We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Travelodge Beckington(Beckington)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$75
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
The Woolpack Inn(Beckington)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Premier Inn Frome Hotel(Frome)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa(Hinton Charterhouse)
US$424
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$345
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Widbrook Grange(Bradford-on-Avon)
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Moonraker(Trowbridge)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel(Trowbridge)(Great Value!)
US$119
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Swan Hotel(Bradford-on-Avon)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
214
23
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
23
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrowena and mikesnooker tableold rectorythe red lion pubgames roommini barcountry retreatpub next doorstayed in the coach housefresh fruitfriendly hostslongleat safari parkwarm welcomeperfect hostsamazing weekendattic roomloved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2018

The House near Bath is a gorgeous little hotel (10 rooms?) ~15 minutes away from Bath. You can get to Bath on a bus that stops a 2 min walk from the house (~6 GBP) or by cab (~15 GBP). It's amazingly quiet and peaceful!

Rowena & Mike are the most gracious and accommodating hosts I've interacted with in a long time! They will get out of their way to make sure you have a great experience here. I won't get into details to avoid setting expectations that this level of details and service is offered to all guests at all time, but I've been impressed, and I've been a Platinum member at SPG hotels for a couple of years. Breakfast options are impressive!

In any case, I figured I'd write a review as a token of my appreciation, but as they already have 237 reviews (88% excellent) at the time of this review, this will likely not move the needle for them!

Maybe two little nuggets: 1) you can get a personal driver to pick you up at the house to drop you at Heathrow for 110 GBP - cheaper than a cab ride to Bath, and a bus for a family of 3+! 2) if taking a tour to the Stonehenge, they can pick you up (and drop you back) at "the house", as it is on the way!

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Room #8 had a nice view of the green field with the sheep and cows
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowena_Mary_Smith, Owner at The House near Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

My dear Stefan, any little review helps us get up the 'ladder' and great reviews like yours takes us up lots! Coming from a seasoned traveller like yourself I take it as a great compliment and really appreciate your comments.
From the time I saw your two smiling faces at the station to the day you left, you were both a delight to look after as you always seemed so grateful for every little thing we did. I have been relating the story that I was worried about you two probably being elderly and coming from the States then travelling to us on the train with lots of luggage and getting lost. In her emails to me Betty had asked a lot of questions so I thought it was your first trip over here. Then two world travellers turn up! I thought it was very funny and hope you saw the funny side also.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and my regards to Betty.
Rowena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

I really don’t know where to begin with this review. The House is a gorgeous B&B where you instantly feel at home. The grounds and both Rowena and Mike are absolutely gorgeous and I could not recommend a trip here more.

We were greeted by the lovely Rowena and shown a choice of 3 rooms, all absolutely beautiful and well looked after. Each room is completely different and offer amazing views of the sheep, cows or garden. The beds were also very comfortable and offer free bottled water and tea and coffee.

There is a bar and a massive snooker tables with a large selection of board games for entertainment. You feel very comfortable just walking the around the property like it’s your own home and Rowena and Mike have done a great job to create this type of environment.

Breakfast in the morning is full of fruit, lovely bread, fresh juices, tea, coffee, yogurts, croissants as well as cooked breakfast from a menu. There is also free parking as a heads up!!!!!

Overall we would like to say a MASSIVE thank you for a wonderful wonderful stay, we will most definitely be back.

Love Em and Luke xxxx

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank emneville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowena_Mary_Smith, Owner at The House near Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Wow, Emily have you ever thought of going on Who Wants to be a Millionaire? You would win the fastest fingers first easily! This has got to be the quickest review we've had from anyone staying. And, if I may use your word, what a gorgeous review!!
So I have had to get my skates on and reply just as quickly.
You and Luke were so easy to please and I still can't believe you are both only 20 and 21. I was just so surprised after talking to you two in the bar. Another record you've broken is that you are without doubt the youngest couple (not youngest guest) we've had stay with us in all 11 years. You're both so mature and so observant about everything around you. But most of all so grateful for anything and ever so polite. You make great ambassadors for the youth of today and I wish there were more like you out there. When Mike said we'd just had a review and asked me to guess from who, I knew right away as it is just the sort of nice thing you would do.
Hope you enjoyed Longleat and that the monkeys didn't chew away at your car and that it was a good birthday weekend for you Luke. And it would be a great pleasure to have you back again.
Rowena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

Firstly, the practicalities of the accommodation. Beautiful large and tastefully renovated rooms. Supremely comfortable beds, breakfast food consisted of locally sourced fresh (and extremely well cooked by Mike) produce. The attention to detail in this Hotel by Rowena (owner) is outstanding, right down to the drinks and snacks in the room, nothing is left to chance, however what defines this place is the generosity of spirit of the hosts. As visitors from Australia we had no idea on where to go for dinner and particularly on a public holiday. Rowena spent a lot of time on the phone ringing around to find somewhere suitable and wrote out all the contact details for us. Having spent a number of years travelling we are very particular, if you want to stay somewhere with beautiful accommodation, kind and friendly hosts, 15 minutes out of Bath then you will love it here as we did!! For the calibre and quality of accommodation it is great value.

Room Tip: Quietest rooms would be at the back of the building
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowena_Mary_Smith, Owner at The House near Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Kris, I read your review several days ago and had to contemplate hard before replying but I still don’t know how to thank you. With you and Philip staying five days I got to know you both well and I know you’ll chuckle when I say I know how picky you are with everything so any praise from you is worth ten times more than from the average person.
You will be pleased to hear that the toilet seat has been fitted properly now and when I was shown how to do it I felt so silly as it wasn’t difficult. Mind you, nothing is when you know how. So whenever I repair toilet seats in future I shall think of you two! (Bet you’re over the moon about being remembered for a toilet seat!) And my adjustment of the door worked as it has stopped sticking but thank you for letting me know about both these things and also for being so nice about it.
I hope it wasn’t too gruelling a trip back to Oz and I sincerely hope that one day either work or leisure might bring you both back to the UK as it would be truly lovely to see you again. And I’ll be able to show you the toilet seat.....
Rowena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018

Booked for three days mid week. Mike and Rowena were fantastic hosts and nothing seemed too much trouble. The room was clean and spacious and the super king size bed was the most comfortable I've slept in at any b & b.

The Breakfast was fantastic with plenty to choose from, cooked really well by Mike with first class ingredients.

It was a very relaxing three days and we would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank howard j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowena_Mary_Smith, Owner at The House near Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Howard how speedy you are! So I have to be just as speedy in my response. Thank you so much for your kind words and I am so pleased you and Avril managed to relax during your stay and that the fine weather enabled sitting in our lovely garden. And I sincerely hope the medics can find another way of treating your granddaughter and I shall think of her every time I want to moan.
But remember, no more bee keeping!
Take care,
Rowena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

We cannot thank the amazing Mike and Rowena enough for our fantastic trip to Bath this weekend.

We had such a lovely time at this absolute gem of a property tucked away just outside Bath in beautiful grounds. The room was comfortable and clean and the bathroom was lovely with a fantastic shower.

We had a great time drinking at the bar with Mike and Rowena and they made us feel so welcome. They took the time to get to know each guest and introduced us all to each other which made everything all the more friendly.

Another thing to note is that my partner is vegan so we brought our own dairy-free spread to have at breakfast which they didn’t mind at all. The breakfast provided offers so much choice with toast, cereal, pastries, beautiful fruit and yoghurts. The cooked breakfast menu also offers an amazing choice for a property like this one and they cooked my partner her own separate breakfast with food she can eat.

Thank you Mike and Rowena for looking after us so well and taking the time to get to know us. This is somewhere we will definitely visit again.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowena_Mary_Smith, Owner at The House near Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Nick and Maggie,
I knew from the emails we exchanged before you arrived that you would be very thoughtful people and I honestly can't remember exchanging so many emails with any of our guests beforehand to the same extent. I felt as though I knew you even before you arrived.
From nearing tears when you left, however, you've now made me blush. What an incredible review and we did so little so not sure if we deserve such praise. I really did miss you both in the bar as you had become part of the furniture (but you're both better looking than my furniture!)
Every time I use your spread, Maggie, I shall think of you both and it would be a pleasure to have you both back again.
Rowena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews