We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine quality stay”
Review of The Holcombe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Holcombe Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Holcombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fine quality stay”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The Holcombe Inn is a wonderful place to eat and stay. We had a lovely experience, and I really want the team to take my comments as positive suggestions. But I have a few thoughts to share...

We walked the new railway trail from Bath. It's a stiff 16 mile walk, and we'd booked the Holcombe Inn just a few days before. But it's a shame that guests, not just us but others, were offered restaurant times nothing earlier than 20:30. The place is popular, and the food is superb, so I can understand that first-come-first-served is fair - but no-one said at the time we booked that it'd be seriously competitive to get a table! It'd be fair to assume that guests want one...

So, the evening food? Outstanding. We both had "pies and fries". The steak and ale pie was unimprovable - meaty, tight, crisp. Excellent.

The room? Comfortable, warm - excellent tea/coffee facilities, and home-made cookies to keep us going 'til dinner...

Breakfast? Hmm...

A bit of an after-thought. The Full-English was as good as anywhere. But I want to be offered fresh fruit compote, yoghurt, cereal, porridge, strong coffee, croissants, wholemeal toast (not bread from a factory). None seemed to be available. In particular - the UK's coffee culture has changed hugely in five years; we now expect to be offered choices. For me, a place that takes its coffee seriously, is a place to be embraced.

Summary: There's a large investment gone into the guest rooms, so I think the guests need to be ranked a little higher in the priorities.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holcombeinn, Owner at The Holcombe Inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and for your suggestions. I have found that not everyone wants to be asked if they would like dinner in the restaurant on booking, some people find it pushy so what we do instead is make sure our guests are always reserved a table and then if things are getting too tight on bookings, we may ask and explain why. We cannot serve every dinner guest at the same time and our regular customers who come every week are equally as important as our valued guests who stay. Guests who stay are often visiting family in the area, going to a wedding very often or decide to visit the nearby cities so we do not assume all want dinner at The Holcombe, although of course delighted when they do!

We value your thoughts on breakfast, we serve cafitiere coffee at breakfast but are always happy to do cappuccino, latte, hot chocolate, Americano etc. We are planning a "coffee bar" this year when staff will be barrista trained so it is on the cards! I agree with you about coffee so we intend to take it seriously and develop in that department. Fruit, cereals, porridge, pancakes, salmon eggs cooked all ways, full English, porridge cakes (our home made speciality) is all available for breakfast. any other requests... just let us know
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    59
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
88
211
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I stayed at he Holcombe Inn this month on business. The greeting was warm and they managed to provide me with a new toothbrush & toothpaste as I had left mine at home. I am a chef & found the menu appealing on many levels. It was sophisticated and completely delivered my expectations from the menu descriptions. The room was comfy &the bathroom clean & modern. The breakfast too was well executed (recommend the porridge cakes) it was the best complete stay I've had to date. (it was cheaper than the Best Western too)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FOfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holcombeinn, Owner at The Holcombe Inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your review and very pleased dinner exceeded your expectations as a chef, commendation indeed. Hope to see you again on your next business trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We booked a stay at the Holcombe Inn for a Valentines Day break. From the first moment we walked into the pub we were warmly welcomed by the staff and also the log fires, which were well received on a stormy day! We were personally shown to our room, Africa, which was fantastic and unlike any room we have stayed in before. One of the great things about this pub is that all rooms are different so you feel like you are getting a unique experience. The owners had shown attention to detail with lovely little touches such as rose petals on the towels and chocolate heart sweets.

We had a couple of drinks in the bar prior to our evening meal. It would be good if there were more tables for those wishing to have pre drinks, although not sure there is enough space to facilitate this. Range of drinks is great, and good to be able to have champagne by the glass as a treat on Valentines Day.

There was a great choice of food on a special Valentines menu. We enjoyed our starters of scallops and braised pig cheek, delicious. Unfortunately the same cannot be said for the main course of duck with cassoulet sauce, not very tasty due to the masses of cassoulet sauce which didn't compliment the duck in our opinion. The desserts were lovely. The staff were friendly and reasonably attentive but could have asked how our meals were.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tashter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holcombeinn, Owner at The Holcombe Inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review, I apologise for the delayed response, we have had a busy few months with a few lovely new developments at The Holcombe Inn.
Valentines night is always incredibly busy with every table booked, even our bar tables so I apologise that on this night there wasn't one free.
Overall, It seems you had a lovely stay so we look forward to possibly welcoming you again one day, perhaps when its a little quieter so that you can enjoy all areas including our stunning gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Following the renewal of our Marriage Vows, we were looking for somewhere cosy near to Bath. Thank goodness we found this Inn... It is very classy but very welcoming and cosy too... Immaculately clean, service amazing, food fantastic.... I cannot praise it enough.. can't wait to return there someday... was very romantic but cosy for a family too... A big thank you to all the staff there... a weekend to remember... :)

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic... there is not a bad one to the best of my knowledge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holcombeinn, Owner at The Holcombe Inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Ahhhhhhh.... All staff at The Holcombe are always so boosted to receive appreciation and a thank you and even more delighted that we have succeeded in giving you a wonderfully memorable time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed this past weekend for one night in the Hunters room and we both had a really lovely time. The room was well presented, clean and the hotel had taken the time to focus on the little touches. Our meal was really good too, big portions and incredibly good quality. There was a lovely atmosphere too. The staff were great and we really liked the big sofas in front of the fire whilst playing scrabble. I would really recommend this place if you don't want to stay in central bath.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarahb707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed at The Holcombe Inn for valentines weekend. Despite the hotel being a little bit out of the way, it was worth the journey. Our room was stunning (we stayed in the Rococo room) and the staff were very attentive, helpful and polite. We would definitely come back, possibly just to stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smidahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We were recommended to eat here, so gave it a try. We booked a table as it was a Friday night, and I was surprised the place was pretty empty. The menu loked very expensive forwhat is essentially a pub. A designer pub, admittedly, with tasteful pastel painted wainscotting..... But not a lavishly decorated ritzy venue.

The starters looked expensive, and we thought twice, but are glad we went ahead. Delicious, perfect presentation and good portions for a starter. We shared the starters, and all were excellent (crab fritters, chicken vol au vent, fried cheese).

The main courses were not a patch. I had steak and chips for £22, and I've had much much better for half the money. The steak itself was below par; stringy/full of sinew and far too chewy. The chips tasted stale and reheated. Possibly frozen. I did leave most of my dinner, the waiter almost asked me if anything was wrong, but managed to bite his lip just in time.

The local beer was also not great, and it was probably this that had me on the loo all next morning after a single pint. £120 for three people. What a waste of time and money. The rating here reflects the starters and value. The next night we ate at the Centurion Hotel in Midsomer Norton - a very memorable meal indeed for much better value and friendlier service.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holcombe
4.8 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
3.7 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
17.6 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
8.1 mi away
The House near Bath
The House near Bath
#1 of 1 in Woolverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holcombe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holcombe Inn

Property: The Holcombe Inn
Address: Stratton Road | Holcombe, Holcombe BA3 5EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Holcombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Holcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Holcombe Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please Call us directly for Best Prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your The Holcombe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holcombe Hotel Somerset
The Holcombe Inn Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing