We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended By Farthings Hotel”
Review of Ash House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ash House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2012

What an excellent recomendation from a nearby hotel, stayed here just the one night on my way through but it was excellent. The owner was jolly and knowledgeable, great atmosphere in the bar and breakfast was fantastic... cheers will stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJODubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2012

I really enoyed my 2 nights stay at Ash House. The building itself is beautifu,; the setting attractive and the location ideal. However the truly great asset of this hotel, which sets it apart from so many others, iis the firiendliness and general warmth of the staff. As a previous reviewer has put it, almost like being a guest at a private country house in a more leaisurely era!

The welcome and attentiveness from Gordon the owner, (and another Gordon who was looking after the hotel on my second night), the chatty ladies at breakfast service, the waiting staff in the reataurant, and Kat, the engaging barman are all outstanding. I ate in the restaurant on both nights (why venture out!) and although perhaps limited in choice for a longer stay, the food was first class: delicious and beautifully presented.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
Thank exegesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

After travelling from Berkshire, my husband and I arrived at Ash House. We were booked in for one night and for an evening meal with a view to celebrating our son's birthday, along with his wife and our granddaughter - they live in Yeovil which is just over ten minutes away. We were pleased with our room, especially the lovely bed with crisp white bed linen, tea and coffee making facilities and some delicious biscuits etc. Nice fluffy white towels in the bathroom and nice products also. By the time we went down to meet up the log fire in the bar area was blazing and we were greeted by the owner Gordon who made us feel very welcome. We were looked after for drinks and meal service by Kat who was a delight. Nothing was too much trouble for him and he is certainly an asset to Ash House. All the family thoroughly enjoyed their meals - this really is fine dining in a lovely setting. After the meal, we enjoyed coffee/more drinks back in the bar where the fire was still blazing - very welcome on a cold evening. Breakfast the next morning was excellent. We both enjoyed a cooked breakfast, all the best ingredients expertly served by Gordon (a different one from the night before) who was equally as charming! All in all a great find for a peaceful nights sleep with excellent food. We will certainly stay (and eat) there again next time we are visiting our son. Thanks to all at Ash House for a very memorable birthday celebration.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cigala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

It was our first visit to stay in this wonderful 300 year old house and we were not disappointed.
Exception service from the staff, we were made so welcome from the moment we arrived.
A well stocked refreshments box in the very large bedroom and complimentary slippers/robes are lovely little touches. Big marshmallow pillows and duvet, crisp white bed linens, what a good nights sleep to be had.
The bathroom was spotlessly clean, with fluffy white towels and nice products.
The food at the hotel is very tasty with all ingredients locally sourced. We loved the chickens and hens in the gardens.
This hotel is defiantly worth more than a one night stay but unfortunately that all we had time for. We left this hotel feeling spoilt and indulged, and would like longer next time.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We do love Ash House, and decided to host a small birthday dinner and overnight with friends just before Christmas. The staff could not have been more helpful, from the minute we arrived until we left we were unobtrusively spoilt, birthday was fantastic, the meal was lovely as was the wine list .. and the black pudding and garden eggs (from hens in a very snazzy hen house in the garden!) for breakfast, heavenly.

One couple who came with us was so impressed they have booked their wedding there for later this year!

I noticed one reviewer commented on their bathroom - yes they are a tiny bit dated, but in our fairly regular visitor experience they are spotlessly clean, huge white fluffy towels, great water pressure, all Neutrogena products (nice) and plenty of hot water. I'll take function over pretty tiles any day. The owner, Gordon, said he is gradually working on improvements - he took over the hotel fairly recently, but as I say it is spotless, and all works well.

The linen is wonderful, and the beds are so comfortable I really didn't want to get up!

Ash is a lovely village, very picturesque, and there is great advice on local places to visit. We particularly love the John Leach pottery in Muchelney, and the Burrow Hill cider brandy was delicious.

Ash House is a lovely place to spend some time, it is a beautiful building, the experience is understated, relaxing, you feel spoilt and comfortable, and we think it is really great value as well. Lovely staff too, couldn't have felt more welcome.

Thanks again!

PS - my lucky husband gets to use it as his work hotel as well (free wifi too) when he is in the Southwest - as I say, it is good value, and at least I know he is somewhere nice - lucky bean!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeborahPy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

My husband and I spent two very relaxing nights in the gorgeous Ash Country House Hotel between Christmas and New Year whilst visiting friends in Yeovil. The building is approximately 300 years old and used to be a family home. Gordon, the charming new owner of the hotel has spent two years restoring it to its former glory and transforming it into an upmarket country house hotel. It has 10 bedrooms, a really comfortable snug bar with log fire, two private dining rooms and the lovely Orangery Restaurant which overlooks the garden. This is where the first class breakfast is served (they use fresh, local farm produced ingredients). We also had dinner there on the first night before pre-dinner drinks in the lovely bar. Dinner was absolutely delicious – definitely fine dining.

Our bedroom was large, with a huge really comfortable bed (crisp white Italian cotton sheets), sofa, desk, two wardrobes, chest of drawers, flat screen TV and free broadband. It was spotlessly clean. We were given fluffy bathrobes and slippers. Good quality tea and coffee and complimentary water was available in the bedroom plus a jug of Fresh milk and a supply of free chocolate!

The staff are extremely charming and made us free extremely welcome. The hotel is perfect for romantic break, it also welcomes children, dogs and is set up for business meeting and private dining. It would be a perfect place for a wedding or private party as you could take over the whole venue and pretend it was your country home!

During our stay we visited Lyme Regis for a spot of fossil hunting and also Weston Super Mare, both are within 40mins drive away. The hotel is an excellent base from which to visit Somerset and Dorset. Martock (a few minutes drive) is a charming market town and worth a visit. If you want an easy country walk on road from the hotel, there is a horseshoe walk at the back of the hotel.

We really enjoyed our staff and can highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Our room was large - it was first left at the top of the stairs.I think they have same size rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellenkeegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We visited Ash House Hotel again at the beginning of November this year. It was like going home. The house and staff make you feel that you are part of a private house party. As before, the room was excellent - their beds are truly comfortable - and the food and atmosphere are wonderful. We visited the local towns that we hadn't seen before and paddled around in the mist and rain looking forward to returning to the hotel to be greeted with a roaring log fire in the bar, a nice warm bedroom and a long hot bath! We hope to go again early next year and continue our excursions around Somerset and Dorset.

Room Tip: There are only 10 rooms (all named after apples!). We have only stayed in twin-bedded rooms and bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gourmetsinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martock
5.1 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
370 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
382 reviews
5.2 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
239 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
577 reviews
3.3 mi away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ash House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash House Hotel

Address: 41 Main Street | Ash, Martock, Yeovil TA12 6PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > Martock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Price Range: £76 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ash House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ash House hotel is a stunning 300 year old manor house set in 1.5 acres of mature gardens. Conveniently situated under a mile off of the A303 at Yeovil, Ash House Hotel is the ideal stop over if traveling through the area or a base to explore from. All of our bedrooms have fine Italian cotton sheets, large fluffy towels and power showers, most rooms have baths also. Relax by the fire in the snug bar or enjoy our excellent locally sourced menu in the Orangery overlooking the flood lit garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Ash House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ash Hotel Country
Ash House Hotel Martock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing