We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful B&B with lots of character” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Austons Down

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Austons Down
Ranked #1 of 1 Claverdon B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B with lots of character”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Absolutely gorgeous character property with excellent service and great hospitality. I enjoyed my night stay and the breakfast was really good too. I would advice anyone to make an effort to visit this B&B especially if you are looking for a quiet break out of the city.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smoula01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy H, Owner at Austons Down, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
Thank you for yor comments. I am glad we were able to make your stay enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
26
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

We run an award-winning B&B ourselves, so set the bar quite high when visiting others - it's much easier to find fault than to praise. You can therefore imagine our frustration when we found that, in some key respects, Austen Downs was better than we were. Some of it we can't worry about; it is a really lovely house, in beautiful surroundings, with large comfortable, well-equipped rooms, and - in ours at least - an awesome bath. Also there's something about a proper walk-in dressing room that just sets the right tone.

More difficult were the breakfasts. We win breakfast awards, and know about a good breakfast. Lucy Horner's breakfasts, however, left us scrabbling in the dust. The eggs Benedict were perfection incarnate, as were the home-made apple juice and the carefully thought-out breakfast presentation. The "nothing's a problem" service approach was great, and at least matches what we try to do.

In fact the whole hosting approach - as attentive, friendly and helpful as you could want, without becoming in any way intrusive - was, in my opinion, as good as it gets and (I hope) pretty much what we try to do ourselves.

AHA! I've thought of something that could be better! The room booklet and tourist information could be more informative and better-presented! I didn't even try to use WiFi at first, because I found no mention of it anywhere. Of course, when I did try, it was, like everything else, absolutely fine.

We had a splendid stay, and would love to return.

Room Tip: Ours had a GREAT bath - if that's your thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill and Rupert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy H, Owner at Austons Down, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
Thank you so much. We have just been renovating the bathrooms and I hope you would think them an improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

We spent our wedding night there and it's definitely the best place we stayed in so far, it's reasonably cheap for what you're getting and no other hotel we've been to can compare. Also, there's a nice bath!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy H, Owner at Austons Down, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Very glad you had a good experience on your first night together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

Very comfortable, delicious breakfast and welcoming hosts. What more could you want from a b&b?

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pips_in_charge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy H, Owner at Austons Down, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Thank you! We hope we will always offer somewhere comfortable for people to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

Stayed recently overnight and had not only a warm welcome but comfortable night and a great breakfast in the morning. Will be going back. Recommend The Red Lion for an evening meal.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy H, Owner at Austons Down, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Thank you. We have just worked out how to repsond to reviews! Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claverdon
1.5 mi away
Ardencote
Ardencote
#1 of 1 in Claverdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
4.9 mi away
Castle Limes Hotel
Castle Limes Hotel
#2 of 13 in Warwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Warwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Mallory Court Hotel
Mallory Court Hotel
#1 of 18 in Leamington Spa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bridge House
Bridge House
#3 of 3 in Henley-in-Arden
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austons Down? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austons Down

Property: Austons Down
Address: Saddle Bow Lane, Claverdon CV35 8PQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Claverdon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Claverdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Austons Down 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Austons Down Bed and Breakfast is a modern Queen Anne style family home set in 100 acres of the Arden special landscape area.Situated 25 minutes from NEC and 10 minutes each from Shakespeare’s Stratford upon Avon and historic Warwick the accommodation is ideal for visitors to the Midlands area of UK.National Trust members will find many historic houses in close proximity and Nasby, Edgehill and Bosworth battlefields are within reachThere are many beautiful walks just a step from the front door, whilst Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwick Castle, Kenilworth Castle and NEC are only a short drive away. Visitors can walk around the farm and inspect the flock of Jacobs Sheep, horses and chickens in the pasture surrounding the house.Classic car enthusiasts will find a warm welcome and easy access to Gaydon Heritage centre, National Motorcycle Museum, Coventry Motor Museum and Stratford Armouries.Available for the business traveler as well as the holiday visitor Austons Down B&B offers a warm welcome in a relaxed family home that has been awarded a Silver Accolade from Visit Britain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Booking.com so you can book your Austons Down reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austons Down Warwickshire/Claverdon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing