We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dales Way - Day 5 - 1st July 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George and Dragon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We were warmly welcomed at the ' George and Dragon' - I recognised the landlord from when he had previously been at a public house in Ravenstonedale - I had also stayed at that establishment as well. The room we had for three people was a family room - a double bed and a bunkbed. I had eaten earlier in the day at a pub further up the valley but joined one of my friends who was having a meal at the 'George and Dragon' for an evening feed. My friend had the triple Cumberland Sausage and mash that looked very good - I had a bowl of Leek and Potato soup which was served with a lovely mini 'Hovis' type loaf! The soup and bread were first class. Breakfast in the morning was of a high quality - just what was need for the hard slog of the day over to Bramaskew.

Room Tip: We had a family room which would indeed be better suited to a man, wife and children not three male...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimp466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2012

Having read the reviews where the landlord's demeanour seemed to feature highly but the rest of the comments were positive, we decided to try this pub b&b for a weekend. The landlord didn't fail to live up to expectations and unwittingly provided us with never ending entertainment! He welcomed us with "This place is full of bloody campers. They are all hiding from the rain." He excelled himself when with apparent relish, he announced to the whole breakfast room that the village was cut-off after a lorry managed to wedge itself stuck in the narrow main street. I think that the fact that the lorry had crashed into the other pub in the village made his day. That aside, he was one of the first people trying to sort the problem out. A closet happy I think. It would be remiss of me not to mention that the beer is excellent with a full selection from the brewery in the village. If you like beer, this is a MUST VISIT pub. Try golden fleece and aviator beers. Nectar! Full english breakfast was great. The perfect start to a day exploring the dale.
The rooms were of the quality that one finds in most pubs. Decor was a bit 1990s but everything was clean. The pub had live music where local musicians turned up for a session. Don't know if this is a regular event. The sound didn't reach our room on top floor. Only downside was the price. I expected something a little more plush for £80 a night. The village is very pretty and if I went back to Dent, would definitely drink there and almost certainly stay there again.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Zureal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

After receiving a very poor welcome at the nearby Sun Inn, we tried the George & Dragon to be greeted by a warm welcome and good salads with high quality beer. So we went back the following night and the young woman at the bar seemed less than happy to see us. We ordered hot food but it was dry and unappetising (and rather expensive). We heard another guest saying the same about their food. Undaunted, we tried the fish and chip special on Friday evening. The others in my party enjoyed it but I found the fish very greasy.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank cleverclogscomputers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

While road-tripping through northern England, my husband and I were exploring the Yorkshire Dales and came across Dent late one afternoon around the time we usually started looking for accommodations. The village was picturesque and quiet, and after stopping at the Dent Heritage Center on the edge of town, we decided to stay the night. Between the choice of two inns in town, we chose The George & Dragon based on name and appearances. It also boasted exclusive taps from the local brewery, which seemed too good an opportunity to pass up. The B&B was family run, with clean, comfortable rooms and unpretentious, friendly service. After checking in and freshening up, we took a hike up into the Dales to the south of town, passing the creek site of historic wool stomping, as well as the Wishing Tree. We were rewarded with breathtaking panoramic views of Cumbria, and a peaceful solitude in which to enjoy them. Returning to The George & Dragon for dinner, we were pleasantly surprised at the high quality and quantity of our meal, especially enjoyed along with the local drafts. A crowd of regulars filtered in as the evening wore on, adding a pleasant atmosphere of camaraderie and local commentary.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Having thoroughly enjoyed the wonderful hospitality while completing the Dales Highway, it was diappointing to stay in such a lovely part of the world and experience such an unrestrained, unwelcoming and boorish attitiude from the Landlord. Worth noting that the rest of the staff could not have been nicer - putting aside the fact that there was an over sized TV on the wall that only seemed to be on for the ammusement of the Landlord (full blast with only 3 people in the restaurant - none of whom where watching the TV) the food was good and the accomodation was perfectly fine. With a different Landlord I would have no hesitation in recommending this pub - just don't expect a warm welcome!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Luckywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Good food in the restaurant, wide choice of real ale, but thats it. Arriving somewhat warm and tired off the Dalesway walk the greeting from the (presumed) landlord was pretty underwhelming. The room (10) was clean but had little else going for it, especially as we were over the bar which got noisy as the night went on; it certainly didnt have a blind on a fairly large bathroom window and at night when the room was lit would be relatively see-through to the property opposite. The bar is like 1000's of others and the ubiquitous big screen blasts out despite few watchers. Most noise however came from the (presumed) landlord whose voice, and a fair smattering of "f" words, entertained a couple of locals at the bar. The restaurant as above served some good fare and other meals we saw looked plentiful and good, but the service was mixed and the seating policy was to sit all customers at tables next to each other as they arrived - this meant some people shuffling up to squeeze people in, despite a row of empty tables on the other side of the restaurant. If you're doing the Dalesway then take a tip:eat and drink here, but stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: try and avoid one over the bar, but that may be difficult
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bertiembingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed here for three nights with friends, while walking the Dales Way - the hotel was booked through a tour company. The Dragon is a pleasant enough inn, and our rooms were ok, with a comfortable bed and reasonable decor. The TV in the room wasn't working, and after we'd mentioned this twice, were told that none of of the TVs in the rooms were working properly, and that an engineer would be out 'sometime next week'. No apology.

Of the husband and wife team who manage the hotel, Susan was very pleasant and helpful indeed, picking us up and dropping us off at the beginning and end of walks and giving me a lift to Dent railway station - be aware, Dent station is FOUR MILES from the village...

My main complaint, however is with the manager, who was sour and unfriendly at check-in and then pretty much invisible for the next couple of days, surfacing on our last night apparently for the sole purpose of having a loud, aggressive and disturbing row with a member of staff over money going missing from the till. This went on in "Yes you did", "No I didn't" fashion, in full public view, for a good twenty minutes in and around the main bar, and was still going on as we went out in disgust.

We came back after a calming pint in the Sun - just up the road - to find the manager and a couple of policemen still discussing the whole sorry affair in the main bar. Presumably the management had decided to make up for the lack of TV by staging our very own episode of CSI. An episode of Fawlty Towers would have been more appropriate.

There are plenty of positive comments from satisfied customers, so maybe we were unlucky, but I would definitely not stay at the Dragon again unless I heard that there had been a change of manager.

Shame, because it's a nice pub, in a lovely village.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Davy_Abram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dent
8.6 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
296 reviews
20.3 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,334 reviews
11.1 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Thorns Hall
Thorns Hall
#1 of 1 in Sedbergh
34 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Garsdale
The Garsdale
#3 of 12 in Sedbergh
259 reviews
4.4 mi away
Howgills Apartments
Howgills Apartments
#2 of 8 in Sedbergh
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George and Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George and Dragon

Address: Main Street, Dent, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA10 5QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Dent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dent
Hotel Class:4 star — The George and Dragon 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George and Dragon, Dent, is a rural pub, with 10 en-suite bedrooms. We offer a range of beers for our local Dent Brewery alongside nitro-keg and bottled lagers, ciders and bitters Situated in the Yorkshire Dales National Park and just within the border of Cumbria, we are a great base for walking. We offer food daily (noon-2pm and 6pm-8:30pm) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The George and Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George And Dragon Hotel Dent
The George And Dragon Dent, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing