We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Ash House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ash House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful four night stay at Ash House - it is highly recommended. We were warmly welcomed by Gordon and his staff. Our room was large and very comfortable, with beautiful white crisp linen. The food is really excellent - breakfasts were delicious but flexible (you don't have to go for a full fry up every day and can pick and choose) and the food at lunchtime and in the evening was equally brilliant. It is very well located for exploring Somerset. This is a very well run little hotel - in places you can tell that some small aspects of the decor are a more long term project, but all the bits that matter most (welcome, comfort, food and location) are all very good and we wish the team all the best - we hope to return.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank AGJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights. Perfect getaway. small hotel very cosy. the food is excellent. service first class. would recommend to friends.Had evening meal absoutely lovely looking out onto gardens. breakfeast very good all locally sourced products including the pottery bowls brought locally. The apple juice at breakfeast also brought locally. attention to detail is what counts well done to you gordon

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shebaHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

10/10 location. Lovely quiet village in the heart of Somerset.
10/10 staff. Owner was a lovely welcoming chap, waitresses couldn't help enough.
10/10 dog friendly.
11/10 food. Absolutely gorgeous, top class

Overall would defiantly recommend this place. Enjoy

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Harry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This was our first stay at the Ash House Hotel as we were looking for a nice place to stay prior and after Yeovilton Air Day. We arrived on Friday night and immediately felt very welcome by the fantastic staff. We had our drinks brought to us in the garden and chose to have dinner at the hotel that same evening. We were happily surprised to be offered a complimentary mushroom velouté whilst we were waiting for our meal which was absolutely delicious and the meal that ensued was also fabulous. The room was perfect, the bed absolute comfort and our whole stay was just amazing. Big props to Andy for giving us tips on the good places around the hotel for food and drinks too! We will most certainly be back next year!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RikandCecile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This was our third visit to Ash House Hotel, and we enjoyed it just as much as our first visit. The staff were as attentive and friendly as ever. It seems that nothing is too much trouble.

We ate both nights in the restaurant with the quality of food being better than some of the London restaurants that I have been to. The wine list has a great selection of high quality affordable wines.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Had a family gathering to celebrate our birthday.
Wonderful setting and house, beautifully furnished. Rooms well appointed incl tea and coffee and nice toiletries.
Food was excellent and the staff warm and friendly

Can highly recommend this little Gem in the West Country

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

A very pleasant small country hotel quietly situated one mile off the A303. The food is excellent, the staff welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. We will certainly stay there again when in the area.

Room Tip: Our room was called Ambrosia, a superior double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martock
2.0 mi away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
378 reviews
5.1 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
364 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
3.3 mi away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
250 reviews
10.9 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ash House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash House Hotel

Address: 41 Main Street | Ash, Martock, Yeovil TA12 6PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > Martock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Price Range: £83 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ash House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ash House hotel is a stunning 300 year old manor house set in 1.5 acres of mature gardens. Conveniently situated under a mile off of the A303 at Yeovil, Ash House Hotel is the ideal stop over if traveling through the area or a base to explore from. All of our bedrooms have fine Italian cotton sheets, large fluffy towels and power showers, most rooms have baths also. Relax by the fire in the snug bar or enjoy our excellent locally sourced menu in the Orangery overlooking the flood lit garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ash House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ash Hotel Country
Ash House Hotel Martock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing