since the 1600s. It always offers a hearty menu of seasonally inspired pub-food, complemented by a well-chosen range of wines and cask ales.If you're relaxing in the village, why not grab a bargain at the famous Wellesbourne Market, one of the largest outdoor markets in the UK? Or head into Stratford, the historic hometown of Shakespeare, to watch a play at the recently revamped Royal Shakespeare Theatre. Warwick Castle, one of the most popular attractions in the country, is also nearby and makes for a great family day out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Stratford Upon Avon, Wellesbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper's Lodge Stratford Upon Avon, Wellesbourne Warwickshire/Wellesbourne Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing