We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent Sunday lunch”
Review of Ash House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ash House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“An excellent Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Didn't stay over on this occasion but managed to stop and have Sunday lunch, it was presented beautifully and tasted delicious and to cap it all was great value, cheers... can't wait to come back and stop over.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJODubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    56
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
126
11
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Studio City, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

3 day stay for a family wedding nearby. Of highest compliment was the excellent service and hospitality from the owner Gordon down to the service staff, with special kudos to Joe and Chris for friendly always smiling help! Beautiful Georgian mansion, 9 bedrooms, all very high standard. Stayed in Russet room, top floor. LARGE room, sitting area, large flat screen,wood beamed room ( mind your head!), full ensuite bath with power shower, plenty of hot water. Beautiful glassed in conservatory for breakfast or other meals with lovely garden views - breakfast menu did not change, but offered buffet cereals, porridge, fruit, home baked croissants, juices, French press coffee, tea, then a hot breakfast with base of full English breakfast, but accomodating to any hot variations thereof. Had only one lunch at the restaurant, which was superb salmon, high standard and presentation. Wish I had a chance to dine there at night.Nice drawing room/salon with snug fully equipped bar,well priced in my opinion.Plenty of on site parking.Easy to locate,quick access to A303.Local area filled with lovely English countryside villages,crafts, and very narrow small roads with high hedges! Would definitely return as first choice on my next visit - hopefully very very soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muttlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We has just returned from our sixth stay, two visits a year, always the same room, and as always a warm and friendly welcome from Gordon and his staff. We use this hotel as a base to visit various houses and gardens in the area. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who asks and do so at length. Nice touch is the fresh milk for your tea/coffee on arrival. The room is a nice size and is always clean and tidy and the bed is just right.
The bathroom is a good size and clean the towels and robes are clean and neatly pressed, the bathroom could do with an update though.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wooddust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
145 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

My wife and I were attending a wedding in nearby Long Sutton, and also helping with some of the preparations prior to the wedding. We chose to stay at the Ash House for six nights on the basis of the comments on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. Ash House is a beautiful old building set in lovely grounds in a quiet village. The owner, Gordon, and his staff could not have been more helpful, from waiting for our arrival at nearly midnight (we had driven down from Heathrow after arriving in from America) to letting us cut greenery from the garden to use in the floral arrangement for the wedding.
The breakfasts were great and we had two evening meals. The food was imaginative and well presented. I had beef on the second night and it was rather chewy, although very tasty. My wife makes a 'study' of sticky toffee pudding desserts and pronounced their's one of the very best that she had ever had.
Our room was clean and of a reasonable size. The decoarations were slightly dated.
Overall it was perfect for us - a calm oasis away from the frenetic activity at the wedding site.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Positives first :

Beautiful period building and grounds, nice rooms furnished in keeping with the style and ambience of the place. Great service, warm welcome.

Not so good :

Food was disappointing, the cheese board was particularly pedestrian. For the price I hoped for something much better.

Overall a nice place, a better restaurant (chef) would elevate the whole deal and make it rather special.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWD42, Owner at Ash House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thank you for your feed back. I am sorry you felt that the food was not up to scratch, I am always keen to hear feedback on all aspects of the hotel. I can only deduce that you had a less than perfect meal on the night and this of course is something that I have brought to the attention of the chef. As you will be able to see from the majority of reviews, our food is normally reviewed very highly and I feel your comment that the hotel requires a new chef to be rather harsh. We will try to ensure that our meals are more than acceptable to our guests and strive to make sure all of our guests have a wonderful time at Ash House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Stayed here again on our way through to Devon, but will be returning shortly for longer. House and grounds are very special and everything about this hotel is just wonderful, from the friendly greeting (usually by the owner) to the lovely calming rooms and the oh so comfy beds. The food must be tasted to be believed, fresh (much straight from the garden) cooked to perfection and beautifully presented by truly friendly staff who seem genuinely to want to make your stay as pleasant as possible. A big thank you to them for, once again, making our trip so memorable. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Just returned from weekend break. Very relaxing, rooms lovely and food excellent. Gardens a delight to sit in. We had to take our dog with us - no problem very welcome to stay. Staff very helpful and friendly. If you are looking for a relaxing break just book you will have a great time!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaynorheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martock
5.0 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
6.0 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
5.2 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ash House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash House Hotel

Property: Ash House Hotel
Address: 41 Main Street | Ash, Martock, Yeovil TA12 6PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > Martock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ash House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ash House hotel is a stunning 300 year old manor house set in 1.5 acres of mature gardens. Conveniently situated under a mile off of the A303 at Yeovil, Ash House Hotel is the ideal stop over if traveling through the area or a base to explore from. All of our bedrooms have fine Italian cotton sheets, large fluffy towels and power showers, most rooms have baths also. Relax by the fire in the snug bar or enjoy our excellent locally sourced menu in the Orangery overlooking the flood lit garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ash House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ash Hotel Country
Ash House Hotel Martock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing