We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect stay...”
Review of Ash House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ash House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A perfect stay...”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My wife and I travelled as a couple and stayed for two nights. We used Ash House as a base for our walking trips (of which there are many that start and finish within a 5 mile or so radius of the hotel).

We had a perfect stay and can't think of a single thing that would have made it better than it was. All the staff (sorry, we don't recall your names!) were extremely friendly, attentive, accommodating and professional.

We ate in the restaurant on our first evening and had beautiful, delicious food and a good bottle of wine. Of course, we're sure that you could 'go cheaper' in a local pub but this was definitely worth it and actually not that expensive all things considered. The ambience in the dining room and the drawing room/ bar area was lovely with an open fire, nice music and books to browse. Breakfast in the conservatory was also very good; again, the food and ambience were great and when my wife was keen not to get up early for breakfast they offered us a slightly later starting time!

We had a room overlooking the garden. It was quiet, reasonably sized, very clean and had all the facilities we needed. The bed was comfortable and very conducive to a good night's sleep.

Thank you Ash House. We really appreciated the attention to detail in all aspects of our experience. We would stay again and would definitely recommend you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    56
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
42
128
11
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
ilminster
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We had dinner for our anniversary last night, and it was a really wonderful evening. Gordon and the staff are friendly and efficient. The hotel is beautiful - warm and comfortable with soft lighting and just the right kind of background music in the bar. The meal was delicious and the desserts such a picture that we took photos of them! We will definitely be back, as it's the best meal we have had in the area.
If we had one tiny comment, it would be that the service felt just slightly rushed, as there was very little time between courses, and slowing it down just a little would make for a perfect experience.
We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rovingspringfielder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Arrived at Ash Hotel to be welcomed by an extremely hospitable Gordon and staff. Staying here due to business in Yeovil that is literally 10 minutes away. After a long journey instantly relaxed in this beautiful oasis.
We are booking a series of business conferences here due to such a prestigious location and fantastic amenities. The food here is truly wonderful there is nothing that I can fault and would highly recommend for businesses and individuals I will be coming back with my husband when we visit the fleet museum.

Room Tip: Ambrosia was the room I stayed in simply stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yasmine0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
English Traveller
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Entirely agree with previous positive reviews. OK, so we aren't talking Relais Chateaux furbishments here (you'd have to pay considerably more for that) but we are talking RC standards of service and attention to detail.
We stayed overnight in two rooms with our teenage son. Both rooms were small but comfortable with en suite facilities, complimentary beverages, bottled water etc. (Unsolicited & probably unwelcome 'decor' tip Gordon - Give the cheap looking pine wardrobe & tables a coat of Farrow & Ball!).
Gordon the proprietor and his excellent staff made us very welcome. Dinner in the restaurant was superb as was the wonderful breakfast in the Orangery. (How often cheaper hotels fall down on things like the coffee & juices - not the Ash House Hotel). Standards are first class.
In summary, a gorgeous building & garden, terrific food & staff. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If staying more than one night you'd probably want to spend the extra for a 'superior' r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSSEnglishTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Arrived on Friday, relieved to see no floods, actually only 2.5% is flooded. Gordon the proprietor helped me (friend coming later) with my bag. Shown to room with a fresh pot of milk in hand. Ok so the room, greensleeves, isn't as stunning as I hoped but it's cute and spotlessly clean as was the bathroom and as is the rest of the hotel. The view of the back yard and the bins less desirable. I am sure that as the hotel wasn't full then I could have asked for a better room. After an awful journey I just didn't have the energy. Staff so very friendly, smiles all round and if you want to chat then they will, if you don't want to chat then they'll leave you be.
Breakfast was devine esp the black pudding, a first for me. Eve dinner was WOW! Beautiful. A long time since I've eaten that well, fresh local produce.
Ok so the hotel still needs loads of work ie painting, replacing bathrooms etc. carpets being done soon, but this is a great hotel to unwind and is still work in progress. If you want every bedroom to look the same then stay at a chain hotel, if you want charm stay here.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWD42, Owner at Ash House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for your review, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry you did not feel your room was as good as you had hoped. This was the only standard room available for the two nights you stayed, there was an option to upgrade to a superior room on the wowcher booking form which you declined. The offer of 2 nights for £89 for bed and breakfast was only valid for a standard room and our superior rooms are, well, superior! I hope you will stay with us again and I can take you on a tour of all of our rooms.

Kind regards

Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Spent two nights at this lovely country house.A beautiful place, lovingly restored, clean and attention to detail.Every thing was first class. Gordon and his staff, couldnt do enough to make our stay more pleasent.
A quiet retreat and very relaxing.
Would definately recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Arrived very late on a Friday night whilst Gordon and staff were shovelling up the stragglers from a lively private party and whilst we must have been an enormous inconvenience at the time,were given the warmest and most attentive of welcomes - a spirit which was maintained throughout the weekend. Lovely Georgian manor house in seemingly excellent condition with quality facilities and the most hospitable of staff - a charming spot. Only one point of regret was that we didn't dine there,having (mistakenly perhaps) interpreted the website suggesting that an evening meal was not a major feature - not the case,and there is a quality menu and dining room which we hope to take advantage of on a future stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Porkyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martock
5.0 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
351 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
365 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
235 reviews
5.2 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
5.7 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ash House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash House Hotel

Property: Ash House Hotel
Address: 41 Main Street | Ash, Martock, Yeovil TA12 6PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > Martock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ash House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ash House hotel is a stunning 300 year old manor house set in 1.5 acres of mature gardens. Conveniently situated under a mile off of the A303 at Yeovil, Ash House Hotel is the ideal stop over if traveling through the area or a base to explore from. All of our bedrooms have fine Italian cotton sheets, large fluffy towels and power showers, most rooms have baths also. Relax by the fire in the snug bar or enjoy our excellent locally sourced menu in the Orangery overlooking the flood lit garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ash House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ash Hotel Country
Ash House Hotel Martock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing