We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A splendid lunch”
Review of The Holcombe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Holcombe Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Holcombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Having relied on GPS to find this place and suffered the spiral consequences, I was well and truly ready for a bit of pampering with some excellent food. I was not disappointed.The food, service and atmosphere were all very good indeed and I can whole-heartedly recommend all 3.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Bob_Chalmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

In the middle of nowhere (check the sat nav) a hidden gem. Good welcome, good service, cracking food (Somerset Pork) and the Orchard pig cider on draught,
The room is beautiful with lovely views over the adjacent hills, should be done in the Summer. Can't fault it,
The **ob head who gave 1 is wasting this service.
We picked a lovely time just before Xmas and fairs in Bath, a must do weekend

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Fasbatard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

My wife and I enjoy taking a weekend break on the first weekend of December and this year we decided that we wanted to take in the city of Bath.
We chose to stay out of the city in a country pub and chose the Holcombe Inn.

We could not have chosen a better place for our stay. On arrival we were checked in straight away although we arrived 3 hours before the official check in time.

We chose the Champagne Room for our stay that was fantastic. The room was spotless and the facilities first rate..

The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was great with a large bath and seperate shower cubicle.

We stayed for 2 nights and chose to eat there on both evenings.

The menu was extensive and the quality of the food was superb, no wonder that they appear in the Michelin Pub Guide. Prices were very reasonable for the standard of dining.

I would have no hesitation in going back again and will be recommending the Holcombe Inn to all of our friends

My overall impression was that this is a great place to stay and that the staff were so friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcfrobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I have stayed at a few country pubs-hotels in the area, and some seem to have good reviews, but just are not that good. The Holcombe Inn is different. it really is a great place to stay. Some money has been spent on the decor. The rooms are actually large - surprising for the area. The service is mostly very good (though not great on a Sunday in the restaurant we found); the bar has a wonderful atmosphere, a great place to relax and read. Overall, it's a very good place to stay, and the food is also pretty good. And the location - wonderful, in the middle of nowhere, with views over open fields on a quiet backroad with no traffic.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Apuldram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Just got back from a 1 night stay at this amazing hotel. I've never reviewed a hotel before but this place has made me write my first.

From the moment we entered the hotel we were made at home. We stayed in the Pemberley room and it was breathtaking. Everything about it was perfect.

The food in the restaurant is stunning and faultless in every way. My wife even said her meal was the best she has ever had and we have eaten in some very good restaurants over the years.

No wonder this hotel has 5 stars, its worth all of them.

If you get chance to visit the Holcombe Inn as you will not be disappointed. We certainly will be coming back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisRowley79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

During our recent trip back to visit family in the UK, we spent a wonderful evening at the Holcombe Inn.

Our stay cannot be faulted. Great welcome, great service and fabulous food. Our two children loved it, too, especially the English breakfast!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sealsFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My husband booked The Holcombe Inn for 2 nights alongside a little shopping trip! It was an absolutely fantastic find. All of the staff were friendly and helpful both on reception and at the bar. Nothing was too much trouble. Only 30 minutes from Bath and Clark's village location is good.

We stayed in the Pemberly which was immaculate and so comfortable with a lovely freestanding bath which was huge.

We ate in the restaurant both evenings and with a wide range of meals to choose from there was no need to look anywhere else to eat. The staff knew which room we were in so we could just order food and drink without having to give our room each time.

Without doubt we will be back and I would say don't hesitate to book a stay or a meal here. Fantastic!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holcombe
3.7 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
710 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Redan Inn
The Redan Inn
#1 of 4 in Radstock
76 reviews
2.5 mi away
Oakhill Inn
Oakhill Inn
#1 of 2 in Oakhill
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holcombe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holcombe Inn

Address: Stratton Road | Holcombe, Holcombe BA3 5EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Holcombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Holcombe
Price Range: £84 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Holcombe Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please Call us directly for Best Prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Holcombe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holcombe Hotel Somerset
The Holcombe Inn Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing