We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second Honeymoon :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Holcombe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Holcombe Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Holcombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Second Honeymoon :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Following the renewal of our Marriage Vows, we were looking for somewhere cosy near to Bath. Thank goodness we found this Inn... It is very classy but very welcoming and cosy too... Immaculately clean, service amazing, food fantastic.... I cannot praise it enough.. can't wait to return there someday... was very romantic but cosy for a family too... A big thank you to all the staff there... a weekend to remember... :)

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic... there is not a bad one to the best of my knowledge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holcombeinn, Owner at The Holcombe Inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Ahhhhhhh.... All staff at The Holcombe are always so boosted to receive appreciation and a thank you and even more delighted that we have succeeded in giving you a wonderfully memorable time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    57
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
87
209
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed this past weekend for one night in the Hunters room and we both had a really lovely time. The room was well presented, clean and the hotel had taken the time to focus on the little touches. Our meal was really good too, big portions and incredibly good quality. There was a lovely atmosphere too. The staff were great and we really liked the big sofas in front of the fire whilst playing scrabble. I would really recommend this place if you don't want to stay in central bath.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarahb707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed at The Holcombe Inn for valentines weekend. Despite the hotel being a little bit out of the way, it was worth the journey. Our room was stunning (we stayed in the Rococo room) and the staff were very attentive, helpful and polite. We would definitely come back, possibly just to stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smidahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We were recommended to eat here, so gave it a try. We booked a table as it was a Friday night, and I was surprised the place was pretty empty. The menu loked very expensive forwhat is essentially a pub. A designer pub, admittedly, with tasteful pastel painted wainscotting..... But not a lavishly decorated ritzy venue.

The starters looked expensive, and we thought twice, but are glad we went ahead. Delicious, perfect presentation and good portions for a starter. We shared the starters, and all were excellent (crab fritters, chicken vol au vent, fried cheese).

The main courses were not a patch. I had steak and chips for £22, and I've had much much better for half the money. The steak itself was below par; stringy/full of sinew and far too chewy. The chips tasted stale and reheated. Possibly frozen. I did leave most of my dinner, the waiter almost asked me if anything was wrong, but managed to bite his lip just in time.

The local beer was also not great, and it was probably this that had me on the loo all next morning after a single pint. £120 for three people. What a waste of time and money. The rating here reflects the starters and value. The next night we ate at the Centurion Hotel in Midsomer Norton - a very memorable meal indeed for much better value and friendlier service.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

This is our second time at the Holcombe Inn. This stay was to celebrate my husbands recent 40th birthday. Friendly check in shown to our room and provided with fresh milk to make a drink to go with the complimentary cookies awaiting our arrival. The Room was just as expected perfect the beautiful bathroom with double ended claw footed bath with just enough room for two well built adults. The staff are so welcoming and we felt instantly at home infront of open fire in the bar. The evening meal we had on the Saturday night has to be among the top rated meals myself and husband have ever eaten. Compliments to all staff and chef. Jules we cant wait to come back to your amazing little retreat.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2012audi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed again at The Holcombe Inn as we do whenever we visit our mother who lives in the village. But this time was the first as a new family. Having a 9 week old baby with us had it's own own set of challenges but we were helped at booking to choose the most appropriate room, then throughout our stay by the ever lovely Jules. I can't recommend the place highly enough. I guarantee you'll receive the warmest of welcomes, a lovely room and good food and drink.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRichens2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed here to celebrate a special birthday and we couldn't have picked a more perfect place to hide away in January. We'd seen the inn in the Sawday's guide and really liked the look of it, and it totally exceeded our expectations. The room was fabulous, the food downstaris in the restaurant was fantastic from the delicious dinner on Sat night to the full English on Sun morning, and the staff were friendly and helpful whether on reception, behind the bar or in the restaurant. All in all we had a great stay and couldn't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Africa room and loved it - the roll-top bath and wet room are gorgeous, and overall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VisitorAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holcombe
4.9 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
3.7 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
17.6 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
8.1 mi away
The House near Bath
The House near Bath
#1 of 1 in Woolverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holcombe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holcombe Inn

Property: The Holcombe Inn
Address: Stratton Road | Holcombe, Holcombe BA3 5EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Holcombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Holcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Holcombe Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please Call us directly for Best Prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Holcombe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holcombe Hotel Somerset
The Holcombe Inn Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing