We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ixworth House
Nearby Hotels
US$67
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Priory Hotel(Bury St Edmunds)(Great Value!)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
All Saints Hotel(Bury St Edmunds)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Angel Hotel(Bury St Edmunds)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Ipswich Stowmarket Hotel(Stowmarket)(Great Value!)
US$52
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Bell Hotel(Thetford)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
118
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
118
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjohn and sharynperfect hostsfresh fruitbeautiful housefull englishon arrivalprevious reviews saywarm welcomepeaceful staycomfortable bedlovely selectionbreakfast was deliciousset us up for the dayhot drinksno hesitation in recommendingfeel so welcomedefinitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We had searched for some time to find accomodation that was close to our son's home in Ixworth as we have to travel some two and a half hours from Berkshire to visit his family.

We have stayed at Ixworth House a few times now but its more like staying with friends, Sharyn & John are the most welcoming hosts you could possibly find. Ixworth House is a delightful large Edwardian home that has been tastefully refurbished to a very high standard. The bedrooms, we always have No 2, are extreamly well fitted with superb en-suite bathrooms. The breakfasts are wonderfully cooked by Sharyn and served by John. We have stayed in top hotels around the world but have never felt so welcome as we do at Ixworth House. What more can we say!

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent. One has a bath the other two have showers. The house is in a quiet cul de sac and there is no noise at any time
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I know the title seems a cliche, but it really is the very best way in which to sum up a stay at ixworth house, I have written lots of honest and fair reviews, but seldom have I had such a pleasure in reviewing somewhere to stay.
We stayed at ixworth house sadly only for 1 night on the 2/3/13, and it really is hard to describe how perfect our stay was. I booked by telephone the day before, and the call was taken by john, who explained about the rooms, and the facilities in each, I chose room 3 which had a roll top bath, with a shower over too. We duly arrived on Saturday to be greeted with the most perfect welcome, one which made you instantly feel like you were visiting old friends again. John showed us to our room, but not before offering us a pot of tea, we went to the room to drop off our bags, and all I can say is, you will not stay in a cleaner, and more perfect room anywhere, including a 5* hotel. The decor is the newly refurbished room was tasteful, and perfect for such a grand Edwardian home, the en suite was stunning, and both the rooms are full of original features.
We then went back down the amazing staircase to be greeted by john with tea in hand, and a choice of biscuits to accompany our cuppa, this was our first stay here, yet we were made to feel like we were coming home. On arrival back later that evening we were greeted again by john, our charming host, and also by Sharyn our other lovely host, john wife. Again the welcome received was amazing, and after a small chat, we retired to rest our heads, the bed was supremely comfortable, and the duvet cried out for you to envelop yourself in its warmness. The next morning after a thoroughly perfect nights sleep, we made our way down to the beautiful breakfast room, there was a gorgeous log fire, and a vast array of fresh fruit, yogurts, fruit juices, cereal, to choose from, john then took our order, a full English, with choice of toast, and on the table were fresh homemade preserves to spoil us further. The breakfast at ixworth house, was perfect, simple as that, and would befit restaurant and would shine proud. When we checked it was like saying farewell to dear friends, of which I hope we are now, and cannot wait to revisit. If you are staying in the bury st edmunds area, you will not better ixworth house, and at £80 for a night with breakfast you will not get better value anywhere around. I hope you take us up on this recommendation, you will never regret it, and will want to revisit whenever your in the area.

A big thank you to both john and Sharyn, for all you did. And john I'm reading your book with interest, and cannot wait for the show.

From new friends, neil and katrina.

Room Tip: Room 3 has an amazing original roll top bath, perfect for unwinding in.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neil w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Don't hesitate, just go!
5* luxury hotel standard. Super,starched squeaky clean and recently refurbished.
Crackling open fire in lounge and breakfast room. Fabulous breakfast with all the right touches and extras,fresh,fruit,preserves.
Hosts very helpful with advice and local knowledge.
Highly recommended and would return.

Room Tip: Room 3 has divine decor ,luxurious rolltop bath and powerful shower.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

A superb B&B experience. Great hosts, wonderful house - within easy reach of Cambridge and Bury - and attention to detail is excellent. Our room was stylish but relaxed and importantly for us, child friendly, with a child-friendly welcome from our hosts, which is unusual for a B&B. The breakfast was very good. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We were due to attend a function at the Leaping Hare and the snowy conditions in January led to a last minute decision to look for accommodation in the area to avoid the drive home late at night. Well, what a good decision that turned out to be!!

From my first phone call to Sharyn, she and John couldn’t have been more helpful, friendly and welcoming. Their house is truly beautiful and our room was very spacious with a lovely en-suite. Breakfast was a real treat with an open fire crackling away and a good choice of cereals, fresh fruit and of course a full English and chatting with our friendly hosts was very pleasant. With two pubs and a good restaurant in the village I really don’t think that you could do better if you are looking for accommodation in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews