We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem....very impressed indeed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The House near Bath
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Woolverton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stumbled across The House Hotel who had 2 rooms left! What we didn't expect was to uncover an absolute hidden gem, which turned out to be one of the best places we have ever stayed at and left us feeling we had experienced a truly special place. From arriving Mike and Rowena (the owners) were very welcoming and carried our bags to our rooms. Rowena showed us the two rooms left that were available. Both were unique and showed how much thought has gone into each room. We chose room 14 which was like an attic conversion. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable, the shower excellent and the little touches of the mini bar and complimentary toiletries were brilliant. The only possible improvements could be a brighter lightbulb. The mini bar offered carefully selected products. The beer, something I had never heard of was very tasty. We had a drink in the bar before heading out for dinner and again this was very pleasant. I had yet another drink brand I hadn't before discovered. Breakfast in the morning was excellent. A complimentary glass of champagne (as it was a Sunday) with a great selection of fruit, croissants, breads, juices, cold meats etc. The views from the conservatory were special on a frosty morning. All in all, The House is a quirky upmarket bed and breakfast hotel that gives you an experience which is far away from what you get at the standard hotels like the Hilton etc, and leaves you wishing you could discover more places like this in the world. My girlfriend and I can't put our finger on what makes this hotel so special, it's just something you must discover!

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Coddy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2012

This is our second stay at the Woolverton House in the last 14 months, and I'm sure it won't be the last. My girlfriend and I visited Longleat last year, and decided to make a weekend of it by visiting Bath the day before and finding somewhere to stay overnight. It was very last minute and although we were looking for central Bath my girlfriend stumbled across the Woolverton House on Booking.com and she instantly fell for its charm through the photos. We like the quirky side of life and tend to try and stay away from your standard run of the mill hotels so this one fit the bill perfectly.

The Hotel, which was about a 10 minute drive from Bath, is slightly set back from the road, and Woolverton comprises of no more than a couple of houses, the hotel and a pub so you could miss it without a sat nav.

This year we had a weekend away in Bristol and decided to make the most of it and book a night at Woolverton on our way home. Even though we knew what to expect when we arrived at the hotel we instantly loved the place. It looks great from the outside, like a mini castle, and somewhere you might expect Dumbledore to stop off on his travels. Inside, the theme is extended to a very authentic wooden decor, with a spectacular looking winding staircase up the rooms. We were warmly welcomed by Rowena and Mark, Rowena showed us around the hotel which has loads of nice touches from a table tennis table, snooker table and a wealth of interesting books from around the world. The first time our room was on the second floor and was a fantastic little room, this time we were upgraded and got a bigger room on the first floor. Both have a rustic warm feel created by the authentic wooden flooring and quirky decor. Rooms are very comfortable and have their own ensuites. The whole hotel feels original and works in harmony with the historic building, this means some luxuries are compromised such as the ensuite is probably slightly smaller than you might expect in a new build hotel, but that only adds to the character, and when you wake up looking out onto the unspoilt countryside you really don't mind! This was only the case the first time we stayed, the second time the ensuite was huge.

The first time we stayed we went out for dinner at a near by pub, and because we were celebrating, Mark kindly offered to drive us down to the pub, The Mill at Rode, where we had a great evening and after dinner the manager drove us back. This time after we went for dinner we decided to go back to the hotel early and have a drink in the downstairs main room. There were a number of guests all doing the same and chatting to Rowena, we had a great evening and everyone was really friendly and really interesting.

This is a great little family run hotel, which is full of character which echoes their personalities, if you are looking for a standard run of the mill hotel such as a Hilton, then don't be shocked if you go here and it's not what you expected, but I think you'd be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Invited by friends to join them at this quirky but very friendly hotel in the Somerset countryside. Comfortable accommodation, informal with interesting decor throughout - a significant and welcome change from the larger more formal hotels. Superb hospitality with the owners' taking a genuine interest in their guests and their individual requirements, even down to the provision of miniature "malt" night-caps! Choice of extensive continental buffet or traditional, locally sourced, cooked breakfast.
Having travelled extensively, can thoroughly recommend this alternative experience and intend to return, soon!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed for the weekend as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. The hotel is run by Mike and Rowena Without being asked, Mike upgraded our room to one with a huge en-suite bathroom. Again, without being asked he printed a bus timetable for us. The hotel is situated only about 15 mins drive from Bath. Parking is difficult and expensive so we had decided to take the bus which stops virtually outside the hotel. This hotel is very informal and everyone addresses one another by their first names. It is such a refreshing change from the stuffy formality of most British hotels.Both public and private rooms are decorated in an Eastern and African style. Every aspect of this place has been really thought through without feeling contrived. In addition, everything is of the highest quality, even down to the complimentary toiletries.The hotel has a wonderful conviviality and you feel immediately relaxed.
There is a games room complete with snooker table and proper sized table football.The garden is lovely but sadly because of the time of year, we couldn't really use it.
The continental buffet breakfast has everything you could wish for. There is a comprehensive selection of fresh fruit, cheeses, SIX different types of bread inc Beetroot! Various pastries, various jams and honey, cold meats and choices of cereals, juices, teas and coffee. You help yourself to as much as you want and stay as long as you want! You eat in the conservatory, with views of the huge garden. I cannot recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We stayed here on 6th October 2012. Words cannot describe how beautiful this place is and it is immaculate. The owners are wonderful and so friendly. It was a great find and I can assure anyone who goes there will love it! I'm definitely going back. Fantastic and laid back, surrounded by gorgeous grounds. A great little pub next door for food and then a fab bar in the hotel. Truely magical. Thanks Rowena and Mike (hope names correct) you made our weekend very special after the disastrous start at the first dodgy guest house!!! Thank you. See you soon. Emma and Sharon xx

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmandBen186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed here when visiting Bath for the weekend as it is only a few miles from the city.
I mentioned when booking that we would be travelling from London in the morning and had theatre tickets booked and Mike (one of the owners) e-mailed to let me know our room would be available from lunchtime.
Cosy but comfortable room. Very comfortable beds- we slept well!
The quirkiness is in the decor, stripped floorboards and frog collection in the reception!
Mini bar at reasonable prices and a help yourself attitude in the public areas.
Excellent continental breakfast, buffet style and charming conservatory dinning area.
More like a friendly guest house than hotel, which we enjoyed.
Reccomended.

Room Tip: We were given a choice of rooms and chose a slightly smaller but back of house room with views of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed here for one night while visiting Bath and Stonehenge. We were greeted with a warm welcome and received a room upgrade. The property, location, and service cannot be beat. The room was extremely cozy and offered great space to relax for a great night's sleep! There are also a couple of great dining options nearby, we selected the Mill which was has an unbeatable setting and fantastic fresh food. This was by far one of our best B&B experiences and offers a great home base to explore the beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolverton
8.1 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
7.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
7.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
6.5 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#30 of 34 in Bath
194 reviews
7.3 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House near Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House near Bath

Address: Woolverton, Bath BA2 7QS, England (Formerly Woolverton House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Woolverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Woolverton
Price Range: £107 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The House near Bath 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner operated quirky house for people looking for something out of the ordinary. Gorgeous garden with great views especially from the huge conservatory. Unusual Asian/African feel bedrooms with no wardrobes, just pegs. A sense of fun is the theme and there is opportunity to meet and mingle with other guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your The House near Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolverton Hotel Somerset
The House Near Bath Woolverton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing