We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of Ash House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ash House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed just one night at this charming hotel, not too far off the beaten track but still quiet.
The welcome was warm and friendly but not too overpowering. The room whilst not huge was fine for us and the bathroom was big with a bath and a shower. There are bigger rooms if you want more space. The decor was in keeping with the Georgian building and we could see the attention to detail throughout. Food was excellent and good portion sizes too. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff were friendly and professional.
We would recommend it and will stay again when in the area. There are plenty of National Trust properties to view nearby, and we highly recommend Stourhead with its lovely massive garden and lake.

Room Tip: We had Pippin (rooms are named after apples) which wasn't huge (bathroom was big) but there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    56
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
42
127
11
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We had a lovely two nights in the Ash House Hotel. Staff were friendly and welcoming. The food was amazing. We stayed on a Wowcher deal and were probably in one of the more basic rooms. It was well appointed with top notch tea & coffee etc. and toiletries, but a little on the small side with a standard double bed - hence the 4 out of 5 'stars'. The hotel is in a lovely village with great access to main roads which took us to Glastonbury and to Lyme Regis. A thoroughly enjoyable experience, thanks Ash House Hotel staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in March 2013 & were quite impressed. It is a beautiful building set in nice grounds, we had a very nice welcome & were shown straight up to our room. Our room was I think called Braeburn and it was on the small side, bit difficult to walk around the bed due to the table with the TV on it but other than that it was a pleasant enough room and to be fair we stayed at quite a discounted price so didn't expect one of the larger rooms. We ate in their Orangery restaurant on the first night and the food was lovely & service was good. Breakfast was very good too. We went to the pub down the road both nights for a drink and that was a very busy friendly village pub definitely worth a visit when you stay as it is only a 5 min walk and it is open until 1am on Friday's and Saturday's if you fancy a late night. We were visiting family not far away and would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRDCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltash
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

......excellent welcome by the owner Gordon, shown to a delightful room, (all have apple themed names) excellent attention to detail with provision of green tea, hot chocolate, fresh milk, and delicious assorted biscuits.
This lovely hotel is peacefully situated in the village of Ash, but close to main road links, enabling us to visit the local sights easily.
Dinner was amazing, probably the best slow braised belly pork (with crackling) I have ever tasted,
the service from Anna was perfect, attentive but not intrusive.
A roaring log fire in the cosy bar (& free wifi ) allowed us to continue to engage with work despite
having a few away days.....
the sheets and towels were heavenly, the buffet breakfast was a joy, with freshly brewed coffee & toast seemingly endless...I would love to stay there again

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deltaSaltash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

we stayed in Greensleeves; perhaps one of the smaller rooms, but nonetheless very well decorated, clean and attractive, with an exceptionally comfortable bed - pillows were lovely!! Loved the touch of having a small fridge in the hallway outside our room, containing fresh milk, rather than a reliance on UHT sachets in the room. The drawing room/bar is small but beautiful and the G&T my partner had was perhaps the best presented of the past ten years; the tonic being served in a spotlessly clean glass jug - a lovely touch.
Overall, our stay could not have been better (other than the weather, for which we cannot hold our hosts accountable). Very many thanks.

Room Tip: it probably doesn't matter - all are unique and well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 482RogerC482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Once more Gordon looked after us to the usual high standard and the staff could not be more helpful, the food is presented well and is just the right quantity for us to enjoy without feeling obliged to make us uncomfortably full, many thanks.
We have already booked another break in September.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wooddust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Attended a wedding reception last weekend and the staff were very welcoming and friendly. The setting is also very pleasant. The meal had good and bad points. I was impressed that the meal was hot as there were over 50 diners and I know this can be an issue. The beef and chicken were moist and tasty. The chicken and leek tart starter also had no complaints. However, the yorkshire pudding were distinctly singed around the edges (and putting it on the plate upside down, to hide the fact, is not acceptable). The potatoes were tough to eat like they had been kept around waiting. The crumble dessert had barely any crumble!!!! And apple and blackberry is not exactly seasonal! The custard, for those that got any, was watery. I cannot comment on the rooms as we were not staying overnight.
It feels as if they are trying but missing the mark on several counts.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martock
5.0 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
349 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
364 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
234 reviews
5.2 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
5.7 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ash House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash House Hotel

Property: Ash House Hotel
Address: 41 Main Street | Ash, Martock, Yeovil TA12 6PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > Martock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ash House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ash House hotel is a stunning 300 year old manor house set in 1.5 acres of mature gardens. Conveniently situated under a mile off of the A303 at Yeovil, Ash House Hotel is the ideal stop over if traveling through the area or a base to explore from. All of our bedrooms have fine Italian cotton sheets, large fluffy towels and power showers, most rooms have baths also. Relax by the fire in the snug bar or enjoy our excellent locally sourced menu in the Orangery overlooking the flood lit garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ash House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ash Hotel Country
Ash House Hotel Martock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing