We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of The Hollies Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hollies Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just stayed at the Hollies Hotel for 7 nights as we were attending a wedding at Brympton House and wanted somewhere locally to stay . The Hollies Hotel is based at Martock which is about 20 mins from Yeovil, 45 mins from Bath and about an hour from Lyme Regis and Weymouth all of which are great in their own right.

We had a junior suite which consisted of a large kingsize room and adjoining lounge area with leather sofa, large flat screen TV and double patio doors leading onto patio area with table and chairs overlooking garland and horses. The bathroom was large with good hot water and towels changed on daily basis. Over the bed was a huge fan which was really appreciated as it's been so hot this week, there was also a separate floor standing fan. Complementary tea/coffee and biscuits were a welcome at the end of the day.

Breakfast was freshly cooked to order together with cereal/yoghurt/fruit/croissants/pastries/ham/cheese/tomatoes/juices/jams/toast/coffee/selection of teas.

There is a restaurant and bar which was really popular and room service available but need to be aware there is a £5.00 charge per person on top of your food which we felt was a bit steep, there is also a mini bar in the room but no safe , however you can ask to put valuables in the hotel safe. There is also a small fitness suite and plenty of parking and a choice do standard rooms/junior suite/ full suite/apartments and cottages

Martock itself is very quiet with a couple of pubs , a really lovely bakery, a Co Operative store, hairdressers x 4 , post office and a market on a sat morning which was nice but only a few stalls mainly fruit/veg/cakes/bread and plants.

All in all an excellent stay in a great hotel with lovely staff would definitely recommend the Hollies
Hotel.

Room Tip: If staying longer than a few days opt for a suite/apartment or cottage as they have kitchen/dining a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

A friend of mine recommended The Hollies and I have just returned from staying 3 nights at The Hollies, and I must say it was a very good stay. I had a Superior Double room, and the room was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated with a comfy double bed, Sofa, desk and lots of storage. Unusually these days the rooms have a mini bar, priced the same as the main bar and also a kettle, ironing board and iron and trouser press. Good quality toiletries in the bathroom are a nice touch too. I ate in the restaurant twice in the evening and 3 breakfasts and the food is very good indeed.
The entire hotel has excellent wireless broadband, which for me is very important when travelling.
Bower Hinton is a pretty little village, and the Hotel is also a very nice building, with the modern annex build in keeping with the period main building. It is only a few miles into Yeovil and only about 10-15 mins off the M5.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Upgraded to a junior suite on arrival, would probably book this room next time. Amazing staff on reception and the pub. Food excellent, huge portions and served with attention to detail. Well worth a visit. Ignore my rating on the swimming pool, there is no pool but do not be put off.

Room Tip: Have a room that overlooks the fields at the back of the hotel, we stayed in room 29.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel following my daughter's wedding in Somerset. I live in Somerset I can thoroughly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to visit the West Dorset coast and Somerset area.

The hotel is situated in Bower Hinton - just a short distance from the A303. The bedrooms are in a separate location to the dining room etc and are arranged around a courtyard. Some over look the fields and the suite's open onto the hotels gardens.

We had a suite - absolutely huge with a very comfortable super king bed, Huge TV and sofa in lounge and excellent bedroom. What struck me most was the quietness of the rooms. No noise whatsoever.

Excellent breakfast with choice of fruit, cereals etc from buffet. The cooked breakfast was cooked to order and silver service - again excellent.

As stated earlier I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to have a base to visit Chesil beach, Bridport, Charmouth, Lyme Regis, Somerset Levels. If you stay here make sure you visit Ham Hill for outstanding views over the countryside. With this hotel you would have the best of both worlds - a quiet comfortable hotel as a base without inflated coastal prices.

And the litmus paper test - Yes I would definitely choose this hotel again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUE SOMERSET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Booked a 2 night stay for 7 over weekend 16th May. Had a fantastic time. The customer service was second to none - everyone from owners, reception staff and bar staff were amazing. Some of our party stayed in the 2 bedroomed suite with kitchen and living area - which was ideal. All our rooms had french doors onto the patio area so we were able to make the most of the glorious weather.
We had dinner in the restaurant on the Saturday night. The food was very good and the service was very attentive.
Would highly recommend the Hollies Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carmel1625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just returned from a fantastic weekend spent at the Hollies with a group of girlfriends, service was second to none , nothing was too much trouble for all the staff, friendly welcoming and attentive, we had the pleasure of service from Richard, Lucy and Cath who were amazing , ate in the restaurant on Saturday and again service and quality of food was faultless, rooms were great, with seating area outside out room which was perfect as the sun shone all weekend, will definitely be returning
Thankyou Hollies for a great stay

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Warm, friendly and professionally run hotel. Set in a lovely quiet location not too far from the A303 in Martlock. The road narrows as you leave the 303 towards Martlock so be careful.
The rooms are very clean and have plenty of room. The beds are comfortable and the TVs are large flat screens, so you do not need to sit right in front of it. The food was really good. Will visit again.

Room Tip: Stayed several time and all of my rooms have been very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxHampshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martock
4.7 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
375 reviews
5 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
243 reviews
5.2 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
254 reviews
5.1 mi away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
257 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollies Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollies Hotel

Address: Bower Hinton | Nr Yeovil, Martock, Yeovil TA12 6LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > Martock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Price Range: £102 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hollies Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superfast WiFi Broadband now available free of charge. 75Meg Download / 20Meg Upload. 36 Exceptional Rooms & Suites Serviced Apartments & Cottages Contemporary Restaurant with Modern British Menu Trendy Bar Open Fires & Stylish Raised Wine Terrace Beautiful Medieval Village Location Garden Rooms With Access to Furnished Patios Complimentary Internet Throughout Hotel Brand New Hotel Gym Complimentary Sky Sports & BT Sports in all Rooms Free On Site Car Parking Room Service / Mini Bars Same Price as Main Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Hollies Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollies Hotel Yeovil
The Hollies Hotel Martock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing