We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine Queen Anne house in peaceful location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ash House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ash House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fine Queen Anne house in peaceful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We recently spent 2 nights (dinner, bed and breakfast) at Ash House.

The house is being gradually renovated: the owner has introduced some tasteful decor in keeping with the age of the building. The dining-room and the conservatory are particularly fine.

Our room (The Alderman) was large and comfortable. Although it overlooked the road, it was quiet, as this is a minor road. The hotel has plenty of parking space.

We enjoyed breakfast in the conservatory which overlooks the magnificent garden. We were less happy with the evening meals. The food was generous and well presented but we felt that some of the combinations were not successful - for instance the chicken on a bed of risotto flavoured with fennel (?)

The owner made us very welcome and all members of the staff were courteous and attentive.

We have no hesitation in recommending Ash House as a relaxing and comfortable venue.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWD42, Owner at Ash House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The dish you had was oven roasted corn fed chicken with a mushroom and tarragon risotto, a classic combination which has been a recognised flavour combination for generations. I am sorry that you felt that the dish was not to your liking and have asked our head chef to have a look at the dish to ensure that it is freshly cooked to the usual high standards that I insist on. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    53
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
40
124
11
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Staying for a couple if nights as I'm taking part in the Tour of Wessex. Excellent relaxed but so attentive.
Lovely food and nice rooms. Highly recommend if your travelling around the County or passing through. Not over expensive either.....

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesMKemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed for the second time at this hotel to calibrate a major birthday two nights dinner bed and breakfast, a very nice time was had , excellent food, cooked just right. A very good clean room, and happy staff. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graham w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

For around £70 you can stay in a travelodge near an industrial estate or a Premier Inn where everything is nailed down. Or for a similar price you can stay here. A fabulous large stone house with just the right balance of restoration and originality. The staff and owners are extremely welcoming and our room was excellent - bath a bit small though. The chef is a genius, and a well chosen wine list means that dining here was a delight - around £55 for two with a very good bottle of red. The breakfast was marvellous, a perfect start top the day.

It amazes me that the hotel chains keep going with lovely hotels like this dotted about in such a tranquil location. We shall return!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andyboy390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxfordshire,UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We spent the weekend here while visiting our son who lives and works close by.

The welcome on arrival from the staff was fantastic and after being shown to our room we were invited to book a table in the restaurant for that night which was a smart move as the meal was gorgeous and great value, a few drinks in the bar after dinner and then off to bed .

The bedroom was quiet the bed was very comfortable and the in-room tea and coffee making facility's were welcome,there is a fridge outside the rooms which has a supply of fresh milk and snacks.

Breakfast taken in the Orangery over looking the fantastic calming garden had plenty of choice and the full English breakfast was beautifully cooked

Thank's Gordon for a relaxing weekend we will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foodie_56_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We had a work meeting here, lovely place with a great manager/owner. The lunch was brilliant and the dinner perfect! Lovely comfy bedrooms and with towels big enough to cover all of me and not just my thigh! Only comment would be...Maybe choice of pillows (thick&medium) instead of all thick ones?!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

It was a pleasant surprise to find good quality bedding in a small guest house, all very pleasant amenities with everything we needed for an overnight stay. Uncomfortable open-coil mattress though.
The food in the restaurant lived up to expectations and was truely delicious. Unfortunately there was limited provision for vegetarians at breakfast time, but we were given a good portion of mushrooms & eggs. Glad we found this little treasure in the beautiful village of Ash.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martock
5.1 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
5.3 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ash House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash House Hotel

Property: Ash House Hotel
Address: 41 Main Street | Ash, Martock, Yeovil TA12 6PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > Martock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ash House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ash House hotel is a stunning 300 year old manor house set in 1.5 acres of mature gardens. Conveniently situated under a mile off of the A303 at Yeovil, Ash House Hotel is the ideal stop over if traveling through the area or a base to explore from. All of our bedrooms have fine Italian cotton sheets, large fluffy towels and power showers, most rooms have baths also. Relax by the fire in the snug bar or enjoy our excellent locally sourced menu in the Orangery overlooking the flood lit garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ash House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ash Hotel Country
Ash House Hotel Martock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing