We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The House near Bath
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Woolverton
Certificate of Excellence
England
2 reviews
“Lovely boutique hotel”
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

A blissful retreat from the world, the hosts were everything you could possibly ask them to be, thoughtful, generous and friendly. The rooms were unique and interesting, and well stocked of all the essentials. with the added benefit of feeling completely at home instantly. The facilities in the house were fantastic, around every corner there was something fun to do. Breakfast was a much looked forward to event, with a good variety of locally sourced and decadent fare to choose from. on sunday we were also offered a delightful treat of a glass of british sparkling wine, delicious, the perfect end to our wonderful stay, looking forward to going back soon.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debraps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    20
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
143
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful weekend at The House hotel in Woolverton. We decided late on Friday afternoon to go to Bath for the weekend. So I spent all afternoon trying to find a nice hotel which wasn't too expensive. From all of our choices I kept getting drawn back to The House. I think it was because it didn't seem to be pretentious.
We arrived fairly late on Friday evening and were greeted by Mike. What a lovely chap. After being shown around, we were offered a choice of 2 rooms. Each room was as good as the other with a massive bed and lots of room.
The hotel is lovely, from the decoration, grounds, furniture, plants, frogs (you'll see what I mean when you go) snooker table, table tennis, comfy chairs, the conservatory bar, breakfast, comfy beds, nothing can be faulted.
We met the wonderful Rowena at breakfast on the Sunday morning. Both her and Mike are obviously very passionate about their hotel and how they care for their guests.
The included breakfast was much better than a normal continental type, with various different breads, crumpets, waffles, fruit, hams, cheeses, cereals and lots of lovely different fruit juices.

The location of the hotel is great, close enough to be in Bath within 20 minutes and far enough away to be very quiet.

If you're looking for a very nice hotel, with wonderful hosts who treat you like a friend they've known for years, in a lovely location, then look no further, you've found it here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dterry182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We had been double booked in another hotel and booked this hotel the night before and I am glad we did. Slightly quirky and very very homely. Mike and Rowena go out of their way to make you feel special and valued. The breakfast was very high quality. The room was very large and the bed very comfortable. We were given a choice of rooms. Very easy to get to bath close to the main road but feels very quiet and secluded. The best hotel we have stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

A great base away from the hussle and bustle of Bath yet within 15 minutes drive, use the Park and Ride, it's very easy and cheaper than parking in the City. A lovely old house full of character and two very nice hosts. Not the cheapest of places but quality breakfast with lots of organic food and juices, not the usual orange and grapefruit and complimentary fizz! A very peaceful nights sleep in a huge double king bed and no traffic noise, slept like a log. Nice pub literally across the road, may need to book at weekends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sav_sav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Had a fab one night stay at The House and the impression of being there will be a lasting one.

Hadn't met Rowena until breakfast the morning after having stayed and she greeted me by my first name without having met me yet! Needless to say I was impressed and was impressed further with how helpful and how flexible Mike and Rowena are with their guests. We checked in early, we checked out late and the couple could not have been more accommodating.

The House, room we stayed in and the grounds are all immaculately kept with some wonderful homely decor.

A 20 minute drive to Bath this hotel is in a beautiful part of the countryside and views are not to be missed. I would recommend to others and would leap at the chance to stay there again.

Ticked every box.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Offenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Rowena and Mike were the most welcoming, friendly and natural hosts, they really made our stay memorable. The house itself is fantastic, very unique, we particularly enjoyed the ping pong table in the lounge!! Our room was spacious, with enough room in the bed for at least four people! The views were beautiful and the selection at breakfast was second to none.
Rowena was very helpful in suggesting nearby pubs and restaurants as well as places to visit. All in all we had a truly great time at Woolverton house and couldn't recommend it enough!!!

Room Tip: Room four has a ginormous bed, a corner bath and magnificent views over the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRoberts31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The service at The House is second to none. I stayed at the house during a wedding weekend with a large group of people, and as soon as we stepped through the door we felt welcome. The house is truly unique, the breakfast is excellent and the bar is exceptional. Mike and Rowena are extremely helpful, from ordering taxis to recommending the next beer to try they will help. The rooms are lovely, the games room is excellent and the garden in beautiful. I really cannot recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emijayne86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolverton
8.2 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
8.1 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
7.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
7.6 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
7.2 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House near Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House near Bath

Property: The House near Bath
Address: Woolverton, Bath BA2 7QS, England (Formerly Woolverton House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Woolverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Woolverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The House near Bath 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner operated quirky house for people looking for something out of the ordinary. Gorgeous garden with great views especially from the huge conservatory. Unusual Asian/African feel bedrooms with no wardrobes, just pegs. A sense of fun is the theme and there is opportunity to meet and mingle with other guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The House near Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolverton Hotel Somerset
The House Near Bath Woolverton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing