We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theatre stop over.”
Review of The Pykkerell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pykkerell
Ranked #2 of 3 Ixworth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We only stayed one night but wished we had had time for more.
This beautiful Medieval building, exceeded our expectations.
The standard of the pub, restaurant, accommodation and service was second to none.
Lovely spacious room, with all mod cons. Room 2.
Food in the restaurant was of high quality, locally sourced.
And a fine selection of real ale's.
I would recommend The Pykkerell Inn as one not to be missed, if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jilly103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

The Pykkerell has a welcoming, comfortable atmosphere from the moment you walk in, which continues until you leave. The rooms are large, spotlessly clean and comfortable. We stayed in room 5 and our friends in room 1. Both were tastefully decorated in keeping with the hotel, tea and coffee making facilities, large TV and WiFi. It is a locals pub and the bar had an excellent atmosphere before dinner. The restaurant is popular so you need to book a table. Breakfast has a wide choice to suit everyone, from full English to cereal and toast. Excellent value.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

As this was a last minute decision, previous reviews were important in making our decision and we found toour delight a choice well made.From the moment we arrived at the inn we were treated to great two night stay. Immediately on arrival we were shown to room number 5 by the owner who at tahe same time arranged a table for dinner for us latter that evening. The room itself was large and in immaculate order, with trouser press coffee and tea making facilities etc and a very large TV. Dinner was of excellant value serived in a social enviroment, together with breakfast which was of good proportions. Altogether a great stay where service seems to be important to everyone involved with the inn. Would highly recommend this establishment to everyone.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank john n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Read the reviews and I must say it all lived up to all the hyperbole! Sadly Old coaching Inns like this are getting harder and harder to find. This place has it all - loads of history, bags of character, friendly helpful staff, great food at non-scary prices and offers a really comfy nights sleep - What more could you want?

Thanks to everyone for making it a fabulous stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We came across this Inn while looking for pet friendly hotels near Ipswich....and what a find! Firstly the absolute bargain price...but a top class place to stay. Really clean, comfortable, everything looked newly decorated and stylish. We ate in the bar from the restaurant menu and this was delicious. We don't often write reviews,but this deserved it.

Room Tip: We had a back room which had some noise from the court yard but lovely sunshine first thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellingsue15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed recently at the Pykkerell Inn with our two boys - what a great place. Friendly and with great food and drink, Steve and the team really made us welcome. Lovely warming fire and space....which for 2 full on boys was great. Will definitely be back. Matt P and family

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

recommended by a friend. went for lunch lovely historic pub quiet excellent discreet service food cooked to perfection and a real good feel.The menu had good choices and was locally sourced.Portions were great I suggest you go hungry.The only gripe from a personal health view the chair was hard but I will return and take a cushion.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petersparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixworth
5.8 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
510 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,233 reviews
5.8 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
#10 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurston
264 reviews
2.2 mi away
Six Bells Inn
Six Bells Inn
#1 of 1 in Bardwell
129 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Den
The Den
#3 of 3 in Ixworth
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pykkerell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pykkerell

Address: 38 High Street, Ixworth, Bury St Edmunds IP31 2HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds > Ixworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ixworth
Price Range: £77 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pykkerell 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your The Pykkerell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pykkerell Ixworth, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing