We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay in the UK for a long time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The House near Bath
Ranked #1 of 1 Woolverton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bromley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best stay in the UK for a long time!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

We spent an excellent 5 nights at woolverton house and have never had such a relaxing time with such a warm welcome. The non timetabled breakfast ( lots of fruit, crossiants and special earl grey tea) to the informal bar in the large conservatory in the evenings (local good quality beers and lagers) was exactly what we needed, with friendly guests and locals joining in the lovely setting.

Rowena and Mike were fantastic and were quite happy to point us in the direction of local events and how not to get lost in the Somerset countryside. The location is excellent for an assortment of villages, towns (inc Bath and Bristol) and tourist locations like the cheddar gorge. With a good size pub next door with fantastic ales (good range of food) we enjoyed the break from work.

We stayed in a room in the coach house which has loads of space, a huge super king bed with really soft bedding and a large telly. Tea facilities and a fridge are in the room. Internet connectivity is available all throughout. We are hoping to go back soon with extended family.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 2012JandBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    21
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
145
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

When we arrived we could choose between 3 rooms; small bathroom, but OK; big room; very nice hosts; location is quiet, 15 minutes to Bath by car; superb breakfast, including sparkling wine (for the non-drivers...)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruediger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wooburn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We found this hotel purely by chance and what a fab place to stay! Rowena and Mike were such great hosts, and with a very large upgraded (Bob geldof) room and late check out we will be coming back to say again. The house is quirky and just up our street thank you for a great stay :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stumbled across this Country boutique style hotel and were glad we did as it turned out to be a very enjoyable stay ,we were upgraded without asking to the Bob Geldoff room ;-) which was hugh and very stylish ,the proprietors were friendly and relaxed no having to get up early for breakfast or early check outs ,will definitely be visting again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john22_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We spent a really nice few days at Woolverton House. Rowena and Mike were super friendly and attentive, and also helpful giving us advice on places to eat etc.

The house itself is pretty impressive - it's an old rectory. WE stayed in one of the rooms on the top floor. It had a nice view and was comfortable. Equally the dining / bar area is really nice - there's a conservatory that opens up onto their big garden which is great on a nice day (we were lucky to get good weather in May!). They also have a snooker table and a table tennis table, which were fun.

Food wise the breakfast was delish. We had the continental option (you can also pay for a full English - but we didn't need it). They had freshly baked bread from a local bakery, fresh croissants, cereals, eggs, meats etc. In the evening they also have a really wide selection of beers and whiskeys (they also have a pub in London).

Short drive from Bath (15 mins), 20 min drive from Cheddar Gorge, 30 min drive from Stonehenge.

Cian

Room Tip: We got there early on check day and so they let us choose between all the upstairs bedrooms. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This is a great place to stay if you are looking for a warm welcome in great hotel. Highly recommended we will be letting all our friends know about this place. The rooms are furnished to a very high standard and the owners were very helpful and friendly :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaun186254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Absolutely fabulous place to stay. Attention to detail is impressive, the owners are welcoming from start to finish, idyllic setting....a home from home atmosphere. Can't fault anything. My husband and I strongly recommend this luxury country retreat as a top destination. Thank you very much Rowena and Mike.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelawgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolverton
8.1 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
7.3 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 30 in Bath
1,240 reviews
7.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 30 in Bath
1,346 reviews
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
7.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bath
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House near Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House near Bath

Property: The House near Bath
Address: Woolverton, Bath BA2 7QS, England (Formerly Woolverton House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Woolverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Woolverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The House near Bath 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner operated quirky house for people looking for something out of the ordinary. Gorgeous garden with great views especially from the huge conservatory. Unusual Asian/African feel bedrooms with no wardrobes, just pegs. A sense of fun is the theme and there is opportunity to meet and mingle with other guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The House near Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolverton Hotel Somerset
The House Near Bath Woolverton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing