We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (485)
Filter reviews
485 results
Traveller rating
391
70
10
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
391
70
10
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafrica roomchampagne roomfresh milkthe pubsomerset countrysiderain showergreat bathroomopen firesunday lunchwalk in showerfish and chipslittle touchescooked to perfectionpuddingwarm welcomefollowing morningfantastic stay
Filter
Updating list...
328 - 333 of 485 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

An amazing place to stay with welcoming staff and wonderful food. We were advised to book for dinner which we did although we didnt think we would need to as it was a Thursday evening. How pleased we did, as the restaurant was full - which says a lot about the menu and quality. The room was well thought out and was spotlessly clean and very warm. The decor of the Inn leaves nothing to be desired and we will certainly return again - hopefully in the not too distant future. Very good value for money.
Thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taniai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I spotted the Holcombe Inn in a magazine I was reading. It didn't disappoint. My sister and I stayed for 2 nights - we didn't actually venture away. Simply ate great food, played scrabble and read the newspaper sat on the comfortable sofa (I was so cosy on the sofa, I've since been out and bought one just like it!) The individual rooms showed attention to detail (a cafetiere with filter coffee); service in the restaurant was second to none. We relaxed, rejuvenated and would recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My brother highly recommended The Holcombe Inn as he has stayed a few times before and Jules Melissa and her staff looked after us so well the whole weekend. Nothing as too much trouble and as there was a party of 33 of us it was quite a big event.
Everything from the setting of the Inn, the interiors, the happy welcoming faces and beautifully prepared food was of absolute excellence.
I'd not hesitate to recommend The Holcombe Inn to anyone, whether just for dinner or an over night stay.
We will definitely be returning soon. Thank you/

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This was an amazing find by some friends who we wanted to meet half way between Devon and Bucks.We arrived at 4 pm to be greeted by a charming smiling receptionist who showed us to our room and brought some fresh milk so we could enjoy a much needed cup of tea in our room....and what a lovely room! Every comfort and beautiful decorations in a cool blue and green.
Everything worked apart from one bedside light which turned out not to have a bulb. However, husband went and asked if he could have one and one was produced immediately.
Dinner was as good as the room.delicious food and we were not hurried at all so perfect place to chat to friends. Finally back to our room for the best night's sleep for ages.
We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We had "Tiffany"
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hagarmiltonkeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Great food and ambiance in a wonderful part of the world. We were so lucky to find this on trip advisor and it didn't disappoint in any way. The food is really e cel lent and the service couldn't be faulted.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews