We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roj & Sarah - Rainy retreat”

White Hart Hotel Martock
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
White Hart Hotel Martock
Ranked #1 of 3 Martock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Roj & Sarah - Rainy retreat”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stopped off here for lunch to get out of the rain in March 2013, having set out walking from our hotel in Ash on a seemingly dry day. by the time we reached Martock we were soaked to the skin and were glad of a warm cozy restaurant in which to take refuge from the weather. Whilst the hotel itself appeared rather simple in appearance, the quality of service became immediately appaent, which tempted us to peruse the menu for lunch.
we opted for a two course lunch of starter an main and were not disappointed - the simple, yet perfectly combined and presented ingredients of the garlic mushroom starter were simply sublime; rarely can you rave about garlic mushrooms, but these were the best we have ever tasted!
As our overcoats dried on the antique radiators of the lounge bar/dining area, we got talking to the owners, who we found to be most amiable (English Husband and petite French Wife with adorable, well behaved children - who also ate in the restaurant). We found the hospitality to be second to none; nothing was too much trouble - in fact, we didn't have to ask for anything due to the attentive nature of the waiter who expertly managed to get the balance between attentive and intrusive just right - when you wanted him, he was there, when we were chatting privately, he was not. The food was excellent; the locally sourced vegetables cooked to perfection.
As we finished our meal and prepared to leave (wrapping ourselves in our still damp overcoats), the heavens opened up once more, prompting the owner to offer to personally drive us back to our hotel a few miles away! We gratefully accepted and undertook to write of our experience in this forum; which we now, as promised, do. Thank you for a memorable day, sublime food and customer service second to none - we shall, without doubt, be back and sincerely hope that this brief critique prompts others to do likewise.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 482RogerC482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    33
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
30
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We chose this hostelry for lunch recently and were very impressed. There is a nice welcoming atmosphere and an interesting menu. I was intrigued to read that one review comments that the menu has become less French, as we felt that there was a definite French influence - and not just in the menu, but in the atmosphere and the concept of an eatery/public house, with rooms. Although of course, historically these were common in England too, with coaching houses in many towns.

Anyway, we were given the option of eating in the bar or restaurant, but both menu's were open to us - there was no restriction on what menu we could order from. We chose to eat in the bar, to benefit from the pub atmosphere. My husband chose to have the Cottage Pie from the bar lunch menu, but I chose the Moule from the main menu and luckily decided to have the Starter sized portion, as I was not hungry enough for a big meal. Just as well that I did, as the portion was very generous and they were delicious, soft, succulent and very tasty, with a well flavoured white wine sauce. The cottage pie was very obviously homemade, with plenty of meat filling and a crusted potato top, all served with a very good selection of veggies - carrots, mashed swede, parsnips, broccoli and cauliflower.

The staff were friendly and helpful and as others have commented, it seems the locals make good use of this welcoming establishment as a public house, as a few drinkers came and went while we were there.

We were very impressed with the White Hart and it's on our list to return to - and with it being only ten miles or so from our home, I'm sure we will be back there again soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orchid4841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We are a family of five and frequently travel between London and Plymouth. We chanced upon this pub/hotel a few years ago but now use it as a halfway stop on our trips. We have never been disappointed with the food but have noticed that the once French themed food has got more English traditional with some surprises.

The landlord and staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the lunchtime menu is particularly good value and well portioned. Although the car-park is small there is plenty of free parking within 100yds.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberleylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

A very welcoming and friendly pub/hotel. We had lunch and the food was of the highest quality as was the service. We will be using this excellent venue again. The pricing was also very competitive and the wine of a good quality.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavranche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We stayed with a group of friends in this lovely little country pub/hotel. We had a nice large, quiet room overlooking the car park. Others in our group all reported large rooms, with even single rooms having two beds. We had plenty of room to unpack our things, with a small bathroom with room to unpack as well. Just a very small shower and no bath, so impossible to wash your feet properly without getting your shower cap drenched, but otherwise most things worked well, other than the shaving light. I always find hotel beds uncomfortable as they are usually too hard for me and this one was no exception, with some lumps as well, and others reported similar views. Nice to know that perhaps it isn't just me.

The food was really nice. I had beef stroganoff for dinner, which was delicious. The breakfasts were good and they were proud to tell us that nearly all the ingredients were locally sourced. The bacon was terrific. There isn't a lot of choice for breakfast - orange juice is on the table and cereals and some fruit were available. Then the choice is that you can have a cooked breakfast, which was really good - bacon, sausage, fried egg, tomato, mushrooms - or you have a continental breakfast, being a croissant and toast, together with tea or coffee for both options. But this isn't an expensive place to stay and the staff are charming and really keen for you have everything you want, bringing more of anything as soon as you ask.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

The hotel is deep in the Somerset country side in the delightful village of Martock. A super find offering clean and tidy bedrooms, excellent food and "could not be more helpful" service at a very reasonable price.
The rooms are spacious, decorated in the duel wallpaper style above and below the dado which somewhat dates the decoration but it is still in good repair. Bathrooms are of the same period and are again in good decorative and clean order.
The local produced food is really good at both breakfast, Sunday lunch and dinner. All very well priced, so offering really good value.
The owners and staff offer service as it should be in the hospitality world. Helpful, smiling, busy, attentive, generally ensuring that guests are well looked after.
Its not only the traveller that likes the White Hart but also the locals who pack the place out over the weekend, creating a nice atmosphere in which to enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickFlorins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

English Sunday roast is a traditional meal that everyone values. But it is not easy to find one that really fits the bill. So we recommend The White Hart in Martock, Somerset. It is consistent in its offering but the chef really likes to surprise his diners. One week he'll add samphire, another it'll be rainbow chard.

Sit in the bar and enjoy a glass of Somerset cider before your meal. if you're lucky, the chef will also turn up and tell you about the menu. He will cook a delicious vegetarian roast, and happily caters for special diets. His desserts cover the traditional heavy ones that the English enjoy, but also has some inventive and yummy alternatives - figs in brandy this week.

If you don't happen to want a Sunday roast, there are other options available.

This is the best of English pubs [although the publican is not English!], in a lovely village, just off the A303, with super service and a relaxed but efficient atmosphere. The prices are very competitive and worth every penny.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martock
1.1 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
253 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
372 reviews
5.2 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
354 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Masons Arms
The Masons Arms
#1 of 1 in Odcombe
324 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Kings Arms Inn
The Kings Arms Inn
#1 of 5 in Montacute
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel Martock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel Martock

Property: White Hart Hotel Martock
Address: East Street, Martock, Yeovil TA12 6JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > Martock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Martock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel Martock 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your White Hart Hotel Martock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Martock Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing