We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed and revitalised stay”
Review of Ash House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ash House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Relaxed and revitalised stay”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Arrived on Friday, relieved to see no floods, actually only 2.5% is flooded. Gordon the proprietor helped me (friend coming later) with my bag. Shown to room with a fresh pot of milk in hand. Ok so the room, greensleeves, isn't as stunning as I hoped but it's cute and spotlessly clean as was the bathroom and as is the rest of the hotel. The view of the back yard and the bins less desirable. I am sure that as the hotel wasn't full then I could have asked for a better room. After an awful journey I just didn't have the energy. Staff so very friendly, smiles all round and if you want to chat then they will, if you don't want to chat then they'll leave you be.
Breakfast was devine esp the black pudding, a first for me. Eve dinner was WOW! Beautiful. A long time since I've eaten that well, fresh local produce.
Ok so the hotel still needs loads of work ie painting, replacing bathrooms etc. carpets being done soon, but this is a great hotel to unwind and is still work in progress. If you want every bedroom to look the same then stay at a chain hotel, if you want charm stay here.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWD42, Owner at Ash House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for your review, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry you did not feel your room was as good as you had hoped. This was the only standard room available for the two nights you stayed, there was an option to upgrade to a superior room on the wowcher booking form which you declined. The offer of 2 nights for £89 for bed and breakfast was only valid for a standard room and our superior rooms are, well, superior! I hope you will stay with us again and I can take you on a tour of all of our rooms.

Kind regards

Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    58
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
42
130
11
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Spent two nights at this lovely country house.A beautiful place, lovingly restored, clean and attention to detail.Every thing was first class. Gordon and his staff, couldnt do enough to make our stay more pleasent.
A quiet retreat and very relaxing.
Would definately recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Arrived very late on a Friday night whilst Gordon and staff were shovelling up the stragglers from a lively private party and whilst we must have been an enormous inconvenience at the time,were given the warmest and most attentive of welcomes - a spirit which was maintained throughout the weekend. Lovely Georgian manor house in seemingly excellent condition with quality facilities and the most hospitable of staff - a charming spot. Only one point of regret was that we didn't dine there,having (mistakenly perhaps) interpreted the website suggesting that an evening meal was not a major feature - not the case,and there is a quality menu and dining room which we hope to take advantage of on a future stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Porkyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Gordon and team welcomed us with champagne and canapes and we were off to a super start.
As a group of friends out for a weekend away it was the ideal place. The rooms are cosy with all the amenities that you need. We had dinner and breakfast both were terrific. The restaurant itself with the Orangerie is very pretty as are the gardens. Gordon and the staff made us very welcome and were superb hosts.Very much looking forward to visiting again in May/June.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickychinagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level 6 Contributor
495 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We wanted somewhere to stay overnight near Yeovil and selected AHH from previous TA reviews. We requested an early check in as we were heading off to Poole with elderly family for an early supper followed by a concert from the John Wilson Orchestra and were being picked up at 3.30 (In passing I should add that JNC Travel from Yeovil were excellent for our trip to Poole).

After checking it was ready, we were shown up to the room right at the top of the house, earlier than we had requested and this was really appreciated as we had envisaged a bit of a rush to freshen up to go out.

The weather had turned cold and the room (Russet) was particularly chilly when we entered but were told it would soon warm up. Unfortunately it did not as the radiators were not actually turned up, but once this was spotted it was easily rectified. The room is a reasonable size, but being up in the eaves had 2 big beams at an angle either side of the bed, one of which needed care to negotiate past. The bed was quite comfortable and the sheets were very crisp and pleasant to sleep on. There are 2 windows and one of the curtains could do with being a few inches longer to fully cover the window, although they only look out on to the roof.

There was a reasonable selection of coffee, tea and chocolate and although clean, the carpet was quite light and did have a few marks on it. The bathroom is a reasonable size and the shower good.

There are a lot of pieces of art in the hotel which added to our interest and also we enjoyed the background music, especially the classical in the reception area.

We returned just after 11, after dropping off our elderly concert guests and it was very nice to sit and chill in the lounge with a glass of Merlot, which we discovered on checkout was very reasonably priced.

Breakfast was served in the conservatory with a small buffet followed by a full English which was very well cooked and very, very tasty, especially the black pudding.

Overall we had a pleasant stay, in a comfortable hotel, were very well looked after and we both thought it would be good to have the opportunity to eat dinner at AHH in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This was our fourth visit to Ash House at Ash near Martock. We received a warm welcome from Gordon and his staff and as always, we felt we were at a private house party. The food was delicious, the beds very comfortable and lovely white linen and bathrobes. Despite the weather being wet, we enjoyed visiting the local villages and towns around Dorset and Somerset and to return to the hotel for tea. Then a G&T in the bar with a roaring fire before a super dinner - Great Chef. A lovely few days and a great way to spend a Birthday.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gourmetsinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We came to Ash House for my birthday weekend and just fell in love with the place. The welcome from Gordon and his staff made us feel at home. It is so personal they almost make you feel as if you are staying in the house as a friend! The food and wine were reasonably priced and simply outstanding. We ate in the restaurant both nights as we were so impressed! Breakfast is also wonderful with a vast array of tasty cereals, local produce and wonderful full english or variations thereafter, nothing was a hassle. The hotel is reminiscent of an elegant manor house/hunting lodge. Gordon is slowly renovating the entire house so if you are very picky there are parts of the house that look a little tired. But ALL the important things are so so very right. Beautiful crisp linen sheets, fluffy white towels, dressing gowns, complimentary slippers, crazy-good food and a warm welcome. Totally recommend. We will visit here again and I have no doubt once he has finished his refurbishment and word spreads more about this boutique gem and stunning restaurant, this hotel will be booked out long in advance.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyR_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martock
5.1 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
354 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
371 reviews
3.3 mi away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
5.7 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
562 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Preston Hotel
The Preston Hotel
#8 of 13 in Yeovil
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ash House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash House Hotel

Property: Ash House Hotel
Address: 41 Main Street | Ash, Martock, Yeovil TA12 6PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > Martock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ash House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ash House hotel is a stunning 300 year old manor house set in 1.5 acres of mature gardens. Conveniently situated under a mile off of the A303 at Yeovil, Ash House Hotel is the ideal stop over if traveling through the area or a base to explore from. All of our bedrooms have fine Italian cotton sheets, large fluffy towels and power showers, most rooms have baths also. Relax by the fire in the snug bar or enjoy our excellent locally sourced menu in the Orangery overlooking the flood lit garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Ash House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ash Hotel Country
Ash House Hotel Martock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing