We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real unusual little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The House near Bath
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Woolverton
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A real unusual little gem”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here for 1 night this week and what a find! Mike and Rowena were welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. They had upgraded us to a superior room and given us a choice of 2 to pick from ourselves, they even gave us a tour of the whole place to show us their renovation work. All their furniture is beautiful sold wood indian/asian influenced pieces which add character and charm and quality to the hotel, the decor is a little scruffy around the edges but it's spotlessly clean and warm. The views are beautiful over rolling hills of somerset and they have beautiful conservatory and garden filled with hand carved wooden tables and chairs for the summer. The place is warm...very warm so no need to bring your long johns in the winter. Everything has been thought of, the buffet breakfast spread is delicous, served with chuncky mugs, quality tea and coffee and with unique wooden trays and cutlery. If you're looking for prim and proper and clean cut finishes and modern features this place is not for you. If you appreciate character and charm, great hospitality, quirkiness and an experience you'll be chatting about to your friends and family for months after your stay...go here!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    20
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
143
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at woolverton house predominately for the relaxed, homely atmosphere, it's superb service (as only a small hotel can provide) and value for money compared to central Bath options.

Anyone who appreciates a unique homely feel to a hotel will love this place. We can't wait to get back in the summer!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelkanninchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

This place is a total gem and Hotels like this are few and far between. Mike and Rowena make you feel completely welcome and nothing is to much trouble. While there it soon became apparent that Mike and I shared a love of Fawlty Towers but this place is the total opposite to that great comedy of long suffering guests. The Hotel is only 20 minutes from Bath which has to be one of our favourite Cities. Thanks a million guys for a wonderful stay, John & Sarah.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trinovantian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

We stayed here partly due to the very positive reviews, and also because of the lack of decently priced accommodation in Bath itself. We were not disappointed. Rowena greeted us like old friends and gave us a tour - a lovely house where we immediately just felt at home. We had booked a room in the Coach house, so she showed us 2 of the upstairs room so we could choose - again, just a nice touch. The room itself was a good size, with a very generous bathroom - big fluffy towels and robes too - and some nice tolietries too (sorry Rowena we did take a couple of bottles and the shoe shine!!). Huge LCD TV and a very comfy memory foam bed. Great room - not too posh, just really comfortable. Breakfast the following morning was sadly too rushed - our fault entirely as we were heading to the Rugby - so we did not have time to really enjoy what was an excellent continental spread (with optional cooked) and of course the sparkling wine......note to self - when staying at Woolverton, make sure you allow more time to enjoy your breakfast!!!!!. We met Mike who was equally as nice and welcoming - and who was kind enough to post back the mirror we left in the room - great service!. Lovely people, lovely hotel - its only 11 miles from Bath so an easy drive if thats your destination.

Oh, and we could have stayed 2 nights for the price of 1 as we were there for the Rugby - worth knowing if we draw Bath again......!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rugby-Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We stayed only one night but would love to come back again. Huge bed in a large room with a superbly eclectic selection of furniture from around the world. Everything was of the highest quality and we felt right at home immediately thanks to our hosts. Would recommend in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidmgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We headed off to Somerset for an impromptu weekend away and found a good deal on late rooms. With the great reviews here, we thought "what the heck" and booked in. We showed up a little early on Saturday and were shown around by the people who are looking after the place whilst the innkeepers are enjoying a holiday. We were upgraded to the bigger rooms and get a choice of rm 3 or 4. They were both equally great so we took 3. The beds are super kings with fluffy duvets and there are loads of huge towels in the bathroom. The downstairs is as stated in other reviews really big with lots of games/ things to do and coffee and tea always available. We went to the pub next door for some good pub grub at reasonable prices and then had a great night sleep. Breakfast was plentiful and continental style and we were sad to leave. All in all, highly recommended. You can tell the people who run the place really love what they do and it shows.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lennox'smom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We had a lovely weekend stay at The House. The building is very grand, with lovely rural views. The rooms were very comfortable, although we could hear a bit of noise from the communal spaces at times.

The hotel serves a continental breakfast as standard, with the option of a cooked meal at a small extra cost. There is lots of communal space on the ground floor, with a bar, living areas, games room etc. and lots of outside space for warmer days with outdoor games.

The rooms are all decorated with Nepalese furnishings, which is not what you would expect when you pull up outside, but are very colourful and the whole hotel provides the location for a very restful weekend away.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the bigger rooms on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsCDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolverton
8.2 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
8.1 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
7.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
7.6 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
7.2 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House near Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House near Bath

Property: The House near Bath
Address: Woolverton, Bath BA2 7QS, England (Formerly Woolverton House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Woolverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Woolverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The House near Bath 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner operated quirky house for people looking for something out of the ordinary. Gorgeous garden with great views especially from the huge conservatory. Unusual Asian/African feel bedrooms with no wardrobes, just pegs. A sense of fun is the theme and there is opportunity to meet and mingle with other guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The House near Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolverton Hotel Somerset
The House Near Bath Woolverton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing