We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly and well appointed country hotel”
Review of The Hollies Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hollies Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Had a very pleasant 3 night stay in this welcoming and friendly country hotel. Our room, well more a suite, included a separate kitchen, bathroom, bedroom and sitting room all were spacious, spotlessly clean and well appointed, including trouser press, ironing board and a well stocked mini bar and Free wifi. From the lounge sliding doors opening onto a patio area where we sat enjoying drinks over looking the beautiful Somerset countryside. The staff were all very friendly, the type for whom genuinely nothing is to much trouble. The pretty main building houses the bar and restaurant, both had roaring fires which added to the lovely atmosphere. Well stocked bar, good range of wine and the restaurant serves fresh tasty food. On the first night we were tired from a 6 hour journey and decided to use room service, food arrived swiftly but at an additional charge of £5 each! Bower Hinton has very easy access to the main A303 with Yeovil approx 8 miles and the County Town of Taunton about 20 miles. From Taunton the M5 is accessed at junction 25. The hotel offers excellent facilities which include fitness suite, conferencing facilities and large car park. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kempster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights at this hotel in November 2013. The rooms are very comfortable with large good quality beds and adequate seating as well. Big modern bathrooms with large bath and good quality shower. Most rooms on ground level with outside access to patio and are of executive quality. Plenty of car parking with close access to reception. All staff were very friendly and helpful food was excellent with large selection of wines and other beverages. Close access to the A303 with Yeovil being the nearest large town. Would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for good quality accommodation in this area of Somerset.

Room Tip: All rooms are high quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

A great little Hotel. Stayed for two nights in March 2014. We were late arrivals at the Hotel but were greeted by friendly staff at check in. On heading to the bar for a quick drink after checking in the friendliness continued - the staff seemed genuinely interested in why we had visited. The room was lovely, spacious and spotless with thoughtful additions - trouser press, ironing board and irons in all rooms. There was also a mini-bar with reasonably priced drinks. Large flat screen TV. I was slightly concerned that there didn't appear to be a mirror but found a large vanity mirror which could be placed on the dressing table, if required - they seem to have thought of everything. Great thick pillows which had some substance rather than the usual flat offerings. The bathroom was spacious and very clean with a good shower and lots of hot water - which seems to be an issue in most hotels. The rooms have patio doors out onto a veranda which in view of the gorgeous weather was great. The food in the restaurant was varied and offered something for all tastes and well cooked. Would definitely stay there again and would highly recommend the Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Just came back from a lovely weekend at The Hollies.
Really couldn't fault this place, staff incredibly friendly and helpful, food absolutely gorgeous, rooms lovely and spacious, in a very quiet and peacful area.
Wish we could have stayed longer!
Will definitely return to The Hollies!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abigail s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed for one night would of liked it to be longer. Staff and owners are welcoming helpful and friendly. Rooms are very clean spacious and comfortable overlooking the garden quadrangle
accessed from patio doors in the bedroom. Shame we stayed in March so could not enjoy sitting out.
As we stayed on a Sunday evening there was only bar meals available {we were aware of this when we booked.} the steak meal we had was good quality ingredients and cooked as requested.
Plenty of choice at breakfast again good quality and nicely cooked and presented.

We would certainly stay at this peaceful welcoming hotel again.

Ample car parking

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cpatterson355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This was recommended to me by a colleague and i'm so glad I listened to him,the whole experience of this place is perfect from the friendly welcome the superb rooms with really comfy beds and through to the food.
Did i say food well if you like a good varied menu superbly cooked with goodly portion sizes and very friendly waiters and waitresses this is the place to go
Add in a nice location and easy access to the A303 and this is a must for anyone working or holidaying in the area

Room Tip: Lower numbers are nearer reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cliffy315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

have been twice now and both times have been fantastic, the rooms are great and spacious and better than you get in a lot bigger hotel chains, the bar and restaurant are great, the best steak I have ever had, stay here and you will not be disappointed,

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reedmyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martock
4.7 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
370 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
254 reviews
5.2 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
577 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
239 reviews
5.1 mi away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollies Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollies Hotel

Address: Bower Hinton | Nr Yeovil, Martock, Yeovil TA12 6LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > Martock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Price Range: £93 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hollies Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superfast WiFi Broadband now available free of charge. 75Meg Download / 20Meg Upload. 36 Exceptional Rooms & Suites Serviced Apartments & Cottages Contemporary Restaurant with Modern British Menu Trendy Bar Open Fires & Stylish Raised Wine Terrace Beautiful Medieval Village Location Garden Rooms With Access to Furnished Patios Complimentary Internet Throughout Hotel Brand New Hotel Gym Complimentary Sky Sports & BT Sports in all Rooms Free On Site Car Parking Room Service / Mini Bars Same Price as Main Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Hollies Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollies Hotel Yeovil
The Hollies Hotel Martock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing