We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fautless”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hollies Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hollies Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fautless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

A friend of mine recommended The Hollies and I have just returned from staying 3 nights at The Hollies, and I must say it was a very good stay. I had a Superior Double room, and the room was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated with a comfy double bed, Sofa, desk and lots of storage. Unusually these days the rooms have a mini bar, priced the same as the main bar and also a kettle, ironing board and iron and trouser press. Good quality toiletries in the bathroom are a nice touch too. I ate in the restaurant twice in the evening and 3 breakfasts and the food is very good indeed.
The entire hotel has excellent wireless broadband, which for me is very important when travelling.
Bower Hinton is a pretty little village, and the Hotel is also a very nice building, with the modern annex build in keeping with the period main building. It is only a few miles into Yeovil and only about 10-15 mins off the M5.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    76
    31
    8
    6
See reviews for
61
131
10
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Upgraded to a junior suite on arrival, would probably book this room next time. Amazing staff on reception and the pub. Food excellent, huge portions and served with attention to detail. Well worth a visit. Ignore my rating on the swimming pool, there is no pool but do not be put off.

Room Tip: Have a room that overlooks the fields at the back of the hotel, we stayed in room 29.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOMERSET
Level Contributor
50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel following my daughter's wedding in Somerset. I live in Somerset I can thoroughly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to visit the West Dorset coast and Somerset area.

The hotel is situated in Bower Hinton - just a short distance from the A303. The bedrooms are in a separate location to the dining room etc and are arranged around a courtyard. Some over look the fields and the suite's open onto the hotels gardens.

We had a suite - absolutely huge with a very comfortable super king bed, Huge TV and sofa in lounge and excellent bedroom. What struck me most was the quietness of the rooms. No noise whatsoever.

Excellent breakfast with choice of fruit, cereals etc from buffet. The cooked breakfast was cooked to order and silver service - again excellent.

As stated earlier I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to have a base to visit Chesil beach, Bridport, Charmouth, Lyme Regis, Somerset Levels. If you stay here make sure you visit Ham Hill for outstanding views over the countryside. With this hotel you would have the best of both worlds - a quiet comfortable hotel as a base without inflated coastal prices.

And the litmus paper test - Yes I would definitely choose this hotel again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUE SOMERSET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Booked a 2 night stay for 7 over weekend 16th May. Had a fantastic time. The customer service was second to none - everyone from owners, reception staff and bar staff were amazing. Some of our party stayed in the 2 bedroomed suite with kitchen and living area - which was ideal. All our rooms had french doors onto the patio area so we were able to make the most of the glorious weather.
We had dinner in the restaurant on the Saturday night. The food was very good and the service was very attentive.
Would highly recommend the Hollies Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carmel1625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just returned from a fantastic weekend spent at the Hollies with a group of girlfriends, service was second to none , nothing was too much trouble for all the staff, friendly welcoming and attentive, we had the pleasure of service from Richard, Lucy and Cath who were amazing , ate in the restaurant on Saturday and again service and quality of food was faultless, rooms were great, with seating area outside out room which was perfect as the sun shone all weekend, will definitely be returning
Thankyou Hollies for a great stay

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Warm, friendly and professionally run hotel. Set in a lovely quiet location not too far from the A303 in Martlock. The road narrows as you leave the 303 towards Martlock so be careful.
The rooms are very clean and have plenty of room. The beds are comfortable and the TVs are large flat screens, so you do not need to sit right in front of it. The food was really good. Will visit again.

Room Tip: Stayed several time and all of my rooms have been very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxHampshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Have stayed at the Hollies a number of times now, always on business, but I would also choose it for a leisure stay as well. Rooms are well appointed with excellent facilities, mind you they are well spread out over a very long and at times convoluted corridor, I got lost a couple of times. Good Wi Fi reception in all the rooms I have stayed in. The bedrooms are in a separate building to the bar/restaurant, so you might need an umbrella. Cannot fault the staff, plenty of them all with a smile and happy to help. A very nice comfortable bar with a welcoming log fire. Excellent quality food and great service. The restaurant itself though is very tight with unnecessary partitions and over large chairs, it all makes access to the tables very awkward, very much a case of style over convenience. There is a new fitness centre within the main building, but cannot comment.

Room Tip: The higher the room number, the longer the walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuncanGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martock
4.7 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
6.6 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
5.2 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
6.2 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollies Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollies Hotel

Property: The Hollies Hotel
Address: Bower Hinton | Nr Yeovil, Martock, Yeovil TA12 6LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > Martock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hollies Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Michelin Recommended HotelGarden Rooms, Suites, CottagesServiced ApartmentsFurnished TerracesSilent Night Sleep Master BedsTea Coffee Mini Bars in all Rooms42" or 50" Plasma TV's in all roomsFree Sky Sports in all roomsFree Internet through hotelFree off road ParkingRoom ServiceBook Direct with the Hotel for Free Up-GradeQuote Information Visit Somerset at time of booking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your The Hollies Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollies Hotel Yeovil
The Hollies Hotel Martock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing