We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming country house hotel”
Review of Ash House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ash House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2012

My husband and I spent two very relaxing nights in the gorgeous Ash Country House Hotel between Christmas and New Year whilst visiting friends in Yeovil. The building is approximately 300 years old and used to be a family home. Gordon, the charming new owner of the hotel has spent two years restoring it to its former glory and transforming it into an upmarket country house hotel. It has 10 bedrooms, a really comfortable snug bar with log fire, two private dining rooms and the lovely Orangery Restaurant which overlooks the garden. This is where the first class breakfast is served (they use fresh, local farm produced ingredients). We also had dinner there on the first night before pre-dinner drinks in the lovely bar. Dinner was absolutely delicious – definitely fine dining.

Our bedroom was large, with a huge really comfortable bed (crisp white Italian cotton sheets), sofa, desk, two wardrobes, chest of drawers, flat screen TV and free broadband. It was spotlessly clean. We were given fluffy bathrobes and slippers. Good quality tea and coffee and complimentary water was available in the bedroom plus a jug of Fresh milk and a supply of free chocolate!

The staff are extremely charming and made us free extremely welcome. The hotel is perfect for romantic break, it also welcomes children, dogs and is set up for business meeting and private dining. It would be a perfect place for a wedding or private party as you could take over the whole venue and pretend it was your country home!

During our stay we visited Lyme Regis for a spot of fossil hunting and also Weston Super Mare, both are within 40mins drive away. The hotel is an excellent base from which to visit Somerset and Dorset. Martock (a few minutes drive) is a charming market town and worth a visit. If you want an easy country walk on road from the hotel, there is a horseshoe walk at the back of the hotel.

We really enjoyed our staff and can highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Our room was large - it was first left at the top of the stairs.I think they have same size rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellenkeegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2011

We visited Ash House Hotel again at the beginning of November this year. It was like going home. The house and staff make you feel that you are part of a private house party. As before, the room was excellent - their beds are truly comfortable - and the food and atmosphere are wonderful. We visited the local towns that we hadn't seen before and paddled around in the mist and rain looking forward to returning to the hotel to be greeted with a roaring log fire in the bar, a nice warm bedroom and a long hot bath! We hope to go again early next year and continue our excursions around Somerset and Dorset.

Room Tip: There are only 10 rooms (all named after apples!). We have only stayed in twin-bedded rooms and bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gourmetsinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

we had a lovely lunch on sunday, very well presented, and friendly staff, look forward to going again when we are in that area.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank marian5001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the Ash House Hotel for two nights. I was greeted with a warm welcome by Gordon the owner and Manger. My room was clean and well equipped the little touches of a jug of fresh milk and high quality tea and coffee were much appreciated. Situated in the quiet village of Ash, within substantial and impressive grounds, it is an easy 10 minuet drive to the centre of Yeovil. I never had the opportunity to try the restaurant but my fellow guests were very keen to tell me at breakfast what a treat I had missed. If the breakfast was an example of the Chef’s skill then I have no reason to doubt them. The ever friendly and immaculately turned out staff were a credit to the high standards that Gordon has set for his newly acquired and flourishing hotel. I am also reliably informed that there is a very good village pub within walking distance the hotel, I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Had an excellent weekend visit to Somerton with a truly delightful stay in the Ash House Hotel a 5 minute drive away in Ash
Service was first rate and most friendly and helpful
Gordon was most accomodating and patiently helpful with all our questions and enquiries
Room was nice with an excellent en suite and travel cot for our baby was provided as promised
We had dinner in the orangery which was absolutely superb within a beautiful setting
An after-dinner drink in the snug bar was also enjoyable
Our breakfast the next day was also first rate
Would definetly use this hotel again when visiting area and would thoroughly recommend it for a very relaxing time away

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian131vm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We stayed here for a wedding. Lovely rooms with comfy beds and well appointed bathrooms. Very hospital, friendly staff providing good service that was not at all intrusive. Lovely gardens and peaceful location. It was lovely to return to Somerset after 40 years - beautiful as ever!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curryten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this wonderful country hotel during a weekend of visiting the sights of Bath, Cheddar and Wells. While off the beaten path, the location is fine and in a peaceful, quiet area and the house itself nicely refurbished but maintaining old-style elegance. The staff is really friendly and accommodating, even towards children and dogs - a difficult combination! The restaurant was pretty and the food delicious - we especially love the big English breakfast. Gordon is an excellent host!

Room Tip: Spring for the superior rooms with full baths - worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bwack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martock
2.0 mi away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
381 reviews
5.1 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
369 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
5.7 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
576 reviews
3.3 mi away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ash House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash House Hotel

Address: 41 Main Street | Ash, Martock, Yeovil TA12 6PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > Martock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Price Range: £76 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ash House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ash House hotel is a stunning 300 year old manor house set in 1.5 acres of mature gardens. Conveniently situated under a mile off of the A303 at Yeovil, Ash House Hotel is the ideal stop over if traveling through the area or a base to explore from. All of our bedrooms have fine Italian cotton sheets, large fluffy towels and power showers, most rooms have baths also. Relax by the fire in the snug bar or enjoy our excellent locally sourced menu in the Orangery overlooking the flood lit garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Ash House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ash Hotel Country
Ash House Hotel Martock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing