We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing & comfortable stay!”
Review of Ash House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ash House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Certificate of Excellence
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing & comfortable stay!”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed at Ash House for 3 nights at the end of September. We loved our very comfortable room, which included the best bathrobes...good quality bed linen & lots of little extras that made our stay the best we had throughout the UK!.....the food in the restaurant was amazing!....I took photos, we were so impressed with the quality & presentation...5 star....breakfast included was great!....Gordon is very attentive, & his experience as an event coordinator in the past, has helped make this a cut above!...the ladies in both reception & in the restaurant looked after us beautifully....we were a day ahead of ourselves...we went to check out & realised we had a night to spare before we needed to be in London....thankfully we were able to stay a third night!.....we enjoyed meeting Gordon's dog too!......

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loulou100957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    56
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
40
126
11
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Whyteleafe
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My wife and I have just stayed for 2 nights at Ash House Hotel , we had a very pleasant weekend for our wedding anniversary .
We booked a 2 night full board superior room , with a complementary bottle of champagne!
We stayed in Ambrosia , a large room with windows looking out over the side carpark and hills beyond, we had the window slightly open at night , absolutely no problems with noise , there was none. The 6ft wide bed (2 x 3ft single beds together,but you could no fell the join) was one of the most comfortable i have slept in for a long time, huge puffy quilt , no chance of getting cold.
We ate in the resturant both nights , the food was excellent , very good quality ingredients , generous portions and wonderful flavours . Both meals were the best we have eaten for a long time and very well priced . We had a bottle of red wine " la chamiza 2011 Malbec " from Argentina it was delicious , one we shall look for again. Breakfasts were also very good quality , cereal , croissant , toast and any cooked combination you wanted.
The owners and all their staff were very friendly , helpful and attentantive , but never intrusive and always available if you needed them.
We popped our heads in a couple of the other rooms and they all looked very comfy and well euipped.
Overall a very enjoyable expereince and would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

on our way to cornwall we stopped at this delightful small hotel. we were warmly welcomed by Gordon. `our rooms were very clean and comfortable. We had a super dinner in the restaurant accompanied by some very good wine recommended by Gordon. `our night at Ash House was tip top - and even better a short hop to the Mulberry factory store the next morning!! Thanks Gordon and team

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boater21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful four night stay at Ash House - it is highly recommended. We were warmly welcomed by Gordon and his staff. Our room was large and very comfortable, with beautiful white crisp linen. The food is really excellent - breakfasts were delicious but flexible (you don't have to go for a full fry up every day and can pick and choose) and the food at lunchtime and in the evening was equally brilliant. It is very well located for exploring Somerset. This is a very well run little hotel - in places you can tell that some small aspects of the decor are a more long term project, but all the bits that matter most (welcome, comfort, food and location) are all very good and we wish the team all the best - we hope to return.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AGJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights. Perfect getaway. small hotel very cosy. the food is excellent. service first class. would recommend to friends.Had evening meal absoutely lovely looking out onto gardens. breakfeast very good all locally sourced products including the pottery bowls brought locally. The apple juice at breakfeast also brought locally. attention to detail is what counts well done to you gordon

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shebaHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

10/10 location. Lovely quiet village in the heart of Somerset.
10/10 staff. Owner was a lovely welcoming chap, waitresses couldn't help enough.
10/10 dog friendly.
11/10 food. Absolutely gorgeous, top class

Overall would defiantly recommend this place. Enjoy

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Harry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This was our first stay at the Ash House Hotel as we were looking for a nice place to stay prior and after Yeovilton Air Day. We arrived on Friday night and immediately felt very welcome by the fantastic staff. We had our drinks brought to us in the garden and chose to have dinner at the hotel that same evening. We were happily surprised to be offered a complimentary mushroom velouté whilst we were waiting for our meal which was absolutely delicious and the meal that ensued was also fabulous. The room was perfect, the bed absolute comfort and our whole stay was just amazing. Big props to Andy for giving us tips on the good places around the hotel for food and drinks too! We will most certainly be back next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RikandCecile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martock
5.0 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
6.0 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
5.2 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ash House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash House Hotel

Property: Ash House Hotel
Address: 41 Main Street | Ash, Martock, Yeovil TA12 6PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > Martock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ash House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ash House hotel is a stunning 300 year old manor house set in 1.5 acres of mature gardens. Conveniently situated under a mile off of the A303 at Yeovil, Ash House Hotel is the ideal stop over if traveling through the area or a base to explore from. All of our bedrooms have fine Italian cotton sheets, large fluffy towels and power showers, most rooms have baths also. Relax by the fire in the snug bar or enjoy our excellent locally sourced menu in the Orangery overlooking the flood lit garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ash House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ash Hotel Country
Ash House Hotel Martock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing