We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (477)
Filter reviews
479 results
Traveller rating
388
68
10
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
388
68
10
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafrica roomchampagne roomfresh milkthe pubroast beefsomerset countrysidereal alesunday lunchrain showergreat bathroomopen firewalk in showercooked to perfectionlittle touchespuddingfish and chipslovely weekend
Filter
Updating list...
304 - 309 of 479 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed at The Holcombe Inn for valentines weekend. Despite the hotel being a little bit out of the way, it was worth the journey. Our room was stunning (we stayed in the Rococo room) and the staff were very attentive, helpful and polite. We would definitely come back, possibly just to stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smidahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We were recommended to eat here, so gave it a try. We booked a table as it was a Friday night, and I was surprised the place was pretty empty. The menu loked very expensive forwhat is essentially a pub. A designer pub, admittedly, with tasteful pastel painted wainscotting..... But not a lavishly decorated ritzy venue.

The starters looked expensive, and we thought twice, but are glad we went ahead. Delicious, perfect presentation and good portions for a starter. We shared the starters, and all were excellent (crab fritters, chicken vol au vent, fried cheese).

The main courses were not a patch. I had steak and chips for £22, and I've had much much better for half the money. The steak itself was below par; stringy/full of sinew and far too chewy. The chips tasted stale and reheated. Possibly frozen. I did leave most of my dinner, the waiter almost asked me if anything was wrong, but managed to bite his lip just in time.

The local beer was also not great, and it was probably this that had me on the loo all next morning after a single pint. £120 for three people. What a waste of time and money. The rating here reflects the starters and value. The next night we ate at the Centurion Hotel in Midsomer Norton - a very memorable meal indeed for much better value and friendlier service.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This is our second time at the Holcombe Inn. This stay was to celebrate my husbands recent 40th birthday. Friendly check in shown to our room and provided with fresh milk to make a drink to go with the complimentary cookies awaiting our arrival. The Room was just as expected perfect the beautiful bathroom with double ended claw footed bath with just enough room for two well built adults. The staff are so welcoming and we felt instantly at home infront of open fire in the bar. The evening meal we had on the Saturday night has to be among the top rated meals myself and husband have ever eaten. Compliments to all staff and chef. Jules we cant wait to come back to your amazing little retreat.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2012audi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed again at The Holcombe Inn as we do whenever we visit our mother who lives in the village. But this time was the first as a new family. Having a 9 week old baby with us had it's own own set of challenges but we were helped at booking to choose the most appropriate room, then throughout our stay by the ever lovely Jules. I can't recommend the place highly enough. I guarantee you'll receive the warmest of welcomes, a lovely room and good food and drink.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRichens2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed here to celebrate a special birthday and we couldn't have picked a more perfect place to hide away in January. We'd seen the inn in the Sawday's guide and really liked the look of it, and it totally exceeded our expectations. The room was fabulous, the food downstaris in the restaurant was fantastic from the delicious dinner on Sat night to the full English on Sun morning, and the staff were friendly and helpful whether on reception, behind the bar or in the restaurant. All in all we had a great stay and couldn't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Africa room and loved it - the roll-top bath and wet room are gorgeous, and overall the room was comfortable, cosy, clean and spacious. If we were to change anything, we could probably have done with the room temperature a little cooler but it didn't spoil our enjoyment at all.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VisitorAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews